Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which Lather should i Use

Options
  • 19-04-2012 10:57pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭

I just changed from a Gillete Mach series to a Merkur Progress, so im a complete novice

I was using the foam Gel Shaving cream , but just wanted to know what folks here would recommend , if i should not be using a foam shaving cream

Do i have to use a Shaving brush and if so what type should i try any help please ,

thanks

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Canned shaving foam or gel tends to not offer all the benefits of using a shaving brush and soap/cream.

A good shaving lather will soften the beard before shaving, protect the skin during the shave and leave the skin in a good condition post-shave.

I have yet to find any canned shaving cream/gel that can offer all of the above at a high level - especially on the protection front.

A shaving brush not only helps apply the lather, it also helps lift the hairs pre-shave and exfoliates the skin.

My recommendation would be to pick up both a brush and a traditional shaving cream. Proraso creams are popular when starting out as they
    are easy to lather.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,922 ✭✭✭dodzy

faolteam wrote: »
    I just changed from a Gillete Mach series to a Merkur Progress, so im a complete novice

I was using the foam Gel Shaving cream , but just wanted to know what folks here would recommend , if i should not be using a foam shaving cream

Do i have to use a Shaving brush and if so what type should i try any help please ,

thanks