Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards AC Memorial Trophy

• 30-04-2012 12:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭

Back in the (limited) glory days of Boards AC, we were kindly sponsored by Pearl Izumi to hold an intra-club race, for which a trophy and gear was provided as prizes. I was one of the winners of the trophy in the only year we had the race and it still resides on my bookcase at home.

There's no reason why I should be holding on to this trophy, so I was wondering whether we should have a Boards race to find new deserving owners of the trophy.

The previous race was run within a BHAA event (Firhouse 10k?), and in the interests of catering for all abilities it was run as a team event, whereby everyone was seeded and the highest seed was partnered with the lowest seed, second highest with second lowest etc. etc. Outcome of event was decided based on the cumulative finish time for each team. Arguably within this format the slower runner has more influence on the success of the team.

If a similar race was to be arranged again, would there be much interest? We could pick a 10k race and then run it within that race. Would suggest the marathon race series 10k in Swords, but we could throw this out to a vote with other suggestions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

I can clearly smell some Dublin bias. Effin' smokies! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Peckham wrote: »
    The previous race was run within a BHAA event (Firhouse 10k?),

The BHAA Firhouse 10k would be just up the road from me, er, the most logical choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

After being ripped off the last time this race was held I refuse to take part ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

RayCun wrote: »
    The BHAA Firhouse 10k would be just up the road from me, er, the most logical choice.

I suppose if that's the tradition then it should be run within the BHAA Firhouse race again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

I was only chancing my arm, I was never in Boards AC anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

I can clearly smell some Dublin bias. Effin' smokies! :D

http://www.rte.ie/player/#!v=1146358 from 11:15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Why not make it a handipcapped race based on each person's fastest 10km time over the previous 24 months?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

04072511 wrote: »
    Why not make it a handipcapped race based on each person's fastest 10km time over the previous 24 months?

Thats what it was :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

shels4ever wrote: »
    Thats what it was :).

Oh, I thought he said it was a team event where a fast runner and a slow runner were paired together and team with the best combined score won? Would it not be easier just to have it as an individual thing with each person given a handicap?

My suggestion anywa. Doesn't make much difference to me as I won't be running :)

04072511 wrote: »
    Oh, I thought he said it was a team event where a fast runner and a slow runner were paired together and team with the best combined score won? Would it not be easier just to have it as an individual thing with each person given a handicap?

My suggestion anywa. Doesn't make much difference to me as I won't be running :)

opps yep yoru right :). I ran this and still dont remember..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=67954299&postcount=136

Figs and liamo123 are the rightful holders of the Boards AC memeorial trophy, unfortunately Peckham wasn't there on the day to hand over their prize.

I rememeber the team of RoadRunner and Shels4ever having some objections to the result but the other two lads were the clear winners.

It would eb nice to open the competition again and open it up to all Boards.ie posters.

menoscemo wrote: »
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=67954299&postcount=136

Figs and liamo123 are the rightful holders of the Boards AC memeorial trophy, unfortunately Peckham wasn't there on the day to hand over their prize.

I rememeber the team of RoadRunner and Shels4ever having some objections to the result but the other two lads were the clear winners.

It would eb nice to open the competition again and open it up to all Boards.ie posters.

Mmmm not sure how clear that was:eek: , initial prize give to us, then taken away with some change in targets. It's going to the court of arbitration for sport now....

Excuse me they weren't just some objections they were legitimate protests ;)

The team that was given the victory was supposed to had 3 runners in it initially but one of the lads had to drop out. We felt it was a deliberate tactical decision by the trio and also have significant evidence that liamo123 and figs were blood doping. I also seen liamo123 robbing from other runners bags while figs punched a nun in the face. None of our objections were upheld.

Fcuking disgrace :)

Mmmm not sure how clear that was:eek: , initial prize give to us, then taken away with some change in targets. It's going to the court of arbitration for sport now....

Problem is there was no prize there on the day or else you two feckers would have sneaked away with it alright :D

The handover of the trophy was supposed to happen at the Dublin half, but that never happened in the end and the competition died off.

Problem is there was no prize there on the day or else you two feckers would have sneaked away marched away rightfully triumphantly with it alright :D
    fixed that for ya

The team that was given the victory was supposed to had 3 runners in it initially but one of the lads had to drop out. We felt it was a deliberate tactical decision by the trio and also have significant evidence that liamo123 and figs were blood doping. I also seen liamo123 robbing from other runners bags while figs punched a nun in the face. None of our objections were upheld.

Ah yes dropping out improved a result, not sure in what event that should be the case :).
    Same teams next time and i'll even us my pb set on that day as my target time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

Seems I've opened up quite the hornets nest here!

I had completely forgotten about the 2010 running of this event, although now that I think back I can remember bringing the trophy to the half marathon only to have to bring it home again.

Peckham wrote: »
    I had completely forgotten about the 2010 running of this event, although now that I think back I can remember bringing the trophy to the half marathon only to have to bring it home again.

Yeah, I was pacing that one too but Figs and Liamo didn't show up to collect their prize!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

Ah yes I remember it well... It was a wet and windy Firhouse but myself and Figs dug deep and won the trophy fair and square... Unfortunately due to the two Pussies objections we never got our hands on the merchandise :cool:

Still leaves a sour taste in my mouth...

BTW the blood doping allegations were never proved ( tough I did nick a nice Garmin and Figs got the slap the head off a nun so all was not lost :D )