Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calving bed out at calving?? Sell sell sell or try her again?

• 25-04-2012 9:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭

Id be interested to hear peoples different views both dairy and suckler men on what they do with a cow that throws out the bed after calving?

Thank god not had one for years but the one i had put it out every 3 weeks when she was in heat and i used to have to wash it and get soaked in piss everytime i had to put it back in .. only held her for the Summer to rear the bull calf she had on her.

Neighbours one held it in and went on to have others without any recurring troubles

Saw great cow today and she has super culard heifer calf with her but he is selling the pair as she put out the bed and its showing still at times of pressure..( she went down on front knees when i sculled her and i spotted it) is she finished? calf is 2 months and cow is tied into shed, may not have been in heat yet.. will she be candidate if bulling mad to keep putting it out?

Also, if i bought the pair solely for the calf .. id have to declare her as not for breeding when selling as a beef cow in the mart in the back end?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

If she'll hold it in let her rear the calf, then fatten and factory..
    Definitely have to declare it if you're selling her in the mart.. apart from being lousy business it may (should) bounce back onto you for not declaring and you could be hit with law for compensation..
    Do the right thing !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

bbam wrote: »
    If she'll hold it in let her rear the calf, then fatten and factory..
    Definitely have to declare it if you're selling her in the mart.. apart from being lousy business it may (should) bounce back onto you for not declaring and you could be hit with law for compensation..
    Do the right thing !

She not mine but I always would declare anyway, bugs me when I hear of lads selling springers that are pure dangerous after calving too... The fact that The bed is showing so close to the vulva at present would that signal to you that she may pop it out very easily again?

Bodacious wrote: »
    She not mine but I always would declare anyway, bugs me when I hear of lads selling springers that are pure dangerous after calving too... The fact that The bed is showing so close to the vulva at present would that signal to you that she may pop it out very easily again?

Yep.
    We had one a few years ago the same. Vet said there was no chance of her holding again. Stitched her for a while but she started pressing again.
    Factory was the only answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

I fatten them up and sell to factory.

Thankfully not a common problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

In recent years we have had 2 cases of prolapse of the womb post calving, one died putting it back in and the other was finished for the factory later that year after rearing her calf.
    We also had a case of prolapse of the vagina in a cow 6 weeks or so pre calving. She calved fine but we finished her again for the factory after rearing her calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,361 ✭✭✭tanko

I think you would be mad to buy her. Who knows what problems she will give you. Why buy trouble?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

get rid

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

I have had quite a variety of experiences with this in the last 10 years
    Cow no.1: Put it out at calving, stitched her and she kept it in, but had to cull her due to lameness. We kept her heifer calf for breeding and she put the bed out at first calving and died.
    Cow no.2: Put it out 2 years on the trot, went in calf no problem, hasn't put it out since.
    Cow no.3: Had calved for many years without incident, but put it out when calving a big heifer calf 2 years ago. This was a mess, as she was out in a field but I was watching her closely. Luckily she's a very quiet cow, so I drove into the field with the box, put in the calf and the cow followed, took them off to the yard. The vet was on the scene in half an hour and sorted her out. It was all over within an hour and a half, but the whole process kicked off at around 11.30 pm! This cow went incalf afterwards and calved normally last year. She hasn't calved yet this year. All animals mentioned above are/were pedigree Limousins.

tanko wrote: »
    I think you would be mad to buy her. Who knows what problems she will give you. Why buy trouble?

in short, super show heifer calf at foot!!

I know what you are saying and if when out of the shed at grass she puts it out again bulling she could prove costly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

had 2 that i remember, 1 put her womb out the night i came home from hospital after having a c-section... will never forget it:rolleyes: didnt put her back in calf... had another last year that died after the vet put it back in was a fifth calver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭cow man

in my experance cow's putting out the calf bed is a one off and happenswithi n a few hours of calving is normally put back in by a vet and the cow will breed again no problem,
    If a cow starts putting out the "reed" she will usually keep doing it. Bigening of the end for her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

We had one 8 or 9 years ago that we bred again and she was alright. Vet did say it was risky enough though.

Anyone ever heard of making sure the cow gets up after calving to help her keep the bed in place?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Heard of it, don't really believe it has anything to do with it.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭6600

If a prolapsed uterus is put back in properly it hardly ever come out again, but needs to be put back by a vet who knows what he's at, some don't.

One cause is calcium deficiency or milk fever, this affects the cow two ways. One is to cause the muscles to relax including those around the neck of the womb. The other is that is causes the cow to lie on her side and bloat up causing a lot of pressure on the uterus when she's calving.
    I saw somewhere that if you have one case of a cow down with milk fever that it could mean that 60% of the herd could have a sub-clinical deficiency. It causes lots of problems in a herd like weak calves, cows not able to push resulting in hard calvings and also cows holding onto calves too long. So minerals are awful important.

Other thing causes prolapsed uterus is excessive bloating of heavily in-calf cows due to imbalanced diet. Fibrous material, hay, straw, low DMD silage needs protein to allow the cow digest it. The cow will blow up like a balloon otherwise increasing the risk of prolapse. We started feeding 1/3 kg a day for the last month before calving 2 years ago and the difference is night and day compared to the hardship we used to get calving.

Oh don't let cow gorge herself straight after calving either, the muscles are very slack for an hour or two after.

On the other hand a cow that prolapses her cervix/vagina will only do it again and again - the ligaments that hold it in are torn and she will start doing it earlier on next year. If you can avoid cows bloating up you will avoid this happening too.

Sorry for long reply, everything is interconnected :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭6600

If a prolapsed uterus is put back in properly it hardly ever come out again, but needs to be put back by a vet who knows what he's at, some don't.

One cause is calcium deficiency or milk fever, this affects the cow two ways. One is to cause the muscles to relax including those around the neck of the womb. The other is that is causes the cow to lie on her side and bloat up causing a lot of pressure on the uterus when she's calving.
    I saw somewhere that if you have one case of a cow down with milk fever that it could mean that 60% of the herd could have a sub-clinical deficiency. It causes lots of problems in a herd like weak calves, cows not able to push resulting in hard calvings and also cows holding onto calves too long. So minerals are awful important.

Other thing causes prolapsed uterus is excessive bloating of heavily in-calf cows due to imbalanced diet. Fibrous material, hay, straw, low DMD silage needs protein to allow the cow digest it. The cow will blow up like a balloon otherwise increasing the risk of prolapse. We started feeding 1/3 kg a day for the last month before calving 2 years ago and the difference is night and day compared to the hardship we used to get calving.

Oh don't let cow gorge herself straight after calving either, the muscles are very slack for an hour or two after.

On the other hand a cow that prolapses her cervix/vagina will only do it again and again - the ligaments that hold it in are torn and she will start doing it earlier on next year. If you can avoid cows bloating up you will avoid this happening too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭foundation10

Sell

Sell

Fatten and then Factory.
    Why sell problems to some other poor devil?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭cow man

6600 wrote: »

Thanks you seem to know lots about it
    I have herd roled oats is very good feed for cows to have an easy calving

6600 wrote: »
    On the other hand a cow that prolapses her cervix/vagina will only do it again and again - the ligaments that hold it in are torn and she will start doing it earlier on next year.

There is also a genetic element that comes into play here, insofar as a cow with such a predisposition may pass it onto her daughters.

cow man wrote: »
    Thanks you seem to know lots about it
    I have herd roled oats is very good feed for cows to have an easy calving

We all know a lot about things here on t'internet:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

over the years here anyways it never happened a cow twice so i never culled a cow because of it unless she did not go back in calf,i would hate to have to go to the dentist with a pain in a tooth if i knew he was just going to pull all of them ever time instead of giving me a filling and give:eek: my mouth a chance.

Update; Yer man sold the cow E1850 as she was announced cow not for breeding.

My feeling would be the first time she comes bulling she'll put it out again, she was tied in since calving

He did well and was right to declare it.

bbam wrote: »

He did well and was right to declare it.

Great calf .. Be worth 1100-1200 in back end and good big red lim cow for fattening then . Ah he had to announce her or she'd come back on him for sure! In fact I'm not sure if he still be covered at that ... Fella buys her and let's her to grass and she could have it out first time she comes bulling, dear cow then, vet visit, cow away to factory unfinished and calf up on donedeal! Pure dose!