Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All The Way Round - Entrants wanted!

• 03-05-2012 5:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭

Well lads, for those of you that don't know a group of us from here are in our third year of ATWR. This year we've managed to wrangle ourselves a main sponsor in Seat Ireland.

What we will be doing is driving from Limerick, to well, Limerick in 3 days :D

Here is Marlow's footage from last year

It's great fun and most importantly it's a great cause, this year we will be doing in aid of Barretstown.

So if you would like to take part have a look at the forum and get the finger out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Bump for ya Gary..

I cannot wait for it especially since you have paid for my hotels..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Still thinking about it meself, contemplating a full cooling system revamp in the meantime. Trying to see who else is interested in coming with me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I've a lot of weddings and exams lads. I'll make next year with any luck but this year is way out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

I've done this for the past two years and have to say it's a great experience, if any of you have been to the motors meets imagine the craic but for a whole weekend while travelling around the country.

In the past two years doing it I've managed to meet great people from boards and get to experience some of Ireland's best roads as well as the scenery which is sometimes awe inspiring.

It's well worth a long weekend of your time to get out there and enjoy the experience and doing it for a good cause at the same time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

So, who would like to enter this for free? As in no entry fee, car and fuel provided? :D

More info on that to follow later but somebody is going to win that prize

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Gary ITR wrote: »
    So, who would like to enter this for free? As in no entry fee, car and fuel provided? :D

More info on that to follow later but somebody is going to win that prize

Sure stick us down for that so!

EDIT: I would really like to do this myself anyhow but it would cost me a pretty penny in the 7er and I'm trying to spend a few bob on the T/A this year if I can scrape it together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

As long as it's no EV :D
    MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Sure stick us down for that so!

EDIT: I would really like to do this myself anyhow but it would cost me a pretty penny in the 7er and I'm trying to spend a few bob on the T/A this year if I can scrape it together.

Would you travel with someone instead of bringing the 7? I think that's possible Gary?

draffodx wrote: »

Would you travel with someone instead of bringing the 7? I think that's possible Gary?

Could be an option. Would set me back a grand in the 7er! :eek:

A grand, whered ya get that from!

12 / 1300 miles on national roads = 4 tanks. 4*130 = €520

Entrance: €150
    Fuel: €520
    Food: €30
    Beer: €300 :D

draffodx wrote: »
    A

Could be an option. Would set me back a grand in the 7er! :eek:
    A grand? Its 1300kms! Surely its not that thirsty lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

If I had my full licence I'd have went for it, maybe next year. :)

12 / 1300 miles on national roads = 4 tanks. 4*130 = €520

Entrance: €150
    Fuel: €520
    Food: €30
    Beer: €300 :D

Ah, total cost, thought there was a hole in your tank! I've broken the €140 mark a few times now, increase than figure by €40. :pac:

Gary ITR wrote: »
    A grand? Its 1300kms! Surely its not that thirsty lol

Thought it was miles! 3 tanks so! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Connavar

Thought it was miles! 3 tanks so! :D
    Starting to look like its your thirst that would be the most expensive part so :D

Connavar wrote: »
    Starting to look like its your thirst that would be the most expensive part so :D

It would definitely be a contributory factor! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    If I get the Porsche Turbo running I`ll do it.

Now that's a car that would be a joy to drive around the country in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I have no bother in taking a passanger if they are good looking..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

I'll have a passo seat going too if anyone wants it, sure passos end up swapping around usually anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Haven't decided what I'll be driving this year, maybe the Golf will get some mileage up on her.

Or else I'll go as a passo and drink tins all weekend. :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

If you have a car and the weekend free, I highly recommend it. I found it a great way to see parts of Ireland that I wouldn't have ventured to normally and ye have great craic along the way.

• Company Representative Posts: 91 Verified rep ATWR Eoin

Just to bump this thread, the main competition for this year event has started.

We want to hear your funny stories and the winner gets a loan of a SEAT for the weekend, with their fuel and accommodation covered for ATWR 2012.

More details here:D

ATWR Eoin wrote: »
    Just to bump this thread, the main competition for this year event has started.

We want to hear your funny stories and the winner gets a loan of a SEAT for the weekend, with their fuel and accommodation covered for ATWR 2012.

More details here:D

This is still open for entrants - a brand new SEAT car to use, your fuel covered and B&B. And it costs nothing to enter:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Should it be motor related?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

MugMugs wrote: »

I don't think it has to be specifically motor related, some of the stories shared already aren't related to motors.
    So no harm in posting a random cringe-worthy story! :)

MugMugs wrote: »

Not at all - the story can be about anything. The competition isn't open specifically to motors readers. Anyone can take part in this.

Would another prize help as an incentive?

How about some of this:

AG_hd_wax.jpg

I have a pack of Auto Glym HD Wax here that's up for grabs by someone that keeps the banter going on the event here, or indeed in the main forum. It's to coincide with the participation prize as this will be ending in the not too distant future.

Fiona - you're banned because you won the last one:p

I know its probably in the FAQ section, but how do you ensure everyone stays pretty much together as a group on the road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Fiona

ATWR Eoin wrote: »
    Fiona - you're banned because you won the last one:p

Ah sure you can't win them all ;)

I know its probably in the FAQ section, but how do you ensure everyone stays pretty much together as a group on the road?

There can be different groups at times but we are all in contact via radios. A set of traffic lights or two creates divides but the solution Is to have regular regrouping if needed. We usually stop every so often for a break so it's not too big an issue.

And how does the radio thing work? Does one in five have a radio or the likes?

In the last 2 years we all had radios. Just cheap Argos jobs but they were grand, they clip onto your seatbelt too so safety isn't really an issue

Ah cool, good idea. Will sort my plans out this week and see how I'm fixed, I'm ashamed to say I've never been in more than maybe 15 counties.

Well get your arse in gear :)

Breaker one-nine, breaker one-nine, this is the Rubber Duck Voodoomelon! :D

Trying to sort the final details on an event or two in July that may interest the clean freaks and power freaks on here........watch this space:D