Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deer licence

• 28-04-2012 9:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭

Hey lads new to this forum problem is i got a cover note off the national parks and wildlife services saying i will be getting my deer permit first week of august so filled out my gun application form sent it away and it was sent back to my local station saying the sargent wont used the cover note he wants me to wait till august and send in the deer permit this is my first gun for deer and i was hopeing to have the licence back soon to do some foxing and get the feel of the new gun anyone have this problem before :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 huntsalot

Yeah, I'd say loads of people do! It is a wonderful vicious circle designed to be tricky. It is almost a catch 22 situation - you cannot get the gun licence till you get the huning licence, but you cannot get the hunting licence till you say which gun you have! At least the dealers are helpful - most of the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

That's a balls! I would get onto the NARGC if your a member they are very helpful! Id say if you stated your case to the super you should get it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

You could try getting permission letters off farmers to shoot foxes and deer and then make an appointment to meet with the super and explain that you'd like the rifle to shoot foxes with it too and you'd like some practice with it before the season starts.

What caliber did you go for ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭zlezlius

Hey lads new to this forum problem is i got a cover note off the national parks and wildlife services saying i will be getting my deer permit first week of august so filled out my gun application form sent it away and it was sent back to my local station saying the sargent wont used the cover note he wants me to wait till august and send in the deer permit this is my first gun for deer and i was hopeing to have the licence back soon to do some foxing and get the feel of the new gun anyone have this problem before :mad:
    I'm exactly in the same position: got letter that deer licence was approved and that licence will be issued on 1st of August.Lady that I was on the phone in Wildlife services said that this letter should do me for firearm application. To be honest I was worried from the very beggining that it could hapen that they'll say "no deer licence yet, no rifle licence either",before I brought firearm application to local Garda station. Still am. It has been a month-no news yet, except for the letter saying that they received my application.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭fitzy700

lad's i hate to put a dampner on things but i was in the same situation last year i got a cover letter from the npws and gave it in with the firearm application in june and the super said no way that i had to wait till after august 1st and give in a copy of the permit so didnt get mine till the 3rd week in september :mad: i hope its differant for ye and best of luck when ye do get them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

Could a man apply for his deer licence now to get the ball rolling for his new firearm cert and just reapply in august for a new hunting licence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭sikahuntejack

garv123 wrote: »
    You could try getting permission letters off farmers to shoot foxes and deer and then make an appointment to meet with the super and explain that you'd like the rifle to shoot foxes with it too and you'd like some practice with it before the season starts.

What caliber did you go for ?
    Bought a sako 22.50 nice gun wont be fireing any more than 200 yards neck shots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

Sako is a lovely gun. You could go higher than your super if you wanted to. I cannot believe that he wont send your licence out. There's loads with 22-250 licences tell him who never held a deer licence. Not fair on you. It would be good and of benefit for you to get used to your new gun so you will have the feel for it also you will have confidence at shooting it getting used to focusing in your sight and that. I see your point 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭sikahuntejack

4200fps wrote: »
    Sako is a lovely gun. You could go higher than your super if you wanted to. I cannot believe that he wont send your licence out. There's loads with 22-250 licences tell him who never held a deer licence. Not fair on you. It would be good and of benefit for you to get used to your new gun so you will have the feel for it also you will have confidence at shooting it getting used to focusing in your sight and that. I see your point 100%
    This super is not for changeing his mind he wants folio numbers on the gun application forms letters from the farmers saying there is deer on the lands he wants noting photo coppied are all supers the same im dealing with the 1 in carlow :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

Get onto the firearms policy unit in HQ! They are the lads to ask because you will hear lots of different "rules" from stations around the country but they mightent always be correct! Super mightent appreciate you going over his head though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭steyrprohunter

4200fps wrote: »
    This super is not for changeing his mind he wants folio numbers on the gun application forms letters from the farmers saying there is deer on the lands he wants noting photo coppied are all supers the same im dealing with the 1 in carlow :mad:
    I deal with the super in carlow too and he used to be ok but has became very suspicious of all firearm related matters now. He refused my application for a permit for a moderator on my .22. Said he won't issue any more mod permits and that anyone who had one previously issued will have it revoked when the renewals are due.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

Another good reason to stop this district by district ****e!