Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best 80's arcade beat em ups.

• 29-04-2012 2:40pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭

Many a happy hour I spent on Kung Fu Master the daddy of all 80's scrolling beat em ups. http://youtu.be/Il24F1_TBao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

In the same vein as KFM (which I had on the c64) was Vigilante. I was mildy obsessed with this game which is odd because on replay it's not very good. I think it was the cartoon sprites that hooked me.

others

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

kitakyushu wrote: »
    In the same vein as KFM (which I had on the c64) was Vigilante. I was mildy obsessed with this game which is odd because on replay it's not very good. I think it was the cartoon sprites that hooked me.

others

Vigilante was a laugh with its rescue Madonna from the skinheads storyline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

This one was my personal fave.

Kung Fu Master, however, was the very first video game I ever played, all the way back in 1986 in my local shop in Limerick. I've been a gamer ever since then:) I've still got fond memories of the bosses, all my friends knew them as Stick Guy, Boomerang guy, Big Daddy, the Hunchbacks and the Karate guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 LONE WOLFF

I spent many a lunchtime playing Double Dragon.
    I would bring the school bag just in case the game lasted well into the afternoon.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Double dragon was awesome I was more a alex the kid gamer tuck me years... :D

but I did complete it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭Mellio

For me has to be Shoa lins Road.

The only reason I loved it so much was becuase it was in our local chippa
    and I could be on it from the time it opened at 11 am to 3pm. :D

I actually found it online on the arcade emulator MAME so have been able to
    play it on my laptop, it brought back so many memories of my child hood...as well as pacland(I know not beat em up but great game for its time).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q7HVEUW-Yg4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Come on lads how can ye not mention Final Fight or Streets of RAGE ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭badger57

Streets of Rage was a good game. Played it recently again, hasn't aged well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Shinobi was mah fave

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Loved this game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭safetyboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

My favourite arcade beat em up was Streets of Rage. My favourite game in the genre was definitely Comix Zone.

I think this one would also qualify as beat-em-up? Either way I loved it. (I remember the machine being at Dublin Airport).

That is like an awesome cross between a side scrolling shooter and a beat em up.

Looks like a lot of fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

badger57 wrote: »
    Streets of Rage was a good game. Played it recently again, hasn't aged well.

The first one is still playable, but doesn't look the best.

Streets of Rage 2 is where it's at though. Huge redrawn sprites. Looks absolutely gorgeous. Plays beautifully.

Just to show you how big and detailed the in game sprites are, I make bead sprites and did one of SOR 2 Axel a while back (they're pixel for pixel) - came out a lot bigger than I was expecting! Much bigger than anything I've really done for the Snes.

axelbest.jpg

Compared with a Goomba from Mario and a ship from Raiden

upload.jpg

Only one I have that's bigger is the robot dog from Megaman. How that sprite exists in a NES game I don't know!

DSC_0091-2.jpg

O1s1n, they look great!

How the hell do ya make them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭counterlock

o1s1n wrote: »
    The first one is still playable, but doesn't look the best.

Streets of Rage 2 is where it's at though. Huge redrawn sprites. Looks absolutely gorgeous. Plays beautifully.

Just to show you how big and detailed the in game sprites are, I make bead sprites and did one of SOR 2 Axel a while back (they're pixel for pixel) - came out a lot bigger than I was expecting! Much bigger than anything I've really done for the Snes.

I definitely agree, 2 was fantastic, always thought it was way better than part 1.

Those bead sprites are absolutely amazing! The Axel on on the chair looks like an optical illusion. If you are ever interested in selling them, drop me a pm :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Personal fave was the original Robocop arcade game. Spent a whole summer in Donegal playing it circa 1989. Another of the beat 'em up / shoot 'em up side-scrollers.

Came home and got it for our Amstrad CPC 464 thinking it would be the same, I remember nearly cacking myself with excitement waiting the 20 or so minutes for it to load.

Turns out it wasn't the same, it was in fact crap. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Arcade_Kung-Fu_Master_S.PNG

Master of the Universe

O1s1n, they look great!

How the hell do ya make them?

Cheers man!

You get loads of bags of different coloured hama beads. And then build the image pixel by pixel on peg boards.

When the image is done, you put some wax paper over the top and iron it. The beads have a low melting point and they all fuse together.

axelgood.jpg

Made a big nice Yoshi too

DSC_0282.jpg

DSC_0286.jpg

DSC_0300.jpg

DSC_0312croppedsamus-1.jpg

DSC_0315.jpg

DSC_0045.jpg
    Those bead sprites are absolutely amazing! The Axel on on the chair looks like an optical illusion. If you are ever interested in selling them, drop me a pm :cool:

I've considered making them and selling them, but can never settle on a price point. They take feckin hours. That big Axel took about 6 hours. The Megaman dog took even more!

Haha, that's pretty cool. Fair play to you for having the patience. I don't think I could stick it.

BTW, I see you can get transparent boards too. Just an idea but wouldn't it be quicker to print out a colour page of the sprite at the appropriate size, put it under the board and line it up with the pegs and then you could almost literally assemble the thing in your sleep?

Master of the Universe

Good idea! Myself and the girlfriend were thinking about making this as a project over the summer

3640960600_cd8694fb30.jpg

It's absolutely huge though. What you're saying about printing it off and putting it under transparent boards might just speed up the process!

4627926284_64856b426f.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭counterlock

Seriously amazing :D