Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nissan Juke R to go on sale.

• 06-05-2012 11:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭

Nissan just announced that they will make the Juke R available for special order.

For those who aren't familiar, its a Nissan Juke with full Nissan GTR engine and running gear:eek:

So what do you think? Something cool and different or a stupid waste of time?

NissanJukeRBack_9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I'd have one. Absolutely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Cool car, the test video looked impressive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Looks like the Bulldog of cars, epic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Yes please.

Can expect a flood of skangerised jukes now too though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,782 ✭✭✭Damien360

I would like to see the front of that before making my mind up. The Juke is an awful looking yoke with way too high of a bonnet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Just when ya thought they couldn't possibly make it any uglier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Damien360 wrote: »
    I would like to see the front of that before making my mind up. The Juke is an awful looking yoke with way too high of a bonnet.

okely dokely. More here': http://www.eurocarblog.com/post/6095/nissan-juke-r-exclusive-photo-gallery-available

nissan_juke_r_01.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I wonder if they'll throw in the 2012 engine, it's a fair bit more powerful than the one in the prototype/original.

I'd have a Juke R in a heart beat, thus further feeding my Nissan fanboyism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Would prefer one whole spoiler at the back. The 2 in the picture look like a cocker spaniels ears

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

CianRyan wrote: »
    I wonder if they'll throw in the 2012 engine, it's a fair bit more powerful than the one in the prototype/original.

I'd have a Juke R in a heart beat, thus further feeding my Nissan fanboyism.

The ones they are going to sell to customers have the 2012 GTR running gear;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

That's hideous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

It looks like Mary Harney in a mini skirt wearing red high heels and way too much make up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Whoever designed the front face of the Juke should be kicked in the balls repeatedly.

Blame the Brits for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Blame the Brits for that.

Really?

It's such a shame because it's kinda attractive otherwise.

It's a pure butterface imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Credit union here I come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

I'd buy one and paint/trim it to look like a standard Juke as much as possible. Suprise the **** out of anything while driving a car that looks like it ran into something hard and flat and got all smushed up in the front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Credit union here I come.

You haven't seen the price so.. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭Do-more

And what about a Nissan Leaf R for the tree huggers?

invest4deepvalue.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭haminka

I think it's actually a pretty safe car to own. Nobody with their right mind would ever want to steal that one. And the Garda search would be easy. Look for the ugliest imitation of a monster baby Transfomer boys.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 279 ✭✭Pa Dee

Damien360 wrote: »

okely dokely. More here': http://www.eurocarblog.com/post/6095/nissan-juke-r-exclusive-photo-gallery-available

nissan_juke_r_01.jpg
    Just when you thought a car couldn't look any worse .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

What an utterly pointless car - and I love it all the more because of that:D!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

You haven't seen the price so.. :pac:

Theyre doing mortgages now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Dammit you beat me to it!! Its hideous looking but then again, I cant stop looking at it!!!! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭jayok

Batman rang - he wants his girlfriend's car back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

http://amog.com/cars-2/153349-nissan-juker-sale-selected-customers/
    No pricing is available for the Nissan Juke-R yet, although there were claims that the locals in United Arab Emirates are making a six-figure offering. The company will be taking orders in the coming months before they begin the production, while the first three cars will be delivered to its respective owners late this summer. For those who are interested to be included in the short list of potential buyers, contact the car manufacturer at Juke-R@nissan.co.uk.

I think this is one of the times where the old adage of "if you have to ask, you cant afford it" is actually true :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Do-more wrote: »
    And what about a Nissan Leaf R for the tree huggers?
    http://homeautodesign.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/Nissan-Leaf-Nismo-RC-concept-2.jpg

Much better than the ordinary leaf. The interior is also much nicer, they got rid of all the ould comfort luxury teletubby stuff and replaced with bare panels of switches. Just the way it should be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭deandean

=2012 Batmobile.

Love it!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Who gives a to55 what the front end looks like.

The only bit that you will see is the back end,as it leaves you for dust.

Brillliant project and brilliant engineering from Nissan and RML,as allways (Micra 350Z RWD project).

I agree, A car doesn't have to have a point to be desirable, in fact you could argue that many of the worlds most desirable cars are pointless and impractical.

What's the point in building something like a Juke-R......because they could:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Cmar-Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,120 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

At least someone in Renault / Nissan had a bit of a budget for a bit of crazy fun :D

If that person was me I would not have used a Nissan Puke though, I would have used a tired old rusty looking van like this:

800px-Nissan_Sunny_Vanette_101.JPG

Imagine that beating Ferraris :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 BrianCohen

That is fantastic. Any figures on how many they'll make? Or they'll make what's ordered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Id 100% have one how can you not love something as off the wall as that. Id hate to see the price tag though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

If I owned a GTR or had one on order I'd be very very pi$$ed off over this. You go out and put down the money on what you think is the company's ultimate car, and then a little Juke leaves you sitting. At least the Micra concept with the 350z running gear wouldn't have embarrassed their flagship model.

A Juke with the 370z running gear would make more logical sense - the Juke R should just be left as a concept.

Just my opinion on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭damo86

OSI wrote: »
    Somethings eating me up about this video. The Juke looks like it's being driven out of it's skin, but the Lambo, Ferrari etc, look like they're being driven around a car park. While the Juke is powersliding and kicking up smoke. There isn't even a hint of tyre squeal from the others.

yip, I agree, looks like the cars behind are holding back and just following it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭Do-more

OSI wrote: »
    Somethings eating me up about this video. The Juke looks like it's being driven out of it's skin, but the Lambo, Ferrari etc, look like they're being driven around a car park. While the Juke is powersliding and kicking up smoke. There isn't even a hint of tyre squeal from the others.

Jaysus, look at the flags! It's a Nissan promotional event, they could have brought Aryton Senna back from the dead and stuck him in the latest F1 car and the Juke would have still won! ;)

invest4deepvalue.com

Top Dog wrote: »
    If I owned a GTR or had one on order I'd be very very pi$$ed off over this. You go out and put down the money on what you think is the company's ultimate car, and then a little Juke leaves you sitting. At least the Micra concept with the 350z running gear wouldn't have embarrassed their flagship model.

A Juke with the 370z running gear would make more logical sense - the Juke R should just be left as a concept.

Just my opinion on it.

The proper GTR is a completely optimised design so the same running gear in a vehicle it wasn't designed for means its not quite a fast. Very similar from a standing start but handling and top speed will not be as good on the Juke.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

The world would be a boring place if people and companies didnt do things like this now and again.
    Nissan have the balls to go and do it along with RML.

Respect to both of them for doing it.

Duke-R is a great project,a very good car and a great piece of engineering too.

Theres a fair few "non Nissan" GTR engined project cars out there now with 4WD and big power too.

Both Home built and professionaly built cars.

Respect to anyone who does it and shoehorns a GTR engine and running gear into any car..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Great technology, fantastic engineering feat but the design and look of it is still the furthest thing from beauty you could imagine.

Pity. Mind you, I hate the look of the juke on a normal day, so I'm biased ;)