Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Sportive, New Territory - Duhallow Cycle Tour June 2nd

• 28-04-2012 5:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11

A new sportive on the calendar takes place in North Cork on June 2nd, taking in some interesting new territory.

It starts in Mallow and heads west along the Balckwater valley (N72). This brings it into Duhallow and it then turns north off the N72 and into 'border country' - bounding east Kerry and heading into west Limerick.

Details are here even though the route map for the longer 'Mass Rock Challenge' isn't up yet.

From the N72 this route heads to Boherbue, Newmarket and Freemount. There is a food stop in Freemount and then it heads on for Drumcollogher, Broadford, Ashford. Then it hits the Mass Rock.

The Mass Rock climb is just NW of Ashford in Co. Limerick. It's a lovely climb but a tough challenge. The bottom part has the feel of wooded Alpine slopes and the top is open mountain. There's a Strava segment here but I'm not sure if it shows the full climb - there's a false summit with a fast descent and then it kicks up again.

Then it's a loop back to Freemount, Kanturk and a fast, very gradual finish back to Mallow.

A map of the shorter route - the - Kraft Longueville Classic - is on the website. It also starts west along the N72 but takes a shorter route through Kanturk to the food stop at Freemount. The second part follows pretty flat and delightful roads back to Mallow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

me rusty knees like the look of the 'The Longueville Classic'
    wheres that velodrome thing on the clubs page?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

That sounds deadly. Proper off-the-beaten-track countryside. Last time I was in Freemount was my first time on a bouncy castle after the Comhaltas County Fleadh, I'd say it was 1985!!

Must put that in me diary.

Freemount wont know what hit it, when all the strangers decend for water!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 MassRockMan

'Water'! You can be assured that the good people of Freemount won't see you off with just water. :)

'Water'! You can be assured that the good people of Freemount won't see you off
    with just water. :)

Does it live up to its name then?

Roger, freemount will be the food stop,if your doing the 145k route,you will need some grub. Spread the word about this great duh allow cycle tour on June 2nd from mallow. It's in aid of focus ireland, all details on kanturk cycle club site, enter on line before may 30th and enter a draw for olympics tickets, massrockman

me rusty knees like the look of the 'The Longueville Classic'
    wheres that velodrome thing on the clubs page?
    I

The velodrome is a new track in kanturk, if you come to the duh allow tour in mallow June 2 nd you might get a chance to try it out,

Massrockman

;):mad:
    fat bloke wrote: »
    That sounds deadly. Proper off-the-beaten-track countryside. Last time I was in Freemount was my first time on a bouncy castle after the Comhaltas County Fleadh, I'd say it was 1985!!

Must put that in me diary.

I wasn't their, just came back from Canada 2 months later,
    Hope you can come to mallow on June 2nd for our fundraising
    Tour in aid of focus Ireland, the 145k is a faboulas trip,
    Pas the word around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭jinkypolly

Just got e-mailed about this, might give the 75km a go.

I put the route on Map My Ride if anyone is interested, doesn't look too difficult.

http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/92710949

jinkypolly wrote: »

I put the route on Map My Ride if anyone is interested, doesn't look too difficult.

+1 for the kids 75 km spin

jinkypolly wrote: »

You will enjoy the 75k spin, stop in freemount for food,on to kanturk and back to mallow, more food and a shower and your all set to enjoy the long weekend
    Pass the word around to all the cycling gang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

Sounds great. Might give this a bash.

We hope you can make it to mallow on june2nd,, 2 very nice tours, the 145 k you will really like,plenty food and loads of stuff in the goody bag,,

Maser rock man

Gonna do this now with the missus.

Any more details available for the longer (150k) route?

Gonna do this now with the missus.

Any more details available for the longer (150k) route?

It's a testing route, a few serious climbs,nice and flat early on,
    Once you come off the main Killarney rd, quiet country roads,

registered today, looking forward to it.
    number >1000 !?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭sled driver

Signed up for this today as I'm down in the homeland for the long weekend. Hopefully a nice prelude to the WW200.

I'll try and bring the current fantastic Dublin weather down with me.

You will enjoy this tour and with 8 days left for Wicklow, perfect training.
    The first 35k is very flat and fast, great road surface, a bit of climbing until you get to the food stop in freemount, having done 60k. On then to west limerick to dromcollogher/ broad ford/ashford and then the mass rock climb, a sample of the Wicklow mts,the last 40k nice and flat back to mallow,

Signed up for this today as I'm down in the homeland for the long weekend. Hopefully a nice prelude to the WW200.

I'll try and bring the current fantastic Dublin weather down with me.

You might take some of this crap back with you to the pale!

roll call for tomorrow?
    many others doing it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭sled driver

roll call for tomorrow?
    many others doing it?

I'm in. Gathering up the bike and gear here in Dublin at the moment, for the drive to the Irish riviera later on.

Any weather update for tomorrow?? I hear mutterings of rain for the day?? Are we looking at winter gear again in June or can I pack the spring summer collection ??

its fierce muggy in Cork, suns out at moment.
    forecast to be cloudy, but should be home and hosed before it rains:
    http://www.yr.no/place/Ireland/Munster/Mallow/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭fixie fox

roll call for tomorrow?
    many others doing it?

I'm in. Gathering up the bike and gear here in Dublin at the moment, for the drive to the Irish riviera later on.

Any weather update for tomorrow?? I hear mutterings of rain for the day?? Are we looking at winter gear again in June or can I pack the spring summer collection ??

Looks like it'll be dry all right. I'm looking forward to it. U could take in the Blarney crit on Sat night - great spectacle - and racing on Sun if u are up for it.

the only way I'll be getting the blarney crit in, if ive the kids in their buggy beside me!
    Wife: "Your what... twice in one day? Are you f**k...."

J.H.C, what about the road surface from Freemount to Kanturk.
    Everyone got back ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭vistafinder

:eek: thats as close to cobbles we will see in Ireland.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Andalucia

fast pace to freemount, nice climb up the MassRock, shocking surface into kanturk alright, as for the rain from kanturk to Mallow, well I suppose it is Ireland.
    organisation was fine, marshalls where required,
    poor food on offer after the event though, for Eur 30 and after 145k, most people would agree that some warm food, like a curry or even soup should be provided

:eek: thats as close to cobbles we will see in Ireland.:p

Bad alright but a looooooong long way from *shudder*.... cobbles!!!
    Andalucia wrote: »
    fast pace to freemount, nice climb up the MassRock, shocking surface into kanturk alright, as for the rain from kanturk to Mallow, well I suppose it is Ireland.
    organisation was fine, marshalls where required,
    poor food on offer after the event though, for Eur 30 and after 145k, most people would agree that some warm food, like a curry or even soup should be provided

I thought the marshalling was brilliant. Fair play to all those standing in the rain. I specifically chose this sportive as a scenic educational experience but all I saw all day was back wheels and my own handlebars!! The first 40k behind the lead car with a bug group drafting him was both cracking and crackers. We must have averaged 38/39kph !!! Food stop was great but too early in. I wasn't yet hungry and with 100k to go I presumed there'd be another one. Rtfm i suppose, should've read the map. Mass rock road and climb were fantastic. Pity it was so misty you couldn't see the undoubtedly beautiful views left and then right. Once we recovered from the climb we hooked with 2 more lads and upped and overed to beyond Kanturk and sort of time-trialled the last stretch to Mallow. Weather was pretty poor at that stage. Spilling rain, and main road traffic making it an unpleasant stretch.

Well done anyway organisers. Ye deserved better weather. Maybe next year sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭raindodger

first trip out this year ,my teeth are still rattling not to mention my lower regions
    Only did the shorter trip some complex in mallow we were just in before the rajn

What's the deal with photos from the day, will they be posted up anywhere?

On their facebook page. Well organised I thought, only one complaint: go handy on the butter in the sambos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭vistafinder

Realy need to say thanks to the marshals in that weather felt sorry for the guy standing at the roundabout going into Mallow its bad cycling in the rain but standing under it must be hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭fixie fox

Some pics here