Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2012 Land Rover & 2012 5 Series with blues and two's

• 28-04-2012 3:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭

Seen on Macken Street today about 3is. A Black Land Rover discover NI Reg flashing blues and two with two suits in the front and a Silver 5 series behind them same NI reg suits in the front?

Is this the Gardi or NI security services?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I can't see why the guards would be using NI reg cars. Security? Perhaps, wasn't there foreign reg cars like this around during the queens visit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭Fattes

BX 19, During Liz visit there was Irish Reg cars but all flashing british tax discs, Just looked really odd and trying to figure out if

A- the guys from NI have an agreement where they can operate in the South for personal protection etc

Or if it was just the Garda, borrowing other peoples cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

I've seen of Unmarked NI police vehicles south of the border. When the senior PSNI and AGS officers have meetings they come down in their own cars although any time I have seen them they have Garda escorts. I've seen both Ronnie Flanagan and Hugh Orde.

It's probably all to do with the incident which sparked the Smithwick tribunal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Fattes wrote: »
    BX 19, During Liz visit there was Irish Reg cars but all flashing british tax discs, Just looked really odd and trying to figure out if

A- the guys from NI have an agreement where they can operate in the South for personal protection etc

Both PSNI and Gardai can travel through the others jurisdiction with prior agreement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Eru wrote: »

Both PSNI and Gardai can travel through the others jurisdiction with prior agreement

But can they travel unaccompanied and on blue lights and sirens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭kub

Just wondering, if an unmarked NI reg vehicle comes up behind me with blues& two's am I to take as much notice as them as with an AGS vehicle....I just do not understand how an officer from another juristicion can do this, surely the should have AGS escorting them.

kub wrote: »
    Just wondering, if an unmarked NI reg vehicle comes up behind me with blues& two's am I to take as much notice as them as with an AGS vehicle....I just do not understand how an officer from another juristicion can do this, surely the should have AGS escorting them.

Fair play to you if you can notice their reg while wondering whether to move out of the way of somebody on blues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭wicklaman83

foreign wrote: »

Fair play to you if you can notice their reg while wondering whether to move out of the way of somebody on blues.
    Typical boards response. If you have sufficent sight in your eyes for day time driving you would be able to make out the reg.

In all fairness, if its not a feckin unmarked Ford or Toyota and if it is a Land Rover or 5 series of course I am going to look. How many posts has there been on here regarding the condition of the AGS fleet, and you think the chances of AGS going around in these types of vehicles is normal?

Of course I am going to move out of their way, its not as if I am going to block them to read the reg now, is it.
    But after moving aside and noticing a foreign reg, I would wonder firstly should I have done that? And secondly should I report the foreign registered vehicle with the blue lights and sirens to AGS.
    I just have a feeling they might like to know, as I am aware there may be some law against vehicles with blue lights and sirens etc. which are not official ES vehicles.

Typical boards response. If you have sufficent sight in your eyes for day time driving you would be able to make out the reg.

Yes, once you have moved out of the way.
    In all fairness, if its not a feckin unmarked Ford or Toyota and if it is a Land Rover or 5 series of course I am going to look. How many posts has there been on here regarding the condition of the AGS fleet, and you think the chances of AGS going around in these types of vehicles is normal?

Of course I am going to move out of their way, its not as if I am going to block them to read the reg now, is it.
    But after moving aside and noticing a foreign reg, I would wonder firstly should I have done that? And secondly should I report the foreign registered vehicle with the blue lights and sirens to AGS.
    I just have a feeling they might like to know, as I am aware there may be some law against vehicles with blue lights and sirens etc. which are not official ES vehicles.

Yes move, then if you think it's not right then call AGS.

And you would be suprised what AGS have but is not widely seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭belacqua_

Seen on Macken Street today about 3is. A Black Land Rover discover NI Reg flashing blues and two with two suits in the front and a Silver 5 series behind them same NI reg suits in the front?

NI's First and Deputy First Ministers' security detail for the rugger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Couldn't they have an AGS driver with in the vehicles??? Making them vehicles under AGS control?? Making them exempt from most provisions of the RTA??

Its never black and white in cases like this, and cross border co operation is important.

Hooch wrote: »
    Couldn't they have an AGS driver with in the vehicles??? Making them vehicles under AGS control?? Making them exempt from most provisions of the RTA??

Its never black and white in cases like this, and cross border co operation is important.

Thanks Hooch, thats something I would not thought of. However having said that and the recent discovery of a device in a van above in Newry, is it really wise to have PSNI vehicles down here drawing attention to themselves, God knows there are enough 'heros and spacers' down here.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Fattes

NI's First and Deputy First Ministers' security detail for the rugger?

Thats who I figured it was but could not see why wondering what powers they would have or right to drive on the wrong side of the road as they were.

Defo not AGS driving trust me.

Thanks for all the feedback guys

And you would be suprised what AGS have but is not widely seen.

No not at all surprised, I live by a certain credit union and have noticed quite a few out of the ordinary vehicles parking up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Question. Take a look at this section of the Republic. http://g.co/maps/fhdez
    Now, let's say there is a housefire in Clonfad. Presumably the closest Fire Brigade is Clones. Can Clones Fire Brigade hurtle down the A3 on Blues to respond to the fire?

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

How can you be so sure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

flazio wrote: »
    Question. Take a look at this section of the Republic. http://g.co/maps/fhdez
    Now, let's say there is a housefire in Clonfad. Presumably the closest Fire Brigade is Clones. Can Clones Fire Brigade hurtle down the A3 on Blues to respond to the fire?

Yes. There are cross border agreements on place between the relevant fire services. On the Irish side of the border, where NIFRS are responding on behalf of a fire authority here persuant to an agreement, they would be the same as a local brigade, with the same powers etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭jayj224

My farther said he saw them two vehicles being loaded onto transporters, after being used for filming in the area.

Hope this helps,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭SNAKEDOC

the cross border act allows for cooperation and vehicles to cross in case of emergency but running blues and two's on dublins streets is way beyond that. even when chasing a car near the border gardai pull up if the car crosses the border unless consented to continue but must relinquish the lead when assisted. and return to the south. The ombudsman can't even make traffic violations so i find it hard to believe that the PSNI officers while on protection duty would be so reckless as to run lights and sirens when on foreign soil unless escorted. If it was a movie i'm sure the op while quick enough to spot the ni reg would have seen an over sized rig out with cameras speeding by filming the action so that's kinda odd too. the only conclusion i can draw is that the vehicles are been tested by gardai in the HQ motorpool and let them out to diplomatic protection for a few days for a run in which case they are by definition garda cars driven by serving gardai. No countries police force can violate another countries traffic laws unless escorted.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Fattes
    How can you be so sure?

I have asked around some AGS sources and they are not operating these vehicles, guys up front of the cars were in real nice suits & ties.

I have also heard from a AGS source that it was probably NI First minister. No running lights that I seen just over zealous driving.

Definitely not filming, this was in the middle of rugby rush hour traffic.

Well will have to call in some more favors on this and ask around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭SNAKEDOC

Thats not right though. if a garda car went up north and was driven like that without an escort then holy war would be declared. such double standards. the PSNI like throwing their weight around all the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Which is it? You either know or you dont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭pah

Dont discount this possibility either, if it seems wrong, call it in.
    ARMED raiders who stole over €100,000 from a cash delivery van in Cork disguised their getaway car as an unmarked Garda car.
    They put a flashing blue light on the dashboard of their stolen black Saab as it sped from the scene of Wednesday’s robbery at a petrol station in Carrigaline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭murf313

HSE NAS ambulances regularly take patients to daisy hill hospital in newry from border areas on lights and sirens....

pah wrote: »
    Dont discount this possibility either, if it seems wrong, call it in.

Ah but look at the crap I got above for suggesting that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭joegriffinjnr

Love/hate filming! :)