Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IRC/Lucan/Orwell/Tiernans/UCD club league - 3/05/12

• 04-05-2012 7:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭

Good race last night in semi limit. Good few breakaway attempts. Felt sorry for the poor Orwell lad who was chased down by his own teammates - on three separate occasions:rolleyes: Twas a break won it in the end. 3 lads got away apparently and stayed well away too cos we hardly saw them.

Apparently there was a bad crash in our group too but I saw nothing of it on the road.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Can I ask that people refrain from discussing the accident in last night's race for the moment?

Thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

Enjoyed the race too, did a bit of work at the front and got my picture taken whilst chatting and taking a drink at the back.
    Second time up the hill I got boxed in so I just sat back and took it easy for the run in to the finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Redmond101

Enjoyed the race, was in the limit group and on the first lap we all went right at the roundabout instead of straight thou, ate a good bit into our lead on semi limit! Finished in the front group about 20 back which was happy with for first race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

think thats the fastest i ve been around that circuit, we about 40 riders constantly riding the pace line in SS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,137 ✭✭✭buffalo

levitronix wrote: »
    think thats the fastest i ve been around that circuit, we about 40 riders constantly riding the pace line in SS

New top two from last night's race: http://app.strava.com/segments/711470

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Did scratch catch semi?

Was a bit mental no one talking even

fat bloke wrote: »
    Did scratch catch semi?

no there was too many in SS and everyone worked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Mr. Grieves

43 km/hr avg over 47 km in SS, was alot of fun - Scratch didn't catch us. I was already 6 or 7 back coming into the final corner, so no hope in the sprint.

Lots of tight blind bends on that course, wouldn't fancy it in the rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

levitronix wrote: »
    no there was too many in SS and everyone worked

That's brilliant. Fair play to the SS! (hmmm feels like I should have a little swastika flag or something saying that.):pac:

43 km/hr avg over 47 km in SS, was alot of fun - Scratch didn't catch us. I was already 6 or 7 back coming into the final corner, so no hope in the sprint.

Lots of tight blind bends on that course, wouldn't fancy it in the rain.

I miss a week and SS stay away? I'm sorry I've been holding ye back lads! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

My first time in der SS in over a year. I'm taking full credit for it staying away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭capnsantini

buffalo wrote: »
    New top two from last night's race: http://app.strava.com/segments/711470

Check us out - 77kph average, that was fast! If we had pushed a bit harder we could have ended up in 1985....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭capnsantini

Any word on results from the different groups?

Check us out - 77kph average, that was fast! If we had pushed a bit harder we could have ended up in 1985....

Well I didn't want to point out that even all of SS combined can't beat Ryan on a good day: http://app.strava.com/segments/710884 :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Well I didn't want to point out that even all of SS combined can't beat Ryan on a good day: http://app.strava.com/segments/710884 :p

That can't have been solo. 324W does not produce 44.2km/h on a road bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Lumen wrote: »
    That can't have been solo. 324W does not produce 44.2km/h on a road bike.
    I managed 44.6 kph at 227w in setting one KOM in a flat TT last year ...

... admitedly I slowed down a bit when heading in the other direction into a 50+kph headwind

Beasty wrote: »
    I managed 44.6 kph at 227w in setting one KOM in a flat TT last year ...

... admitedly I slowed down a bit when heading in the other direction into a 50+kph headwind

Any opportunity to flash one of your dazzling array of KOMs at us! :D

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Any opportunity to flash one of your dazzling array of KOMs at us! :D
    Of course - may as well while I have them. I might never win a race, but I know how to plan my segments;)