Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Footballer intentionality misses Peno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭SuprSi

Fair play to him I say. This result hasn't yet cost them relegation as they still have other matches to go, and there's no saying what would've happened if he'd actually scored the penalty anyway. It's not often you see something like this and it's nice to know that unbegrudging sportsmanship still exists in football, even if this wasn't at the highest level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Stupid of the defender to handle the ball in the first place. Kick it as far out of play as you can and then look for help for the player. I suppose the other player didn't have much of an option other than to miss it really. He'd have been in some bother if he tried to score. Good sportsmanship.

Also that ref looks suspiciously like Howard Webb. He wouldn't be the best at judging a penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Justin10

You serious? The player was clearly injured to the head. The ref wouldnt stop the game.

I wouldnt expect anything else to be honest. They didnt deserve the penalty clearly the player just stopped the game because of the injured player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Could he not have kicked it out of play? Was very naive of him to pick up the ball. I understand his team- mate had gotten seriously injured but surely he could've kicked the ball out in some way.

I suppose it depends on the time of the incident really and the circumstances of the game. Easy do it early on when it's still 0-0 than late in the match when you are trailing or level, and fighting relegation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Disgraceful stuff from the ref.

He wasn't even booked for the handball.

Didn't Yakubu do something similar from the penalty spot against Liverpool recently? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

This is probably my favourite of these type of fair play goals/misses. The look on the face of the clown from Ajax was brilliant.

Bloody hell, they're allowing them score and still the opposition player nearly kicks it straight out for a goal kick. He was lucky his team-mate kept it in. It's bad enough when you almost can't score against the opposition who aren't even trying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Always nice to see little glimpses of dignity in the game.

Interesting to see if this would have happened in the EPL, or as a previous poster pointed out, later on in the game, match hanging in the balance etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Sportsmanship at it's finest, disgraceful from the referee though, clearly a head injury which could have been serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Rochey18 wrote: »
    You serious? The player was clearly injured to the head. The ref wouldnt stop the game.

I wouldnt expect anything else to be honest. They didnt deserve the penalty clearly the player just stopped the game because of the injured player.

It was idiotic of him to just catch the ball like that before the referee stopped it. Good intentions but very silly, he could have just booted it out. Fair play on not trying to score though.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,479 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Paulo Di Canio in 2001 was probably the greatest act of sportsmanship I've seen. Amazingly, this happened in injury time and it was 1-1. Could have easily taken the ball down, put it in the back of the net and gotten three points.
    Probably one of the only times PDC got a standing ovation from the opposition fans at the end of a game :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Fair play to him I say. The lad obviously had a serious injury and the ref should have halted the game before it got to that point.

From the defenders point of view, he probably didn't care about giving away a penalty with such a potentially dangerous injury. I don't understand why a physio has to be summoned onto the pitch when injuries are treated as the match goes on in a lot of other sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,016 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Poor form from the ref. Any suspected head injury calls for a halt in play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Too many referees take the easy option in these cases, and wait for one of the Players to kick the ball out. It's not good enough, and it puts pressure on the other players to judge if an injury is serious, while play is going on.

The Referee should have blown up long before the ball went into the box.

Fair play to the Dungannon Player Manager - he did the right thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

That is so refreshing to see, yer man deserves huge credit for that.

The referee should have stopped play because of a head injury, but one he didn't, did he have any alternative but to award a penalty?
    I think he has to give it. It's unfair, but i don't see how he has any alternative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

alproctor wrote: »
    That is so refreshing to see, yer man deserves huge credit for that.

The referee should have stopped play because of a head injury, but one he didn't, did he have any alternative but to award a penalty?
    I think he has to give it. It's unfair, but i don't see how he has any alternative.

Agreed.

There is so many bad things about sport in general that it's nice to read these kind of stories the rare time they happen.

People have forgotten what playing the game is all about, competing and winning by being the better team. Diving, trying to get players booked and using every little advantage (like injured opponent) is just the cynical part of the game that we grow up thinking its ok.

Sport is never supposed to be about winning at all costs, anybody who says otherwise simply does not understand the Concept of good sportsmanship.

In truth, the game would be much better and more satisfying if this kind of incedent was the norm rather then the exception.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Stupid of the defender to handle the ball in the first place. Kick it as far out of play as you can and then look for help for the player.
    cgpg5 wrote: »
    Could he not have kicked it out of play? Was very naive of him to pick up the ball. I understand his team- mate had gotten seriously injured but surely he could've kicked the ball out in some way.
    Corholio wrote: »
    It was idiotic of him to just catch the ball like that before the referee stopped it. Good intentions but very silly, he could have just booted it out. Fair play on not trying to score though.

Dafuq? The lad was only trying to do the right thing, something we could do with more of in the game. He was not stupid, idiotic or naive. His gesture was considerate and should be applauded not criticized. The penalty taker did the right thing. I know some people will win at all costs but a hollow victory has never given me satisfaction.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

Dafuq? The lad was only trying to do the right thing, something we could do with more of in the game. He was not stupid, idiotic or naive. His gesture was considerate and should be applauded not criticized. The penalty taker did the right thing. I know some people will win at all costs but a hollow victory has never given me satisfaction.

Surely it's just as easy kick it out though, than pick it up? I'm not blaming the guy in any way, lovely to see him looking out for his teammate, but to say it wasn't naive is wrong, sure didn't the protagonist himself say that he was naive in what he did? Technically the penalty taker was not obliged to miss. Was a lovely gesture for him to throw it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

Kudos to the player involved, the ref has had a shocker though

Head injury = stop play. There is a reason the rule exists, a head injury cuold potentially be fatal

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

cgpg5 wrote: »
    Surely it's just as easy kick it out though, than pick it up? I'm not blaming the guy in any way, lovely to see him looking out for his teammate, but to say it wasn't naive is wrong, sure didn't the protagonist himself say that he was naive in what he did? Technically the penalty taker was not obliged to miss. Was a lovely gesture for him to throw it though.

Obviously I don't know what was going on his head but maybe he felt it was the quickest way to get the game stopped or by catching it, he guaranteed that the game would be stopped as if he miskicked the ball it could've stayed in play or hit a striker and lead to a goal-scoring opportunity, so many variables.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.