Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Inside the .... yeah, you've guessed it... Titanic..

• 16-04-2012 9:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭

This looks like a bit more of a scientific analysis of the Titanic.. Kind of like when they go to Bressie on The Voice.. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I bet it isn't as good as Titanic 2 that I saw 10 minutes of last week on the SyFy channel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I bet it isn't as good as Titanic 2 that I saw 10 minutes of last week on the SyFy channel.

Are you sure it's crap... the cover of the DVD box looks really good:confused:
    Titanic2dvdcover.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

ejmaztec wrote: »

Is that the one with Dick Van Dykes grandson in it?....Granddad must have paid for it.....let's put it this way....I don't see any Oscars heading their direction...:D

Don't think that is the same one JA....It def. was Titanic "2"..not "II"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

TIT A NIC !

Is that the one with Dick Van Dykes grandson in it?

I'll keep my eyes peeled for a chimney sweep singing and dancing cheerily as the ship sinks..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I'm actually liking this, I think it is interesting :o

I'll keep my eyes peeled for a chimney sweep singing and dancing cheerily as the ship sinks..

That young fella (DVD jr.) is painful to watch......like the idea of the chimney sweep though.....:D

Wasnt that guy playing Bruce Ismay in Emmerdale ? (after he survived the sinking of course :pac:)

I'm losing my Sky signal because of the heavy rain :(

This fella and his leg have me cringing here......:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

This is quite good actually!

This fella and his leg have me cringing here......:(
    I'm afraid to look.

I'd be very tempted to drop the mammy and grab the sister and girlfriend and run!

It's done in more of a Seconds From Disaster type of way... I like it too.. Not sure the dramatic bits work so well...

btw, this is the Seconds From Disaster of Titanic, so we all have something to watch after (in an hour :eek: )

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I'm afraid to look.
    I find the clips with the young children very hard to watch :(

There is a lot to be said for travelling by plane, at least in a crash it is all over pretty quickly.

I often thought what it must have been like for passengers in 9/11 while the plane was heading for the Towers....It must have seemed an eternity but yet happened so fast as you say....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭An Riabhach

All this hype about The Titanic in the last few weeks is really putting me off-most of it has been nothin I don't know already.

If anything,it has made me more curious about the plight of The Lusitania-a liner comparable to The Titanic in size,stature and speed.While the circumstances in which The Lusitania sank are completely different-having been shot at by a German U-boat-I think this was much more tragic,simply because it sank in less than 20 minutes,with a much larger loss of life and much less chance of survival.The Lusitania,which sank off the coast of Cork,is a tragedy which not enough has been said about-I don't remember any documentaries or films made about it,and I've never seen footage of it lying underwater.The same lack of attention could be said for the greatest maritime mystery of them all-The Mary Celeste.

Siúl leat, siúl leat, le dóchas i do chroí, is ní shiúlfaidh tú i d'aonar go deo.

I'd say it must be very difficult for the survivors of the Costa Concordia to watch all these Titanic programmes.

I'm actually loving it Seasan. I remember when Robert Ballard wrote his book on the discovery (late 80's?) the thrill of actually looking at the wreck....I think the tragedy of a Maiden Voyage vessel sinking and the complete lack of regard for the "steerage" passengers etc. actually changed the way of a Society's thinking....not that it did the poor souls any good...they were treated so badly by WSL in the aftermath...

But you're right...The Mary Celeste....now that would be a good story..

I'd say it must be very difficult for the survivors of the Costa Concordia to watch all these Titanic programmes.

The Captain of the Costa Concordia has found a way to help him deal with the trauma..

Hot+Girls+Drinking.jpg

No women and children first there MrsD007 by all accounts.....:(

Don't understand how the crew were so badly trained....they have to have so many tickets nowadays it's hard to believe they were not on the ball....

The Captain of the Costa Concordia has found a way to help him deal with the trauma..
    He may as well enjoy himself while he can as he will be spending a few years behind bars for his negligence.

If they chop off this lad's leg....I'll have to go to the remote.....:(

....all ok....sort of......

I should have never watched that Ugly Betty thing on youtube.. I can always spot the green screening.. I've marked it out below..

titanicgreenscreen.jpg

Lads, I'm not sure about ye but I have a feeling I will be making a dash for the lifeboats tonight in my dreams nightmares.

It reminded me of the hallway in The Shining JA!

Lads, I'm not sure about ye but I have a feeling I will be making a dash for the lifeboats tonight in my dreams nightmares.

I'm lifting the feet off the ground in case they get wet here MrsD007!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

Suffering Titanic Fatigue Syndrome at this stage, up the north apparantly its twice as bad, Titanic from morning to night, almost every day.

I think this is a cracking documentary.

It reminded me of the hallway in The Shining JA!

I've no idea what you're talking about.. ;)

titanicgreenscreen_1.jpg

Those kids gave me the creeps....never liked twins after that........or snow.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

The chief designer of the Titanic had a lisp. That's unthinkable!

murpho999 wrote: »
    The chief designer of the Titanic had a lisp. That's unthinkable!

Murpho999....more believable than "unsinkable"!!...

Please spare a thought for the chief designer of the Titanic trying to say "This ship is unsinkable.." He'd be like Dermot O'Neill on the Husqvarna adverts..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

13233715775.jpg

murpho999 wrote: »
    13233715775.jpg

FACEPALM:D

ps.:rolleyes: Dermo should have gone for Black and Decker....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Are you sure it's crap... the cover of the DVD box looks really good:confused:
    Titanic2dvdcover.jpg
    Is that the one with Dick Van Dykes grandson in it?....Granddad must have paid for it.....let's put it this way....I don't see any Oscars heading their direction...:D

Don't think that is the same one JA....It def. was Titanic "2"..not "II"

Yep, that's definitely the one, I only remember that Bruce Davison was in it. They obviously spent more on the DVD cover than they did on the film. I would have watched less than ten minutes but it took some time to find the remote.

I'm actually loving it Seasan. I remember when Robert Ballard wrote his book on the discovery (late 80's?) the thrill of actually looking at the wreck....I think the tragedy of a Maiden Voyage vessel sinking and the complete lack of regard for the "steerage" passengers etc. actually changed the way of a Society's thinking....not that it did the poor souls any good...they were treated so badly by WSL in the aftermath...

But you're right...The Mary Celeste....now that would be a good story..
    Well I suppose our heads are turned every time the story of The Titanic comes up-especially when we continue to hear how badly the whole situation was handled.

I doubt we'll ever see a movie of The Mary Celeste-seeing as it is still not known what,how and why it happened;and of course,no actors would be needed.....

Has there ever been a movie made about The Lusitania?Almost 100 years on and the sinking is still surrounded by controversy

Siúl leat, siúl leat, le dóchas i do chroí, is ní shiúlfaidh tú i d'aonar go deo.

Mostly documentaries I think Seasan, National Geographic is about the best I could do...Maybe the Boardie's could oblige??.....:)

I think it would make a very interesting movie,Grey.I've seen a few documentaries but not nearly enough,so I hope that something will be shown on the 7th(i think) of next month,which will be the 97th anniversary of the sinking.

Is it true that all the bodies recovered from The Lusitania are buried in Cobh and Kinsale??

Seasan wrote: »
    I think it would make a very interesting movie,Grey.I've seen a few documentaries but not nearly enough,so I hope that something will be shown on the 7th(i think) of next month,which will be the 97th anniversary of the sinking.

Is it true that all the bodies recovered from The Lusitania are buried in Cobh and Kinsale??

I heard that bodies washed ashore were often buried outside graveyards as their religions were often questioned....I researched one case myself and, in due course, the graveyard was extended outside the initial grave as we became "more tolerant" in out attitude to the unfortunate soul...

Indicative of the time....unfortunately...have you a maritime background?....RTE2 have a reconstruction of the enquiry atm...

I heard that bodies washed ashore were often buried outside graveyards as their religions were often questioned....I researched one case myself and, in due course, the graveyard was extended outside the initial grave as we became "more tolerant" in out attitude to the unfortunate soul...

Indicative of the time....unfortunately...have you a maritime background?....RTE2 have a reconstruction of the enquiry atm...

No maritime background at all-but very interested in many historical events;including theories,misconceptions,what different people say,how they are depicted in movies etc.

I absolutely hated how the movie of the Titanic was centred around a fictional love story-it sort of took away from the huge tragedy that it was.Apart from that,it was a great film to watch.

A minor misconception is that The Titanic and The Lusitania were sister ships when in fact they weren't.Both ships were very similar but they were from 2 great rival companies-White Star Line and Cunard Line respectively.

I just feel that-when compared to the disaster of The Titanic,the story of The Lusitania will always take a back seat-which in my opinion was a much greater tragedy in comparison,based on how the events unfolded;how the ship had 2 explosions,how quickly it went down,how even the lifeboats were of little or no use as they apparently were capsizing while being lowered,and how the chance of survival would have been between slim and none.

Seasan wrote: »
    No maritime background at all-but very interested in many historical events;including theories,misconceptions,what different people say,how they are depicted in movies etc.

I absolutely hated how the movie of the Titanic was centred around a fictional love story-it sort of took away from the huge tragedy that it was.Apart from that,it was a great film to watch.

A minor misconception is that The Titanic and The Lusitania were sister ships when in fact they weren't.Both ships were very similar but they were from 2 great rival companies-White Star Line and Cunard Line respectively.

I just feel that-when compared to the disaster of The Titanic,the story of The Lusitania will always take a back seat-which in my opinion was a much greater tragedy in comparison,based on how the events unfolded;how the ship had 2 explosions,how quickly it went down,how even the lifeboats were of little or no use as they apparently were capsizing while being lowered,and how the chance of survival would have been between slim and none.

Ditto on many points....The Cameron film was such nonsense, the characters wrecked my head but the reconstruction was amazing....looking forward to the Belfast trip to see the staircase alone!!....The Lusitania never captured the public's imagination but you never know with the film industry...I have read several books on the Lusitania and it was a grim story...If it goes wrong at sea.....(not going to use any puns!).....Watched the investigation tonight but would love to read the transcript now as I never really looked at the aftermath other then the treatment of the "poorer" passengers and crew..WHL was too busy trying to do damage control....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

Mostly documentaries I think Seasan, National Geographic is about the best I could do...Maybe the Boardie's could oblige??.....:)

The hit.. i mean the history channel had a show on called "The NAZI titanic"
    about that big german ship that got sunk during WW2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Just watched "Inside The Titanic". Shows what no hype, some semi-decent acting and some decent camerawork can do. Boat still sinks though, which is a bummer.