Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First cycle

• 28-04-2012 11:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭

Hey, I've geared up to go on a proper outing tomorrow morning, but I've a few questions about routes.

I've been told that Howth is a decent cycle on Dublin's north side, and Google maps tells me it'll be a ~30km round trip, which doesn't seem too much.

I was wondering if going to the Sugar Loaf (~60km) would be a better cycle, but is this feasible for a first-timer? How long would something like that take? How likely is it that I'll need to pee while wearing bib shorts?

EDIT: Glencree looks like it might be handier at a ~45km round trip. Is this doable? I know it depends on the person, but once it wouldn't take 15 hours to get out and back, I'd be up for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Depends on how much climbing you want to do.

First thing I usually do is check the wind direction forecast:-

http://www.yr.no/place/Ireland/Leinster/Dublin/

You can also get 'live' (-ish) information from here

http://www.nratraffic.ie/weather/default.asp?RegionId=0

http://weather.noaa.gov/weather/current/EIDW.html

Then I plan which direction to go - generally I head into the wind so I get a shove home.

Something else to consider is whether you want to do a big long climb or several shorter ones. With the Howth option you could always do a couple of laps of the head.

Good luck and enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

is this your first cycle of distance ever? A buddy of mine which plays 5 aside and isn't in bad shape did 20k first time out and was tired. 60K might be biting off more than you can chew on a first spin. My same friend quit the howth climb on his first attempt. It's not bad however and he's grand on it now. As for peeing you'll only be out for 90 mind on a 30 k spin so you should be OK. Best of luck and I hope you enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Hey, I've geared up to go on a proper outing tomorrow morning, but I've a few questions about routes.

I've been told that Howth is a decent cycle on Dublin's north side, and Google maps tells me it'll be a ~30km round trip, which doesn't seem too much.

I was wondering if going to the Sugar Loaf (~60km) would be a better cycle, but is this feasible for a first-timer? How long would something like that take? How likely is it that I'll need to pee while wearing bib shorts?

EDIT: Glencree looks like it might be handier at a ~45km round trip. Is this doable? I know it depends on the person, but once it wouldn't take 15 hours to get out and back, I'd be up for it.

I'd strongly recommend doing Howth before the other ones, there's no point in pushing yourself beyond the limit on the first day out.

And I've never had to pee while wearing bib shorts personally. Not sure if thats a good thing or a bad thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭fishtastico

Thanks! Both really helpful. I think I'll stick to Howth tomorrow and see how I go, then maybe Glencree next week and go from there

Good plan. Don't forget to wave if you see a Boards jersey! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭fishtastico

Will do. Looking forward to getting into it and hopefully trying a sportive or two during the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭macnab

When i was starting out cycling i planned all my routes so that they circled my home location. In this way i had lots of short-cut options in case i got tired. Over time i just expanded the circle so that i now do a regular 37km route which takes me 75 minutes, but I am never more than 20 minutes cycling time away from home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

If I want a handy flat spin I regularly go from Bray to Howth but if your worried about toilet needs turn left at Sutton X, through Portmarnock and there's a public toilet at Malahide.

Most improtant of all though-enjoy it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭AIR-AUSSIE

Jawgap wrote: »
    Depends on how much climbing you want to do.

First thing I usually do is check the wind direction forecast:-

[url][/url]

You can also get 'live' (-ish) information from here

[url][/url]

[url][/url]

Then I plan which direction to go - generally I head into the wind so I get a shove home.

Something else to consider is whether you want to do a big long climb or several shorter ones. With the Howth option you could always do a couple of laps of the head.

Good luck and enjoy.

They are some good links for weather which I hadn't seen before. I also use this website here which can be very useful to plan trips too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

I give a nod to all the cyclists i see out, but not all even acknowledge in return. Lot of ignorant cyclists out there. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I give a nod to all the cyclists i see out, but not all even acknowledge in return. Lot of ignorant cyclists out there. :mad:
    If you are driving or walking, do you nod to other drivers/walkers?

You're supposed to out in the country, that's how locals can tell you're not a jackeen. But when I'm in Dublin I have to remember to stop, so the locals can't tell I'm a culchie :pac:
    I give a nod to all the cyclists i see out, but not all even acknowledge in return. Lot of ignorant cyclists out there.

I'd always wave back to anyone who waves at me, regardless of whether I'm walking or cycling, but it's probably best not to start doing it, you'll only be disappointed by how few will return the pleasantry! But fair play for trying to make the streets a friendlier place :D