Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone have or been to wedding in Moyvalley?

• 23-04-2012 10:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭

Me and my partner have been to see Moyvalley and have been very impressed. We knew about their financial difficulties before hand and they were very upfront about it when we visited.

They offered us a great package but our only concern is the quality of the food and drink. We have heard some very good reports but also some bad one to but this was mainly down to slow service from people who had their reception in Balyna House.

We are planning on having our drinks reception in Balyna House and our meal in the Hotel. We would really appreciate any feedback people have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Kev.

Send me an pm with your questions,I got married there...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

I love it there too:) the only reason we did not go for it was because it is a winter wedding and the place can be impossible to access in the ice and snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,365 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Was at a wedding there last month. The house is gorgeous for the drinks reception but really the hotel for the meal is the better call.

The food was typical wedding menu (turkey & ham or monkfish iirc). I had the turkey and ham and it was fine. Nothing to lavish praise on (as is the case with most wedding meals really) but you couldn't fault it. (TBH, outside of Village at Lyons and their €120 a head menus I've not heard of anywhere doing exceptional food for weddings!)

I wasn't drinking as I was driving up that morning and back that night but the lads were telling me the Guinness was decent (a big thing for me and my fiancée in choosing a venue). Overall I'd recommend it. The house for the reception adds a nice touch of class and there's fantastic locations for photos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Buzz84

Kev. wrote: »
    Send me an pm with your questions,I got married there...

Pm sent

Sleepy wrote: »
    Was at a wedding there last month. The house is gorgeous for the drinks reception but really the hotel for the meal is the better call.

The food was typical wedding menu (turkey & ham or monkfish iirc). I had the turkey and ham and it was fine. Nothing to lavish praise on (as is the case with most wedding meals really) but you couldn't fault it. (TBH, outside of Village at Lyons and their €120 a head menus I've not heard of anywhere doing exceptional food for weddings!)

I wasn't drinking as I was driving up that morning and back that night but the lads were telling me the Guinness was decent (a big thing for me and my fiancée in choosing a venue). Overall I'd recommend it. The house for the reception adds a nice touch of class and there's fantastic locations for photos.

Cheers for that we'll defo be having the meal in the hotel as we'll have abou 250 guests. We'll also be having the drinks reception in the House but just trying to work out weather we'll rent out the whole house and the rooms or just have it for the drinks reception.

Main thing for us is the food, drink and the party. We're not expecting michelin star quality just decent grub

You should be more than happy with the food then, I certainly enjoyed my meal and the wine seemed to be flowing very freely ;)

I'd definitely just use the house for the drinks reception unless my fiancée fell in love with a bridal suite in the old house or something along those lines. It's beautiful but it's just not as well equipped to deal with a wedding as a purpose built hotel.

You should be more than happy with the food then, I certainly enjoyed my meal and the wine seemed to be flowing very freely ;)

I'd definitely just use the house for the drinks reception unless my fiancée fell in love with a bridal suite in the old house or something along those lines. It's beautiful but it's just not as well equipped to deal with a wedding as a purpose built hotel.

Thanks very much for the info was the function room in the hotel nice? I didnt get to see it yet set up?

How did you find the service i.e waiting long for a drink?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭clint_silver

Buzz84 wrote: »
    Thanks very much for the info was the function room in the hotel nice? I didnt get to see it yet set up?

The hotel room is fine for a function. As you walk into the room the top table is facing you, theres a dance floor put down on the right with the band playing down the room facing the bar.

Staff are really nice there.

The function room was fine, quite well laid out.

The table service was excellent but I have to admit, on the particular night I was there, the bar staff were a bit of a shambles (one girl sent to change a keg came back drenched, the more senior barman decided to just leave the tap off until he could sort it out himself, seemed very poorly organised). I tend to be very critical of bar staff as I do a bit of bar work myself. That said, it could have been a one-off, I've had nights myself that have been a total comedy of errors as well!

The function room was fine, quite well laid out.

The table service was excellent but I have to admit, on the particular night I was there, the bar staff were a bit of a shambles (one girl sent to change a keg came back drenched, the more senior barman decided to just leave the tap off until he could sort it out himself, seemed very poorly organised). I tend to be very critical of bar staff as I do a bit of bar work myself. That said, it could have been a one-off, I've had nights myself that have been a total comedy of errors as well!

Cheers for that sleepy , you've helped ease the fears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 adub

hi i too am considering the hotel. went to meet lana in oct last year and she showed us round, gave us details etc but it was hard to see what it would be like for a wedding as the place was ghostly empty - worrying at the time!, however the packages kept me interested, and it is ideally located for both of our families and loved the bridal cottage - best of both worlds i think. we would be having 80-100 and hoping for the drinks reception in the house - if there's no wedding there that day she said we could have it - and then the meal in the hotel. however i went again last week to show my dad who was just back from abroad for a few days. didnt want to meet with lana as only wanted to give him quick show around but anyway, the whole area was alive with activity from bar people setting up areas to people cutting the grass and cleaning. i was very pleased to see all of this - as i had heard it's a nama hotel and was a bit worried about the upkeep. i then met lana and she showed us the function room in the hotel again and told us there was a wedding in the house the next day and the hotel the day after, and weddings every weekend for most of the year - very impressive! the function room was set up - yay! and had tables of 12 (too big i.m.o) and they had about 10-15 tables so prob for a wedding your size. the things i noticed were the chair covers (cream/beige but v good quality), silverware/glasses (lovely), table linen (lovely again), but the things i love the most about the function room that you get free is the fairy light backdrop behind the top table (i think usually about 200 euro to hire!) and the colour light scheme to match your colour theme which really sets the room off. one thing i would be worried about in the hotel though i that with the room set up for that big of a wedding, some of the tables to the very left were quite a bit away from the the top table. also i am worried about people going into the other bar as it has the balcony which some of the heavier smokers in the family will retire to (prob by 10pm!!) any other moyvalley brides have any advice on this?

sorry for the rant - ye just wait till after my wedding it will be a minute by minute account ha!!:D

adub wrote: »
    hi i too am considering the hotel. went to meet lana in oct last year and she showed us round, gave us details etc but it was hard to see what it would be like for a wedding as the place was ghostly empty - worrying at the time!, however the packages kept me interested, and it is ideally located for both of our families and loved the bridal cottage - best of both worlds i think. we would be having 80-100 and hoping for the drinks reception in the house - if there's no wedding there that day she said we could have it - and then the meal in the hotel. however i went again last week to show my dad who was just back from abroad for a few days. didnt want to meet with lana as only wanted to give him quick show around but anyway, the whole area was alive with activity from bar people setting up areas to people cutting the grass and cleaning. i was very pleased to see all of this - as i had heard it's a nama hotel and was a bit worried about the upkeep. i then met lana and she showed us the function room in the hotel again and told us there was a wedding in the house the next day and the hotel the day after, and weddings every weekend for most of the year - very impressive! the function room was set up - yay! and had tables of 12 (too big i.m.o) and they had about 10-15 tables so prob for a wedding your size. the things i noticed were the chair covers (cream/beige but v good quality), silverware/glasses (lovely), table linen (lovely again), but the things i love the most about the function room that you get free is the fairy light backdrop behind the top table (i think usually about 200 euro to hire!) and the colour light scheme to match your colour theme which really sets the room off. one thing i would be worried about in the hotel though i that with the room set up for that big of a wedding, some of the tables to the very left were quite a bit away from the the top table. also i am worried about people going into the other bar as it has the balcony which some of the heavier smokers in the family will retire to (prob by 10pm!!) any other moyvalley brides have any advice on this?

sorry for the rant - ye just wait till after my wedding it will be a minute by minute account ha!!:D

Thats great info about the room thanks. Lana told us that for a big wedding that they usually move the top table to the top of the room so its facing the bar.

I wouldnt worry to much about the smoking area as by that time the band will be on.

Going here next week to have a look at it set up for a wedding if all goes well more than likely putting a deposit on.

bump

How'd the visit go? Did ye book it in the end?

The visit went very well seen the room set up and it looked very good. Meant to paying the deposit this week but I want a few more things added to our package before we sign. Have heard others are getting good bit more than us so i want to make we get what we are looking for.

In fairness though i havnt done much haggling yet but i will now especially since are having it on a Thursday and will have over 250 guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Babooshka

The visit went very well seen the room set up and it looked very good. Meant to paying the deposit this week but I want a few more things added to our package before we sign. Have heard others are getting good bit more than us so i want to make we get what we are looking for.

In fairness though i havnt done much haggling yet but i will now especially since are having it on a Thursday and will have over 250 guests.

Hi

Please can you let me know how your wedding went (if you had it yet?) as this is somewhere I would consider initially. Have yet to plan a visit there but would love a run down. You can PM me if you want to, which would be fab :) Thank you.

Babooshka wrote: »
    Hi

Please can you let me know how your wedding went (if you had it yet?) as this is somewhere I would consider initially. Have yet to plan a visit there but would love a run down. You can PM me if you want to, which would be fab :) Thank you.

Now we havnt had it yet but there is an open day on March 10th, you should go get to taste the food. Its a great venue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Babooshka

Now we havnt had it yet but there is an open day on March 10th, you should go get to taste the food. Its a great venue.

Thanks for that :)