Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much does it cost you to follow your team ?

• 24-04-2012 10:27pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Just having a discussion in the Barca Chelsea match thread and something came up on the costs of following the clubs and was wondering how much does it set you lads/ladies back ?

Last 3-4 years Ive spent over 6K on Flights , over 4 K on accom and over 3K on match tickets ,

Couple this with two Jerseys most seasons,
    ( before people jump in on this , my dad collected every Jersey for me from 83 when I was born till I had my own pocket money/allowance about the age of 15/16 and its something I would like to keep doing for when ever I have a nipper , He /she will have no choice but to be blues fan :eek: )

Match programmes , food and drink at the games its a bloody expensive pastime ,

Does it cost less supporting the likes of Liverpool or Utd as there is such a massive fan base and usually a lot of you going over so there is deals on coaches / flights or is it the same .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Two hundred quid on the season ticket and the bus fare to Inchicore!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Cork City FC

Season ticket: €168

Petrol : Negligible.

Probably spend more on away games over a season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,799 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

€100 season ticket, then between maybe food and a little bit of travel, at most it'd be another €100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

Ireland season ticket = 200. Attending them matches about 20e a go.

Chelsea = £60 a ticket, 100 flights and travel. Stay with friends and 20 on food drink etc. Try to go twice a year, start of season and end of season. This season decided not to go go the second time cos of Poland. That better have been the right decision!

Ireland for Poland another 2k.

Don't really buy jerseys and all that.

When you write it down is sounds like a lot......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

This thread didnt go down well around 5 years ago when i started it.

€20 transport to every game home and away x 33 (average based on fans bus plus Dublin bus)
    €20 pub x 33 (average soemtimes its not an option sometimes it too much of an option)
    €600 tickets

Eurotrips can run into the millions for us :(

€3560 was what i came to 5 years ago including 2 Euro trips.

€1820 for a standard season with no Euro trip.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

dreamers75 wrote: »
    This thread didnt go down well around 5 years ago when i started it.

€20 transport to every game home and away x 33 (average based on fans bus plus Dublin bus)
    €20 pub x 33 (average soemtimes its not an option sometimes it too much of an option)
    €600 tickets

€3560 was what i came to 5 years ago including 2 Euro trips.

€1820 for a standard season with no Euro trip.

Typed her into the search before starting it , is it still live ? be interesting to see some of the comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Don't support a club team but I go to most Ireland home matches,probably a couple of hundred € a year when you factor in tickets/food/drink/bus fares etc.

Don't buy jerseys anymore,just have my auld green scarf and an Ireland hat I got for crimbo a few years back.

Typed her into the search before starting it , is it still live ? be interesting to see some of the comments

Its for the best its not mentioned :)

And search is **** :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Don't support a club team but I go to most Ireland home matches,probably a couple of hundred € a year when you factor in tickets/food/drink/bus fares etc.

Didnt factor in the National team costs myself , didnt get the season ticket this year because there is feck all competitive game to be gained from it , but will pick it up for the World cup qualifying campaign , have had it before though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

€15 for an unofficial Man Utd t-shirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

This season.

Newcastle: Been 6 times this season. Tickets roughly €200, flights roughly around €300 - €400, accommodation was cheap enough staying in hostels. Came to around €250.

Bohemians: €220 season ticket. Free bus travel.

EDIT: Haven't factored in jersey's as I usually get various jersey's as birthday presents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

My sanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭daddydick

How much is a Sky subscription? However much that is..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

100 euro season ticket for Tolka. Away games to hard to determine but usually it'd be 50 quid for everything(bus, drink, ticket) on an away trip.

SantryRed wrote: »
    100 euro season ticket for Tolka. Away games to hard to determine but usually it'd be 50 quid for everything(bus, drink, ticket) on an away trip.

So €800?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Find it hard to calculate.

Last season:

Membership is 600. Opted to pay for a season ticket too on top of that.

Made all the home games and about two thirds of the league aways. So add booze, food, petrol or bus money to that plus two hotel stays after games.

Did a few European away trips. Say tickets, travel, hotels and booze came to about 1200.

Made all 6 European home ties. Most of the FAI and Setanta cup ties and pre-season friendlies.

Probably spent about 300 + quid in the club shop.

Would say there is not change left from 4k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

So €800?

I don't get to every weekend. And then I don't class Drogs to Bray and all of Dublin as true away games either. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭edolan

My estimate of last season,
    Season ticket 120
    Euro trip all together about 600
    Calculated the away games I went too and spent around 900
    plus 100 on jerseys
    around 30 on golden goals and a further 20 on the annual raffle
    so in and around 1770 last season. Never seems like that much until you actually think about it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Membership €600, have taken the season ticket option the last two years though. Bus ticket to/from Tallaght is bought anyway.

Probably €150 into all the various Setanta/FAI Cup/Europa League home games

Various costs on away games - €40 travel per game outside Dublin, average of €10 ticket per game too.

Travel/visa to Rubin Kazan game - €450

Probably somewhere around €1500 altogether including club shop..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Pedro K

Season ticket, 200-220 per year over the last few anyway.

For shorter away games like Drogs or bray myself or a friend Will drive, so that's cheap enough. For the more distant ones the bus is usually 15, another 15 for cans then.

The European games vary in cost. Was at juve away, which was relatively cheap. Flora tallin was a bit more expensive if I remember correctly... Or maybe it seems that way because of the roundabout way we had to get there.

Spurs game I can't really count, as I lived in London for a couple of months and happened to there for that game anyway.

If I had to guess, in a year, 1000-1200

So in short, as another poster already said, my sanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

I'd probably cry at the amount if I added it up over the past 17 years, but had an FCB season ticket at on average £800/per season. Added to that the travel costs of going to 14/15 out of 19 home games and I've racked up quite a lot of money, approximately 1200-1600 per year for flights. Accommodation was free (thankfully) as I stayed at my grandads and friends places when I was over.

If I was to include the Liverpool games I went to then its easily £2000+ per year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,972 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

On this season's A-League season I've spent around $6k to watch 18 games in five different states across Australia.

Going to the Grand Final in Brisbane at the weekend probably cost me $2k alone :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,529 ✭✭✭✭cson

Waiting for someone to say €30/month for the Sky Sports sub :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

cson wrote: »
    Waiting for someone to say €30/month for the Sky Sports sub :pac:

Not even. Mammy pays the sub. I follow all your teams for free from the comfort of my own home ;) She also pays for internet. LONG LIVE MAMMY

Food and drink? MAMMY
    Accomodation? MAMMY

Don't attend any games as I'm usually playing at the weekend myself. That and I'm a lazy tight asshóle. Usually tip up to Croke Park for a game of football once a year but that's not soccer related...runs me €70 a year if you want to know though :P

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

As a Leeds fan the biggest costs have been my dignity and whatever shred of optimism I still clung on to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,546 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Over the past few years I would say about 3k.

This year so far about 80 quid

EVENFLOW

Xavi6 wrote: »
    On this season's A-League season I've spent around $6k to watch 18 games in five different states across Australia.

Might be better off learning to fly a helicopter :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Just having a discussion in the Barca Chelsea match thread and something came up on the costs of following the clubs and was wondering how much does it set you lads/ladies back ?

Last 3-4 years Ive spent over 6K on Flights , over 4 K on accom and over 3K on match tickets ,

( before people jump in on this , my dad collected every Jersey for me from 83 when I was born till I had my own pocket money/allowance about the age of 15/16 and its something I would like to keep doing for when ever I have a nipper , He /she will have no choice but to be blues fan :eek: )

Does it cost less supporting the likes of Liverpool or Utd as there is such a massive fan base and usually a lot of you going over so there is deals on coaches / flights or is it the same .

Depends really.

I'd say every year for the past 8 years since I've been 18 :

Chelsea Membeship x 2 + Magazine Sub = £57

Jersey (long sleeve jersey and print) + Shorts = €90

Merchandise (training tops, track suit tops ) = €50-100

Tickets : £100-400

Accom : £50-200

Flights : €100-400

A conservavtive estimate would be about €400 a season if I go to two matches.

Upper estimate would be €1200-1400 a season if I went to 6-8 matches.

Well worth it though and the best thing about being a Chelsea fan is the central location in London. Plenty of Airport options and local transport. I always go Heathrow and straight on the tube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Going to the Grand Final in Brisbane at the weekend probably cost me $2k alone :o

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSQVM8JM8NY6OXvti15eFAmN1qELJu6PDfkl0yELBPbKTOg_6uW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

London is a much easier place to fly to than Liverpool so the price of flights is generally cheaper in my experience because I'm not near Dublin.

I don't go as often as I used to with a growing family but I'd hate to put a figure on it because I'd be certain I'd be genuinely shocked if I totted it up.

I used to go to at least 10 home games a season but now I'm lucky to make it to 4.

I only usually buy one jersey for myself nowadays but my kids have jerserys too so it is expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Plastic flags are free! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Last season:

€100 season ticket. Approx €54 on match programmes at €3 per home match.
    €240 on Maroon Army membership.
    An average of €10 into around 15 away games plus travel/drink costs that are hard to put a figure on.

None of your flights to home matches or visas for away matches in Uzbekistan!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

What about the bank accounts of the same two people who were at the Krylya Sovetov away game and the Shakhtar Karagandy away game :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

About 20-25 quid to go see the Bohs. Would be cheaper but I like those chips.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

There's a guy sits near me at SJP who's from Tokyo, attends every home game, costs him Stg£2,500 a game:eek:

I thought I was bad working out at 3-4k a season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭n32

Old Trafford season ticket approx EU600
    roughly 8 home games and maybe 2 away games per season
    flights and accommodation roughly EU1800
    Food/drink etc god only knows

sitting in the stretford end in february when evra trolled the **** out of liverpool ......priceless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭doncarlos

Jasus, you must be snorting coke of hookers boobs! Would love to hit a few games with you sometime! :D

n32 wrote: »
    Old Trafford season ticket approx EU600
    roughly 8 home games

What happens to your seat for the other games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭n32

stovelid wrote: »
    What happens to your seat for the other games?
    Sell it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

Where To wrote: »
    There's a guy sits near me at SJP who's from Tokyo, attends every home game, costs him Stg£2,500 a game:eek:

I thought I was bad working out at 3-4k a season.

Hero!