Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick Deer Being Wiped Out?

• 27-04-2012 7:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭

An report in this weeks free paper The Limerick Post staes that the wild deer in Limerick is on the decline as a result of poaching and as a result of this culling licence applications is down 16%. Any other reports of a similar nature from around the country?:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

Haha oh yep big time up this end of the country !! Last year we caught three boys out lamping "foxes" on our land. They werent from the area and had no permission to be on the land. They were approached by myself and a friend who spotted them while getting ready to head out for a shot ourselves. We could see someone shining a light about the place up on the hills. All the local lads know its too much of a trek to go lamping foxes so we knew exactly what was going on. We hopped in the jeep and sped up the track which leads round the back and over a few hills and through our woodland.
    We got to their pick up and there was 3 lads, 2 with rifles and 1 with a lamp. We asked them the usual questions "what are ye shooting?" "who gave you's permission?" etc.. They said oh we're just shooting foxes and we have permission off Mr.Bloggs he said this is his land. I didnt recognise the name they said gave them permission and being from a small village I can safely say I know every land owner and who owns every field within 2 miles as I am involved in agricultural work myself. My mate spotted 2 deer in the back of the pickup and winked at me to get back in my jeep. He just said "fair enough lads just be safe" So I knew, Oh Fcuk somethings up :eek: "
    When we got back into my jeep he said act normal and we will head back down to the house. On the way back he rang the guards and fair play they were at the bottom of the lane to meet us within 20 minutes. We explained they had no permission to be on my familys land and that they had 2 deer in their possession and what looked like calibres of rifle not suitable for deer shooting, as well as it being out of deer season.

We waited a good half hour or 45 mins for them to come off the hills and down the lane from the hill. Within that time we had heard 2 shots and the guards heard them too so we were glad. They got to the bottom of the lane eventually and the guards just said to let them deal with it. They confiscated the 2 firearms which were a .223 and a .22 hornet :eek: and they had 3 deer in the back of the pick up. I saw red :mad:

At the same time I was delighted they were caught. It turns out the lads were from a town that is a good 45 minutes away from me so they were obviously willing to travel to get some deer and they obviously had no deer license nor a firearm capable of dispatching deer humanely.

Definitely a decrease in numbers in my area. Being up at sunrise myself every day I always saw 3 or 4 on the side of the hill across the valley and even more some mornings. I havent seen any in about 3 or 4 months, not a sinner :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

I noticed a huge decline in deer numbers around the Slieve Blooms in Laois/Offaly this season. Not sure if it was down to the mild winter we had but I was quite concerned by the decline. I stoped shooting the area before the Doe season even started.
    During the summer I would often head down there for a walk and normally you would see plenty of Doe's and calfs etc. But last summer I saw a huge difference and it only got worse when the season started. I hope the numbers will return but I am not so sure they will.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Haha ...... not a sinner :confused:

A good news story for a change, well done the both of ye :D

People who are genuinely out lamping foxes, well, **** sticks because of poachers saying they're after foxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

There is no link to the Limerick "Pest"[the paper that brought you the killer mink:rolleyes: story!]
    It is a commentary on the decline of deer by a "WADI spokesman".
    Alarming,and somwhat confirming the suspicion about game dealers being a cause of the problem possibly[?] it states that

"They[game dealers] want to make money so they want as many deer in as they can get" [Italics mine] and "The handlers are worried they will have no busisness going forward".

Dont think you have to be a super brain to see the connection between poaching,game dealers and profit and declneing deer numbers.:rolleyes:

TBH this declining deer numbers seems to be a weird one too.Up to last year everyone was reporting that the countryside was being overrun with them.Then within a year the story is they are all gone and the numbers are down.I just cant belive then if game dealers are mousing they dont have enough stock that they have all been shot!! Last GD I sold mine to in Sept was complaining of having too much stock and sold me two huge venison haunches almost for nothing,as it is specific cuts that get the premium prices.
    So WTF is going on??Were there really that many deer out there in the first place?Or do we have that a serious poaching problem with that good return for it???
    Discuss.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Up to last year everyone was reporting that the countryside was being overrun with them.Then within a year the story is they are all gone and the numbers are down.
    +1 I remember hearing it on local radio and seeing it in local papers a few times a year for about 3 years then the opposite this year
    remember michael healy rae calling for more lads to take up stalking h stills wants a cull anyway http://debates.oireachtas.ie/dail/2012/04/18/00738.asp#N3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 graham h

talking about poachers i remember coming home from lamping 1 night and seen a lamp shining over the ditch from the road, anyway the lamp was turned off as i got closer lights came on on a car, and as i got another bit closer more lights came on on the car on the roof, needless to say there where blue and they where lamping on the job and in land they had no permission, and i know they didnt have permissiom cause i know the gamekeeper and the same guard is getting ran off land where he has no permission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭richiedel123

Mauser 308 wrote: »
    I noticed a huge decline in deer numbers around the Slieve Blooms in Laois/Offaly this season. Not sure if it was down to the mild winter we had but I was quite concerned by the decline. I stoped shooting the area before the Doe season even started.
    During the summer I would often head down there for a walk and normally you would see plenty of Doe's and calfs etc. But last summer I saw a huge difference and it only got worse when the season started. I hope the numbers will return but I am not so sure they will.:mad:
    I shoot up that area too and I seen one stag all year in my areas and that was on the first morning. I never seen so little deer all year. I would say all year I seen about 30 deer at most where a 2 or 3 years ago I seen that in the first day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

TBH this declining deer numbers seems to be a weird one too.Up to last year everyone was reporting that the countryside was being overrun with them.Then within a year the story is they are all gone and the numbers are down.I just cant belive then if game dealers are mousing they dont have enough stock that they have all been shot!! Last GD I sold mine to in Sept was complaining of having too much stock and sold me two huge venison haunches almost for nothing,as it is specific cuts that get the premium prices.
    So WTF is going on??Were there really that many deer out there in the first place?Or do we have that a serious poaching problem with that good return for it???
    Discuss.
    I agree there was a lot of talk of deer over running the place in the last few years. But my fear is that a lot of it was down to two of the toughest winters Ireland had in a good few years. I believe the deer were out of their normal areas and thus more visable. Their numbers I believe have suffered a lot of damage during this time.
    Will the numbers return?, hope so, but have my doubts in the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Fallow01

There is no link to the Limerick "Pest"[the paper that brought you the killer mink:rolleyes: story!]
    It is a commentary on the decline of deer by a "WADI spokesman".
    Alarming,and somwhat confirming the suspicion about game dealers being a cause of the problem possibly[?] it states that

"They[game dealers] want to make money so they want as many deer in as they can get" [Italics mine] and "The handlers are worried they will have no busisness going forward".

Dont think you have to be a super brain to see the connection between poaching,game dealers and profit and declneing deer numbers.:rolleyes:

Discuss.

If you remember all the talk of been overrun with deer was normally from the tree huggers or some farmers that one deer on their land was one too many. The tree huggers even brought out that deer report via Woodlands of Ireland & NPWS that claimed they knew how many deer there are in Ireland haha sadly the report gave deer loads of bad media coverage & gave a false impression which has now come home to roost - cause the people at the coal face - us, game dealers, NPWS sec 42's, deer org's like WDAI are all saying the same thing - numbers are way down everywhere & reds are in big trouble

I remember WDAI ran a survey about 2 years ago with foresters & deer stalkers which showed poaching up & deer numbers down.

Hmmm,still wondering is this selling to game dealers such a good idea
    for the following reasons?

There is a dedicated source of income for the unscrouplus game harvester.No matter how small the payment is,it is a source of money and if Game dealers are saying they dont care how or where the carcasses are coming from as they need raw material to sell...

[As an aside there are three premium cuts that make the money for the GD on the carcass,the rest like haunches etc are second rate sellors and are difficult to shift.]

IF,it was an open market where you had to sell your carcass to whomever you could and you were held legally responsible for any cases of food poisioning,or unfit for human consumption carcasses ending up on the market.IOW take the" easy money and no responsibility" factor out of the equation which seems to be a facet of every Irish enterprise or industry:(.
    I reckon you would see a dramatic drop off in illegal game harvesting
    there and then,as you have now legal responsibility,and no doubt a bunch of regulations on butchering facilities to keep,which means spending some money as well.
    Then the NARGC or WDAI carcass handling course would make 100% sense and I would be signing up for it as well.But as it stands it is a EU directive aimed at countries that have had this right for generations as liscensed hunters.Here we never had that,and it just adds another layer of burrocracy.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

i dont know y u all blame the poachers over deer numbers being down i know a licenced stalker that sells 2 game dealer and he has a cool room out his back that can hold up 2 25 deer at a time and he will stalk deer all week long till he can fill that cool room so its not only the poachers that has deer numbers down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭sonofthegun

graham h wrote: »
    i dont know y u all blame the poachers over deer numbers being down i know a licenced stalker that sells 2 game dealer and he has a cool room out his back that can hold up 2 25 deer at a time and he will stalk deer all week long till he can fill that cool room so its not only the poachers that has deer numbers down

well said lad it aint all down to lads poaching as in every thing there are a few lads well known in areas that are takeing advantage of being so called licenced hunters we all need to start facing some facts that deer populations are in serious trouble in areas and just because a person is licensed to shoot deer this dose not give them a right to be out over shooting deer every week
    sotg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

well said lad it aint all down to lads poaching as in every thing there are a few lads well known in areas that are takeing advantage of being so called licenced hunters we all need to start facing some facts that deer populations are in serious trouble in areas and just because a person is licensed to shoot deer this dose not give them a right to be out over shooting deer every week
    sotg

Agree with you there, I took 12 this my first year with my own rifle (2 a month) and gave away some to friends and neighbours the rest filled the freezer, we eat alot of game meat here. Freezer is starting to look a little empty so must get a few wild kids in. BTW IMHO it is pointless killing more then you can eat and I would rather not shoot for a year or so and let numbers build then to not shoot at all in a few years when there will nothing to shoot. If they are wiped out what will I teach my kids to shoot when they are old enough.

Thats the major difference between a poacher and an il, or in this case legal game harvester!!!!.Thats a flippin disgrace that a so called "stalker" :mad::mad::mad::mad: is carrying on like that!!
    He is shooting for profit and not for his own needs.IMO he is NO better than a poacher !!!At least a genuine poacher wouldnt destroy a resource that would keep him and his family fed year in year out.
    A DISGRACE to the name of stalker!!:mad::mad::mad:

unfortunately yes there is hunters with legal licenses and permissions to hunt deer that shoot unnecessary numbers I agree completely its not only the poachers to blame. I think everyone knows of an individual or two or maybe even 3 that always shoots too many pheasant, duck, rabbits, no matter what the quarry is there is always someone that has to be greedy and ruin it for everyone else. Unfortunately with deer it has a bigger effect... Your club can order a few hundred pheasant every year , same with duck.... Rabbits fair enough can be scarce but can always be found if you look hard enough... But deer are not easily replaced. There is always a minority that have to go over the top and this has a big effect on us genuine hunters out there to feed ourselves and family and to do a past time which we love dearly... not to make a living from :mad:

Thats the major difference between a poacher and an il, or in this case legal game harvester!!!!.Thats a flippin disgrace that a so called "stalker" :mad::mad::mad::mad: is carrying on like that!!
    He is shooting for profit and not for his own needs.IMO he is NO better than a poacher !!!At least a genuine poacher wouldnt destroy a resource that would keep him and his family fed year in year out.
    A DISGRACE to the name of stalker!!:mad::mad::mad:
    u are right its a disgrace but in 1 of ur posts u are saying u sell 2 gamedealers, so u must be shooting a few urself, and if ur frezzer is full and u have no room 4 them so y shoot them

in fairness I have to agree that if you have too much deer to be consuming yourself or by family or friends then you shouldnt keep shooting and selling to game dealers. Whatever about selling rabbit or pigeon and small game, I definitely think its un-sporting to be shooting deer just to sell. Greed of the highest form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Tackleberry.

I blame the game dealer, at the start of this year the game dealer rang all the lads I know that shoot deer about 10 lads and offered a price per kg, now if he rang us he surely rang many more.
    I know one person also who's lamps season to season and had 90 something deer shot coming up to last Xmas all for money, sad so say also that this is the first year I've considered selling my rifle all because I could not be arsed driving an hour to try and get a shot on land I know has been lamped probley that night.
    I shot one nice year old red stag this year and he was lovely made many a meal in many homes.
    Game dealers should be held more responsible for game they handle as should stalkers but dealers are no better than poachers, tis all a money racket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭EastTyrone

a poosible solution could be that at the start of every season hunters are issued with tags, when you shoot a deer you tage the ear,just like a cow,and if you use all your tags you apply to the deer societies for more tags?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭sikastag

EastTyrone wrote: »
    a poosible solution could be that at the start of every season hunters are issued with tags, when you shoot a deer you tage the ear,just like a cow,and if you use all your tags you apply to the deer societies for more tags?

Keep the deer societies out of the tagging malarkey.
    Plenty of licenced hunters and people affiliated with certain societies lining their pockets from deer.

Gamedealers also shoot deer themselves.......

I just hope the arse falls out of the venison market.........

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

EastTyrone wrote: »

Please leave private organisations out of the equasion because ultimately they're in it for only one reason; their own interest. If a tagging system ever is implemented it should be ran by the NPWS or another state agency but definitely not by private organisations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

all i know is for all the deer signs on the motorway, not once in four years have i seen one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 groundskeeper willie

Please leave private organisations out of the equasion because ultimately they're in it for only one reason; their own interest. If a tagging system ever is implemented it should be ran by the NPWS or another state agency but definitely not by private organisations.

100% agree. no time for any of these societies. tagging system would be great couldnt see it happening here though.

u are right its a disgrace but in 1 of ur posts u are saying u sell 2 gamedealers, so u must be shooting a few urself, and if ur frezzer is full and u have no room 4 them so y shoot them

Of two deer I have shot sofar in Ireland..I have sold ONE deer [Red ] to a dealer this last season!If you look back I posted that in Sept last as everyone was wondering about the new paperwork required that came out last year in selling carcasses.
    TBH I doubt I'd ever sell another one here again either as the requirements of game dealers of shooting them in the head or neck shots is repugnent to me and I have more respect of my quarry than to be using it for trick shots!!
    So please dont try and put words in my mouth or ASSume you know what my motives are!!

BTW FAR be me to play punctation police here.
    But these fellows . , ? ' ! " do have a purpose in writing.
    As well as that I belive "Text speak" if frowned upon here when posting?

punctation police text speak is frowned upon here when posting BTW
    my punctation and spelling might not be good but i know shooting RED DEER and selling them is wrong

Of two deer I have shot sofar in Ireland..I have sold ONE deer [Red ] to a dealer this last season!If you look back I posted that in Sept last as everyone was wondering about the new paperwork required that came out last year in selling carcasses.
    TBH I doubt I'd ever sell another one here again either as the requirements of game dealers of shooting them in the head or neck shots is repugnent to me and I have more respect of my quarry than to be using it for trick shots!!
    So please dont try and put words in my mouth or ASSume you know what my motives are!!

BTW FAR be me to play punctation police here.
    But these fellows . , ? ' ! " do have a purpose in writing.
    As well as that I belive "Text speak" if frowned upon here when posting?
    so out of the deer u shoot in ireland u are selling 50% of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

graham h, please don't use text speak.

Rule 9 of the forum is to respect forum etiquette

so out of the deer u shoot in ireland u are selling 50% of them

At least I'm not market hunting 25 a month like your friend!!! at6.25 animals a week:rolleyes:
    Lets do the maths..Season opens Sept closes Dec four months for stags.16 weeks Adding on the hind and calf season as well Nov to Feb 16 weeks 32 weeks grand total of a season. 100 animals a month..If I was NPWS I'd REALLY be intending to have a chat with this fellah once his deer returns are in!!!

And whats so wrong with selling Red deer???As if I was the only person doing such.How many did that chacter shoot and sell???
    Take the railway sleeper out of your eye before attending to the dust mote in mine!!:rolleyes:

At least I'm not market hunting 25 a month like your friend!!! at6.25 animals a week:rolleyes:
    Lets do the maths..Season opens Sept closes Dec four months for stags.16 weeks Adding on the hind and calf season as well Nov to Feb 16 weeks 32 weeks grand total of a season. 100 animals a month..If I was NPWS I'd REALLY be intending to have a chat with this fellah once his deer returns are in!!!

And whats so wrong with selling Red deer???As if I was the only person doing such.How many did that chacter shoot and sell???
    Take the railway sleeper out of your eye before attending to the dust mote in mine!!:rolleyes:
    1. he is not my friend and never will be the way he is carring on in regaruds of shooting deer
    2.i think shooting red deer for profit is wrong there is few enough of them
    3.i hope npws do catch up whit him

2.i think shooting red deer for profit is wrong there is few enough of them

TBH ,thats all I've got up around me.And profit...Phhh it just about coverd a box of .243 shells.:(

well if that was the case i would have put the deer back in my jeep and took it home and made better use out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭323

[/QUOTE]
    3.i hope npws do catch up whit him[/Quote]

Also only red in my area, huge decline in numbers.
    Unfortunately, NPWS will do nothing

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

Unfortunately, NPWS will do nothing[/QUOTE]
    any amount of deer around me would only have 2 go 2 feilds out of the town and see them but no reds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Story from just a year ago about over population:

http://www.irishexaminer.com/eart.aspx?id=150237&m=7.1.0.0

Call me sceptical when I hear this stuff but I see PR and spin. Just more people looking to control a valuable commodity.

A year ago we had stories like above, over population blah blah blah, we need an organisation to control deer, crop and tree damage, potential road deaths etc etc
    I have no doubt that more deer were shot and sold this year than previous years, but lets avoid knee jerk reactions. Irish politics is full of that type of sh1te.

Game dealers are not new and prices are not as high as they were in the past (~£4 a kilo in the mid 90's). The difference is more lads off work with nothing better to do and now they can make money from their hobby.

So lets not impose some serious hardships on ourselves or let some organisation run our sport because we've seen 1 bad year. If anything changes it needs to account for years when we have high employment and low numbers of deer being shot again and we're back to "over population".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

just to throw it in for the slieve bloom part of it. .i havnt seen any up there since the 2010 birr fair.and id usually be through the mountain 3-4 times a month every year.got 1 call from a gaurd to collect a young calf but nothing after that

Unfortunately, NPWS will do nothing[/QUOTE]

Yeah..Too busy flying around with the Aer Corp spotting illegal turf cutters!!:(:rolleyes:
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/military-aircraft-get-bogged-down-in-turfcutting-spy-games-3095262.html

Amazing our EU overlords order this and we jump!! Pity the same sort of resources couldnt be put into dealing with over harvesting deer or poaching!:mad:

I would agree and it has been said deer numbers are down due to over hunting as well, like in the last 5 years the numbers of deer licences have gone from 1,900 to 4,500 that along with lads having more time than ever to get out.

In my book poaching is also licensed hunters out just before/ after dusk, hunting land they don't have permission to hunt and requesting sec 42's to extend their season/ cash.

I agree that any tagging system should be only run by NPWS or DAFF, anything else wouldn't make sense.

I don't think either the WDAI or IDS are involved in what they do for any other reason than improving our sport, like I only pay 20 euros a year membership for the WDAI, so I don't think theirs a gravy train for anyone out of that! You'll always have someone in one of them that their job is deer or deer related, as you would expect.

Which organisation are we always hearing on the radio, national papers, lobbying government for deer stalking?? OK I am bias of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

It seems to me that the ratio of licenced deer hunters to deer numbers is also a factor in drop in numbers this is probably a NPWS problem as too many hunters given licences for a particular area.

Maybe every single permission someone has should be cleared with the NPWS in the future.
    So that if you have two permissions on your licence to get it yearly all your other ones should be made known to them too to control the number of shooters with the same folio numbers or in the same geographical area.

Again this is no good without manpower from NPWS to manage it.

There doesn't be any sign of a slowdown in granting licences anytime soon except 42's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

eldwaro wrote: »
    all i know is for all the deer signs on the motorway, not once in four years have i seen one!

Saw deer on two seperate occassion from the M7 recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 groundskeeper willie

Fallow01 wrote: »
    I would agree and it has been said deer numbers are down due to over hunting as well, like in the last 5 years the numbers of deer licences have gone from 1,900 to 4,500 that along with lads having more time than ever to get out.

In my book poaching is also licensed hunters out just before/ after dusk, hunting land they don't have permission to hunt and requesting sec 42's to extend their season/ cash.

dead right. yes there are more stalkers now and yes deer numbers are down in the majority of areas, poaching at night being a big reason for it. but there are lads with licenses and hcaps and all sorts who are just as bad during the day i think. called to a lads house 1st day of hinds a couple of years ago and he brought me out to his chill room where he had 4 deer hanging. i had a look and 3 of them had milk so had left orphaned calves. he was proud as punch over what he shot that morning and saw nothing wrong with it at all. same lad cant understand where all the deer are gone now

Tagging is definitely the way to go. It may be a bit more work and there may be a bit of hassle getting it up and running but it seems there is no other option. If I had my way, lads that are out just to shoot numbers and pass them on for the €€ benefit shouldnt be allowed own even an air rifle but thats a whole other can of worms :p
    I think a lot of these "stalkers" or "hunters" (I dont think mods would appreciate me using the words I'd like to describe them) that shoot such numbers do not realise or else just ignore the fact that there is more to hunting than just shooting and putting meat on the table. You HAVE to be active in conservation in order to secure the future of the sport !!!!!!!In the current climate I personally can not see why anyone would need to shoot more than 1 or 2 deer per month during the season ... and even still , thats alot of venison.
    I think if a tagging system was introduced then perhaps on land where there are a higher number of deer and it is confirmed by the ranger, then perhaps more tags can be issued (common sense). If a hunter is found in possession of an un-tagged deer then all firearms owned by the individual should be taken away and they should be fined.

I myself am in a very very difficult situation. For many years I shot deer, usually 3 at the very most per season. For reasons beyond my control I had to temporarily give up the whole sport I loved, and now when trying to get back into it I find it impossible. I cant get permission anywhere. Even on land I shot for years there is no longer any deer present there.

Take the "easy money low risk,no responsibility" aspect out of the game and it becomes unattractive right off to a lot of people.
    SLAM HARD on those that are caught illegally harvesting deer by jacklighting and thosr Game dealers that are caught buying illegal carcasses.
    By that I mean take it to court and bar such people from owning firearms for ten years plus,their equipment,vechicles,firearms are forefit to the State to dispose of as it sees fit plus a hefty fine.You have then no right to re apply until you have done the 10 year time ban.Not like after a season you can reapply.
    If you are a game dealer you lose your liscense and busisness straight out.End of!! Then maybe the Revenue might like a look at your tax affairs mr Poacher and Mr Game dealer as well for undisclosed income.

All this needs is some enforcement willpower by the NPWS to take a few public cases to court.We have plenty of law on the books,how about enforcing such??

The Sect 42 should be done away with outright.TBH no other EU country has this and there are plenty of less leathl methods of keeping deer out of areas you dont want them in in breeding season.
    If there was an extrem need for this, it should be decided on a case by case basis by two NPWS rangers from outside the district and both must concur on the extreme need to justify a sect 42 cull,not the farmer or hunter.
    Simples really! But the simplest is never an option here!:rolleyes:

lads can any1 tell me what the npws and there rangers did when foot and mouth was a treath here? in regards of deer culling

well if no one knows ill leave it at that but all ill say is the npws should look at some of there metods before or if they make any new rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 chrisby

Lots of deer in the Slieve Bloom Mountains. See them every weekend when we go walking with the Slieve Bloom Walking Club

chrisby wrote: »
    Lots of deer in the Slieve Bloom Mountains. See them every weekend when we go walking with the Slieve Bloom Walking Club

Good to hear your meeting them, how many would you meet on average & over what distance?