Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marriages

• 19-04-2012 4:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭

Just wondering if it was a common practice in the 1700's and 1800's for the marriages to take place in the brides parish. I know when my parents got married in the 70's that was the done thing, they got married in my mothers parish and not my father's, just curious?? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Waitsian

binxeo wrote: »
    Just wondering if it was a common practice in the 1700's and 1800's for the marriages to take place in the brides parish. I know when my parents got married in the 70's that was the done thing, they got married in my mothers parish and not my father's, just curious?? :rolleyes:

Good question, I've often wondered this myself. It's common practice today afaik, but was it always so? When did the tradition begin? My great-grandparents were married in Newry (he was from Bessbrook), even though she was from near Cootehill, and they returned to Cavan to live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭binxeo

Hopefully someone will be able to shed some light on the issue.

I've tried doing some basic research online into this matter and can't fix an exact date when or why this started (marrying in bride's parish) but apparently (I'm not at all religious and am quite ignorant of even Catholic traditions and sacraments, Catholicism being my parents' religion) a woman marrying today in a Catholic church needs permission from her own Parish priest to do so in another parish. Does that mean it isn't mere tradition, but necessary under Catholic law?

I've just come off the phone to my mother, who is looking through a copy of the Catholic Catechism for a Canon law on this subject, who has informed me that she herself had to send for (what's known as) a 'Letter of Freedom' from her Parish priest. She was from South Armagh and was married in Canada. She seems to think it is to do with verifying that one is indeed able/free to marry, although why it's only applicable to a woman I don't know.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,707 Mod ✭✭✭✭pinkypinky

Letter of freedom was not just for women - I know anecdotally of men needing it too. It was just for when people were marrying well away from home and the church wanted to verify they weren't already married, and that they were RC.

The marrying in the woman's parish wasn't hard and fast, especially in cities but it is generally done as far back as I've looked into family trees, which is 18th century as well as 19th.

Genealogy Forum Mod

So we can't find anything within Canon law as regards this issue, so it must just be a tradition that marriages where possible take place in a bride's parish. Or maybe it just saves arguments! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭mrkdips

letters of Freedom are needed for both partners if they do not live currently in the parish they are getting married in. My husband (from Meath) had to get a letters of freedom from his parish priest up there but because we both lived in cork we both had to get letters of freedom from our local parish church.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

Marrying in the bride's church happens across the Christian religions I think. It may be possibly just because a man would have been seen as 'taking to himself a wife', which means he takes her from her family and her parish to his family and parish, like the question 'do ye want to be buried with my people?' kind of thing. However, the woman has never been seen as 'taking to herself a husband', she would just have been 'wedded and bedded'. My only suggestion is to go to a priest, minister, pastor, etc., and just ask.