Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Impromptu boards meet

• 28-04-2012 2:19am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭

Anyone free tomorrow?

I'm bored stiff and have been freed up until Sunday evening.

Randomly I'm asking does anyone want to go on a boards meet or road trip or night away or meet in a cold car park and have a bit of craic.

I've feck all else to do and thought I'd ask

Literally I love the random things in life and a random time will be had by all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,629 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Dogging with cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Marcusm wrote: »
    Dogging with cars?
    I'd rather not but off you go :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

There is some sort of Maseratti meet up in Wexford over the weekend. Check their owners club site for details. Karting is always a good choice if you got enough interested. That midland show looks promising too :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

You should have come up to my place this morning, there was 5 boardsies here at one stage!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

You should have come up to my place this morning, there was 5 boardsies here at one stage!:eek:

Ill be there soon myself !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Just go to the pub tonight, get locked and nurse the hangover all day tomorrow while being nagged by the misses to cut the lawn. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Would it mean we could have OT chat in a car park?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

There should be 50/60 Maserati's in lined up along the quay in Wexford town tomorrow, should be some very nice metal there.

I won't be along but could be a good place to head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Ordinarily id be up for something like this, but its the heineken cup this weekend. And yes rugby is more important than cars;)
    Sorry man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I've just noticed that john has closed his account. Oh dear. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Going shooting in Duleek...

Would it be possible to have a meet in Dublin or Meath sometime? Portlaoise is just too far for a broke, unemployed college student...!

*goes off to buy another car :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

BX 19 wrote: »

??? :confused:

On a mobile, can't see...

Not another regular member:(

That's not good, John is a splendid chap and will be a huge loss to the place, I can understand why he did close his account though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Another one gone :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Not good at all. Always a pleasant guy on the forum, and his 'in beer' updates will be missed. Best of luck to him though.

@Foxhole who else is gone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

BX 19 wrote: »

pramthrow.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

RoverJames wrote: »
    That's not good, John is a splendid chap and will be a huge loss to the place, I can understand why he did close his account though.

I dont understand?? Someone care to enlighten me, by pm if need be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

pred racer wrote: »

I dont understand?? Someone care to enlighten me, by pm if need be.

Read the feedback and Helpdesk threads and fill some blanks in. :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

MugMugs wrote: »
    Read the feedback and Helpdesk threads and fill some blanks in. :).

Are they the blanks that the big girl's blouse left by deleting all his posts in the thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

I understand John was annoyed and I personally don't agree with some of the mods actions at times but this whole closing accounts business is just silly. Come back and reopen your account and don't let the bs put you off a forum you use more than most!

On the one hand an admin stated that ...........

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=78385573&postcount=120

" Equally we'd expect mods not to divulge the contents of PMs they have received in the course of their modding duties to non-mods. "

But then another admin comes out with..........

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=78386931&postcount=7

"................ but technically no rules were broken."

I can see why John reckoned closing his account was the best option.

Referring to the chap as "the big girl's blouse" isn't necessary really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭alexmcred

Is he going to be at the meet?

I personally find it hilarious that someone is getting so upset over an internet forum.

I think he was more bothered about mods divulging stuff he PMd them to non mods rather than anything that was posted on the forum, who said he's upset? He may well just have said to himself f*** this and closed his account.

You weren't commenting how hilarious it was when Chris or EPM closed their accounts.

No toys out of pram or big girls blouses comments bandied about either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

You weren't commenting how hilarious it was when Chris or EPM closed their accounts.

Must have missed the feedback thread's where they whined on and on. Would you have links?

I think he was more bothered about mods divulging stuff he PMd them to non mods rather than anything that was posted on the forum, who said he's upset? He may well just have said to himself f*** this and closed his account.

It was quite obvious from his performance in the feedback thread both last night and today that he was upset about something.

You're also right, he probably did say fcuk this and closed his account........most likely because he was upset about something.

I didn't comment on EPM or Chris closing their accounts because -

A - they didn't make fools of themselves before hand.
    B- I know them personally, and I know the reasons behind it.

I didn't bandy out toys out of the pram, or big girls blouses comments about John either, but it certainly looks like that's what he was doing from the point of view of someone who wasn't involved in any discussion or argument with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Yep, its funny around here isn't it.

Like that stolen car thread a while back. All helpful and nice when its a 535d or what have you stolen, but when its a fruit van, people were pissing themselves with little jokes...

EDIT:

Having read the thread last when it was in full swing, he clearly was upset about something, but I'm getting the impression it was a fcuk this I'm outta here reaction rather then throwing the baby out with the bathwater sort of thing.

I'm sorry to see him go. He was seemed like good craic. (even though I never met the chap in person..)

He tried to cause a big deal from nothing pointing fingers at all corners, when he didn't get the attention he was looking for he closed his account.

Also the OP in this thread looks like a creepy sleepover request so i think a bit of ribbing is to be expected. Both -Chris- and EPM left with their heads held high through the back door without trying to cause a scene upon exiting.

R.O.R wrote: »
    Must have missed the feedback thread's where they whined on and on. Would you have links?
    No links to such threads, having a dig at the lad after he is gone is low in my opinion.

I didn't bandy out toys out of the pram, or big girls blouses comments about John either..........
    I never suggested you did.
    Quazzie wrote: »
    He tried to cause a big deal from nothing pointing fingers at all corners, when he didn't get the attention he was looking for he closed his account. ...........
    I would imagine he closed his account after learning that stuff he discussed/mentioned in PMs with a mod was divulged by that mod to a non mod.

As one admin mentioned it would be expected of mods that they would not do that, it would be expected by anyone PM ing them too I imagine.

I would imagine he closed his account after learning that stuff he discussed/mentioned in PMs with a mod was divulged by that mod to a non mod.

As one admin mentioned it would be expected of mods that they would not do that, it would be expected by anyone PM ing them too I imagine.

Technically speaking didn't he do the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Alright guys, how about taking this to PM. I'm going to close this now, not much point in it at this stage.