Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Query regarding my gf's 10k potential...

• 16-04-2012 1:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭

As it says on the tin, i'm just wondering if anyone would have an insight as to my girlfriends potential.
    She ran the great spar run in just under 42 mins yesterday. She's 30, and she does NO specific training.
    She never did athletics as a kid, but took up going to the gym about 3 years ago. For the past year she's been going to spin in the gym twice a week, and runs once a week for 20mins at a rate of 14kph on the treadmill. For the 2 weeks before the GSR she wasnt able to run at all with work - it was just the 2 spin classes, and i went for a 'run' with her a couple of times, though i just hold her up tbh. She did the minimarathon last year as well.
    Does anyone have any indication of what her potential would be if she took up running with a running club, and did regimented training?
    I totally appreciate that everyone is different!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 477 ✭✭brutes1

Only 55 women in results sub 42 so she is in good company there .
    Joining a club she should be well able for sub 40 min and better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,377 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Very good time that for a girl with no real running background. Surely with dedictaion and specific training in running she could break 40 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

That was a great time for a novice.

Sonia O Sullivans 10k road record is 30:59 so if she put in a bit of effort Id say she could get to within a few mins of that.

To give her some idea of other times here.

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?page_id=113

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Sonia O Sullivans 10k road record is 30:59 so if she put in a bit of effort Id say she could get to within a few mins of that.

Ah here, let's not go nuts with this!

To the OP, sounds like she has a bit of talent which needs nurturing. We have a Kiwi girl in my club in Melbourne who only took up the sport last year. She was running 39-40 mins for 10K during the winter road racing season last year but has since come on in leaps and bounds and has run 2:13 for 800m and 4:54 for the mile, and finished 16th at the Australian Champs over 1500m last weekend. So huge improvements can be made for sure.

Talent is one thing, but to find out how really good she is, she needs to put in the work and needs to listen to a knowledgeable coach and do everything he/she says. And she has to want it. No point in speculating about potential greatness and then not doing the work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭brianiac

thanks for everyones input - though doubt she'll worry Sonia anytime soon!
    Indeed it is up to her - though she can be pretty determined so hard work wouldnt bother her at all. It was more aimed at finding out what gains could be expected as well as how much extra work/training would be required. At the moment she does approx 3 hours a week (2x45min spins, and the 20mins on her own), then the odd 45minr jog with me. I've no idea of the training routines used - i know there's probably a multitude available - any suggestions as to trusted and reliable sources?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

If she wants to get faster at running, she should drop the spin sessions, add runs, and join a club for some proper coaching and training sessions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭SeanKenny

Its a very good run. Where are you based so that we could suggest some clubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

RayCun wrote: »
    If she wants to get faster at running, she should drop the spin sessions, add runs, and join a club for some proper coaching and training sessions.

No harm in using spinning for cross training. Its a great work out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

No harm in using spinning for cross training. Its a great work out.

It's fine for crosstraining, but not at the expense of running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭brianiac

Lucan atm, but moving to Cork for a year. She's interested in joining a club, but spare time is a little limited. She'll have a peek when she moves down. A running club is the way to go really. Thanks for the input.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

RayCun wrote: »
    It's fine for crosstraining, but not at the expense of running.

If she is able to knock out a 42min 10k with limited actual running training then there is good potential there. Swapping the spinning (whatever that may be) for some running can only improve the running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭marchino

As already said but, its a very good time for a lassie who has no running backround and only
    a base fitness. Fair play.
    Join club, get advice, up mileage, do speed sessions and she'll be in the top 20 in ireland-
    senior ladies, ROAD,TRACK AND COUNTRY. with expected improvement.
    The womens category is wide open compared to mens, so a 36 min 10k would really make waves.
    A 33 minutes mens wouldnt really in comparasion of standards, altough its great going.

Its unlikely that will ever happen for her though IF SPARE TIME IS LIMITED, people are too busy with work and work and never get to reach there potential because, there too concerned with work there whole lives and then die haven never lived.
    Thats in general.

I hope her determination wins through.
    Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

Move X miles from where she works / studies and run home everyday instead of driving or the bus. There is always time. Move somewhere where there are good places to run ?

She just would have to be more organized. Just wondering why she is not posting herself on here ?