Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Corkagh Park Races

• 23-04-2012 4:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭

Anyone know what format these races will take? Has anyone had a look at the track yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

Is there a registration process? Limited to 100 riders.

Is it a handicapped crit like affair like the mondello races?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

Anyone else in the bunch for racing this today? Fantastic facility, lovely surface, great for zipping through bends, but bloody tough to race on with the wind the way it was today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭lalorm

Yeah I was there. Turned up just to take a look and see if I wanted to race the A4 race. Found out that the times were changed so had to leg it back to the house to get the bike. Almost busted a lung getting back. Made it in time and started with the A4 bunch. The wind was strong out there. No shelter and no let up at all. When the A3 breakaway caught us I tried to say with them but started to get stitches again. So hung in for a while and then called it a day. Should have stuck with it since I don't think there were many A4's left by the end. In fact, it didn't look like there were many A3's left either. The track isn't bad. Nice and smooth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

I think there were only 3 a4s finished. I was 3. absolutely great craic. savage track. loved it. can't wait for the next race there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

Why so few finishers, were you eliminated from the race if you were dropped?

I don't think so. it was supposed to be A separate a4 race, but by 12 there were only 7 of us signed up so they ran a3/4 as a cp - we got about half a lap headstart, around lap 8 3 a3s bridged over and past us and blew a4 apart.

I think there were around 12 or so a4s started the race. I guess its easy to quit a race like this, you're going past the gate every minute 40 seconds or so.

Great track for a start - the surface is smooth and grippy (it was dry for us), and the bends aren't too severe, so you can get a line through them while still turning the cranks if you want. But no shelter, no hiding in the bunch, just an all out sufferfest, with some technical handling for the bends.

From the off the A4 bunch was lead out by mostly Orwell, and one Lucan (lalorm?), and another guy in black, though I don't think he was Dublin Wheelers. Every time we hit the wind, the line would go to pieces, and we couldn't get a smooth up and over going while pacing through the corners. Three A3s got us after ...I don't have a clue. We did 26 laps. I'll say after eight laps. kenmc was on the front, and caught their wheel as they went by. I tagged onto his wheel, and I have no idea what was going on behind me, but I think at least a long-haired Lucan guy came too. The three A3s pushed and pushed, I just hung on for dear life. Took a turn at the front when I could, but paid for that, was shelled after eight laps maybe? Did 2 or 3 laps in no man's land, until the A3 bunch swallowed me up with 4 laps to go.

At that point their pace had eased - there was no way of catching the breakaway, and nobody was chasing. So I sat in, recovered, and took off my rainjacket 'cause the commissaire kept shouting that he couldn't see my number. Couldn't see any A4 numbers in the bunch, so didn't try contest the sprint (it would've been for sixth place anyway). Unplaced A4 - result! The breakaway A3s stayed away and took the top three places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭leopard trek

whens the next race lads ? Sound like a nice track..

Next edition is 12th May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭tawfeeredux

How does it compare to Mondello? I mean length, surface, exposure, technical, etc?

This in on this weekend (Saturday) again. What time did the racing start the last day Buffalo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

i might be interested in doing this. any more details on the a4?

last time we (a4) were supposed to start @1, on our own. By 11:50 or so there were only 7 A4 riders signed on, so they ran us with the A3s as a CP, starting around 12:15
    Hopefully if we get enough on Saturday we'll have our own one this time

Mmmm, a little late for my liking maybe. Flight clearance might prove problematic. Turbulence issues I'd imagine, as I'm missing most of Sunday marshaling at the Shay Elliott.

what sort of distance kenmc?

lennymc wrote: »
    what sort of distance kenmc?
    Was marked as 45mins + 1 lap, we ended up doing 35mins + 5 laps, worked out around 28km.
    Was bloody windy on the main straight!

Thanks Ken. Ill see if ill do this.

What kenmc said. :)

edit: also, looks like the Wheelworx Orwell Ladies Crit League will be holding a round there the same afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

My names in the A4 hat for Saturday, would be great if we had enough for a separate race

In case anyone hasn't seen it - two handicapped races again:

This Saturday the 12th, Corkagh opens for business again for seniors in the various categories. The organisation intends running events for A1&2, A3&A4, both races are combined.. Each event will be limited to 100 cyclists. NOTE it is 100 riders per event AND not 100 OVERALL. South Dublin CC are the organisers and the contact is Mick Lawless 087-2503114 Various Start Time – Sign-0n,from 10am Venue Corkagh Park 11.00am .

well turns out i made an agreement a few weeks ago to fit some doors in return for buying new wheels, so wont make this tomorrow :(

You DO know that you can fit doors ANY time, don't you? On the other hand, you can only race when there's one organised.

@kenmc - ill try explaining that when I get home :) ill be out sunday in dunsany anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Did you get the wheels already? If you did, then you've already kept your end of the bargain.

RT66 wrote: »
    Did you get the wheels already? If you did, then you've already kept your end of the bargain.

I like your thinking! :)
    I do have the wheels, but i think i want a power meter hub, so i better do them.

I like your thinking! :)
    I do have the wheels, but i think i want a power meter hub, so i better do them.

I'll mind the new ones you just got, and you get the powertap ones. She'll never know the difference.

kenmc wrote: »
    I'll mind the new ones you just got, and you get the powertap ones. She'll never know the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭25sean

trying to get some definite times for sign on/start...

Doing the A3 race..

Is it the A1/2 race at 11, and A3/4off at 12? can you sign on just before... ?

thanks

25sean wrote: »
    trying to get some definite times for sign on/start...

Doing the A3 race..

Is it the A1/2 race at 11, and A3/4off at 12? can you sign on just before... ?

thanks

Don't take it as gospel, but last session yes, it was quite a casual sign-on. Odds are it'll be A3/A4 off at 12, with signing-on 'til about 11.45. Or maybe later. I'm heading down around 11.30 anyway.

perfect.. race about an hour all in is it?

sounds high octane...

25sean wrote: »
    perfect.. race about an hour all in is it?

sounds high octane...

Last time it was 35min + 5 laps, so about 45mins.

absolutely perfect.. see you there.. thanks

I rang the number but the man at the other end is on his holidays abroad. Was there one day licenses the last day, Buffalo?

oooooh, I don't know actually. You could chance your arm... I presume that was Mick Lawless you were trying to get on to? Maybe see if you can get a hold of someone else in SDCC?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Rofo

Plastik wrote: »
    Was there one day licenses the last day?

Did anyone find an answer to this one?

I didn't. I called the number, text the number, searched the SDCC website for another contact and sent them a message on Facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

one day licences are allowed at all racing barring national championships or if a promoter uses an online registration facility I assume.

I am sure that Corkagh park will accept 1 day licences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

Great fun, thanks to all the organisers. Highly recommended. Fast, safe, fun and doesn't take a huge check out of a Saturday.

You only need to brake or stop pedalling if other lads get in your path. Very hard to get away, I felt a bit sorry for the two lads out in front for about 5 or 6 laps when they got pulled back. My one lap (lurch?) of glory off the front nearly resulted in my getting dropped my the bunch the following lap. More power required.

That "easy" drag somehow turns into a draggy drag on the last lap..
    The ladies finished with a picnic prizegiving, now that's the job - bring on the summer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Rofo

I went along and got a one day license. It's a brilliant facility. As a newbie (to racing and to Corkagh) my take is that it's about bike handling skills and maintaining your position in the group, so you don't have to chase back on after every bend. Raced for half the distance before getting dropped up the ever steeper home straight drag... Learned a lot and met a load of boardsies - kenmc, oflahero, joker77. A morning well spent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭J Madone

Well done to Buffalo on getting first unplaced A4 today, tough race!

Good fun out there today, nice track with a lot of grip through the corners. You can really pile in with a lot of speed if you have a little room and trust in your tires. Finished 10th overall and was the 3rd A4 over the line!

I'm really loving these races. To explain a point raised earlier, I'm still A4 for the moment. I thought my 2nd place a few weeks ago had earned me five points, and an upgrade. I raced A3 last weekend, and found out two days later that I'd only gotten two points, 'cause the race was under 50km. So I'm still A4 for another three points. Apologies for any confusion, you may point and laugh now.

But I was happy to defend my A4 'title' on Saturday, was a tough race, and so hard to get away from the bunch. The wind is such a huge factor. I didn't realised how close Bray Wheelers 228 was to pipping me on the line. I was marking the other A4s, but started my sprint from way too far out (as always), and had lost most of my kick by the time I hit the line. kenmc's photos say I placed 6th overall, so I'm ready for A3, whenever I get there!

Fair play Buffalo, certainly no hiding out there from the wind regardless of whether you were in the bunch or not, it was always there. With your result in the A4 race yesterday you're obviously in great form and won't be long moving up!