Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rás Dhun na nGall 2012

• 15-04-2012 9:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭

http://fourmasterscycling.com/contents/en-us/d141.html

The Four Masters Cycling Club, in conjunction with the Nesbitt Arms Hotel, the Ardara Town Traders and The Dealer.ie, has just announced that the 2012 Ras Dhun na nGall three-day stage race will take place in Ardara, Co. Donegal on the 1st , 2nd and 3rd of June. Online entry and an accommodation list are now available on the club website, www.fourmasterscycling.com

The fee is €50 per person, rising to €55 on 12th May. The race is open to A2 and A3 riders. Entry closes on Friday 25th May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Only 5 more days to avail of the Early bird entry for Rás Dhun na nGall. On 12th May the entry fee will increase to €55.00. Its only €5.00 but you might as well keep it in your pocket. So get registering now. Rás Dhun na nGall 2012

entries close in 45 mins ;)

good luck to the 120 riders registered to ride tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Don't think there's any of the Swords lot in it.

Go n-eirí an bóthar libh go léir san fhód is alainne ar aghaidh an domhain (beidh an bóthar ag eirí gan amhras!). Ádh mór ar honkjelly go hairithe. Ná fág aon rud ar an mbóthar, a chara.

Sorry about the Irish. I can't think about Donegal in English!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

I'm heading up with Diarmuid. First official A3 race, I have a similar sense of foreboding as I did before Ras de Cymru last year. Sure we'll see how it goes. I know a pile of people up that way, so have to try get on the front for a bit on the last day. :D Looking forward to Glengesh, in a masochistic sort of way.

Go n-eirí an bóthar libh go léir san fhód is alainne ar aghaidh an domhain (beidh an bóthar ag eirí gan amhras!). Ádh mór ar honkjelly go hairithe. Ná fág aon rud ar an mbóthar, a chara.

you want to put that into google translate :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Trousers Hanley, Michael Snake in my.

That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Good luck to Raam, Buffalo and Diarmuid too so. If there's any more of you, you can wish yourselves good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭smithslist

tough event, good luck to all.

I see there's an world champ bound rider riding as a A3/J....one to watch and bound to make it hard for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Mr. Grieves

What a way to make your A3 debut, buffalo! Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭tawfeeredux

Good luck to everyone headin to this. It's tough race alright but a super one to be part of. Great atmosphere in the town too for the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

I'm just glad someone can use the phrase "go n-éirí an bóthar libh" properly. If you can pronouce all that as we would I'll make you honorary citizen of Tír Chonaill.

@ I'm on about, "May the road rise to meet you" is a miss translation of the Irish. It's BS)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭dermur

I'm just glad someone can use the phrase "go n-éirí an bóthar libh" properly. If you can pronouce all that as we would I'll make you honorary citizen of Tír Chonaill.

@ I'm on about, "May the road rise to meet you" is a miss translation of the Irish. It's BS)

Who was that Scottish group that wrote an entire song around that mis-translation? Memory's going....Big Country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Fr D Maugire

First stage finished in a bunch sprint but was pretty snappy from what I heard, 42.5kph average allegedly so not too tough this evening!!! I think it was a Phoenix club rider(Stewart??) who took the win.

Oh yeah, another beautiful evening in Donegal. We had great weather for the An Post Ras so hoping for the weather to hold over the weekend.

First stage finished in a bunch sprint but was pretty snappy from what I heard, 42.5kph average allegedly so not too tough this evening!!! I think it was a Phoenix club rider(Stewart??) who took the win.

Oh yeah, another beautiful evening in Donegal. We had great weather for the An Post Ras so hoping for the weather to hold over the weekend.

i make it 42.7 km/h average (52.1 km in 1hr 13min 20s)

yep stewart phoenix 1st, clarke cycling ulster 2nd, kenny navan 3rd

first 99 in same time

cycling ulster report

http://cyclingulster.com/?p=9019

Tá an ghrian ag scoilte na gclocha anseo i Dhun na nGall!

Happy enough with last night - no epic suffering or anything, was more like a club spin. Consistently in the pointy end of the bunch, though went off the front pretty pointlessly around the 40km mark.

This morning's TT was tough stuff though, reckon I lost a bit of time on the flat first section, felt good on the climb. Came in around 7.55, best time noted at that point was 7.03. So I'm not winning yet! :p

Only complaint is lack of 3G coverage where we're staying, but think I've found the spot now. Good marshalling, well marked route, and plenty of spectators cheering us on. :) This afternoon is 80km, and tomorrow the queen stage of 100km with Glengesh finish. We'll see how that goes...

Both my camera and stopwatch decided to pack it in at the finish line so no photos or times confirmed:(. So this is mostly guesswork, about 4-5 riders finished approx 20-30 secs in front of the main bunch. I think it was Conor Clarke from the Ulster team who won but not 100% sure. I think the yellow jersey was also in the break.

There were about 50 riders in the main bunch. I was surprised that it didnt split up more as it was a rolling stage. Pretty much the entire bunch arrived at the Corkscrew(main KOM) together which I was surprised at. I only met one small group lagging behind on my way back into Ardara.

Scenery today could be best described as rugged and sometimes otherwordly. Typical Donegal.

Cracking race today! Started a bit badly for me, thought we were leaving the village in the opposite direction, and was at the back of the bunch. Then couldn't fecking clip in for about ten seconds, so starting at the very back. Moved up bit by bit, stayed near the front again. A break went early, maybe 20km in? 4/5 lads. I got up the front, attacked, caught, sat second in the line on a UCD wheel and waited for the next attack. Two lads went, I tried to grab their wheels, but UCD closed me off, and it was gone. Fruitless bit of chasing, back to the bunch.

Attacked at the hairpin before the middle KOH with the white jersey. Between descending and climbing, moved up a bit, but didn't get away. Nice bit of suffering up the second KOH, didn't get dropped. Ended up going up the road with 3 other lads for about ten minutes, but we weren't strong enough to chase down the breakaway. Yellow jersey and another lad went past us then, but had given too much to latch on to them. Bunch caught us then, sat in for a bit.

Last KOH, start climbing. Lad in front of me drops his chain, I hear it fall, but he doesn't call the mechanical. Swerve around him, cursing him. Then I drop my chain. fuuuuuuuuuucking karma. MECHANICAL! Pull off to the side, lash it back on by hand, bunch has gone past. Climb, climb, climb, back on by the bottom of the descent.

It says something about the amount of people who are actually racing that I was fairly swiftly on the front again. Did a turn after a CRC guy, pulled over. Errigal rider didn't come through. I'm not pulling the bunch along, pace drops. Here come the attacks! Kept near the front all the way back into town, wish I'd studied the stage finish a bit better - was uphill which suits me. But couldn't work my way through the bunch quickly enough. Probably top 15 in the sprint, but the breakaway stayed away. Not sure yet if the yellow jersey caught them, or if he'll hold the jersey. Before Stage 3 he held all three jerseys!

Looking forward to tomorrow, hoping everyone else's legs will be more tired than mine! :D But really enjoyed today, definitely the kind of racing I love.

i'm wrecked not even riding !

out the door at 8am to mark the course :rolleyes: (mind cheated an did some on the way home tonight)

yep hambrook still leading (but was outsprinted by ulster cycling's clarke)

GC
    hambrook 3h 28m 58s
    clarke 3h 29m 09s
    smyth 3h 29m 19s

mountains now led by mckee from team crv

cycling ulster has stage 2 TT pics
    http://cyclingulster.com/?p=9056

brief stage 3 report

despite being labelled stage 4 (must have been some beer drunk last night)

http://cyclingulster.com/?p=9047

gotta go !

cracking day , didn't rain, got everyone home safe, some crowds out

Well done to Four Masters CC on organising another great edition of the Ras Dun na nGall. Great to see so many people at the finish on Glengesh today. A horrible but good way to finish a tough race. The weather held up well this year.

Coming from the back of the team car!
    Well done to Four Masters CC on organising another great edition of the Ras Dun na nGall. Great to see so many people at the finish on Glengesh today. A horrible but good way to finish a tough race. The weather held up well this year.

Likewise - well marshalled, great routes, encouragment on the roads, amazing scenery (not that I saw much of it) and the weather held thankfully.

For me, today's stage could've gone better, but not much - pretty happy. I have a few friends who live around the 30km mark (second KOH), so rode aggressively up to then, wanted to make sure I got in any break that went. All I succeeded in doing was wearing myself out, and the bastards didn't even get out of bed in time to see me go by!

A break went, I think while things were lined out after the second KOH, I was struggling myself. There was a bit of a headwind/crosswind, and I was hanging around too far back in the bunch. Thankfully no wheels were dropped, and I stayed on.

Hung around the front of the bunch for the next while, starting approaching the third KOH, which was close to where we were staying. Was hoping to get some points on our 'home' climb, but with a six man break... got on the front anyway, pushing hard to stretch the legs. UCD were complaining (they had a man in the break), but got on with the job at hand. One SDCC rider went away a bit, but led the bunch over the KOH line for my little bit of self-indulgent "glory". Pace kicked up a bit then, few attacks. Of course I was wrecked, and had to let a sizeable group of 20 riders go by. Killed myself to get back on, with the help of another ten lads.

Phoenix got on the front then, chasing hard to get the break, along with Zaidan (teammate of the yellow jersey). Myself and SDCC guy sat in behind, and as we approached Ardara for the last time there was one lad up the road. Jumped to him, two of us descending through the town together. Far side hit a bit of car traffic that wasn't moving fast enough. He dropped back, I pushed on, hoping the climb would kick in soon and I could make the most of my gap - about 10k to go. An SDCC caught me, and came past, bunch closing, still pretty flat.

All the jersey holders were at the front of the bunch I think, they got me before the road started ramping up. Sat in behind, holding close to the front. Glengesh loomed before us then, ominous. Just tried to match my pace to the jersey group, stay with them. The switchbacks were killers though, the gradients were insane. I remember looking up at these people standing about forty feet above my head, and that was 50m down the road around the corner. I wanted to cry at one point, but dug deep to keep going. Not sure where I finished at all. I was more interested in gulping down water donated by a friendly spectator. :) Hopefully in the top 20, might jump a few GC spots.

All in all, great weekend. It's a well-run race, and I recommend it to anyone, especially to anyone who fancies themselves a climber. I often feel like I have fantastic potential, then I remember that I'm essentially just packfill in these races. :p There's a great buzz around town as well, so even if your cycling doesn't go well, you could have a grand aul' time in Ardara! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Sr. Assumpta

Well done buffalo!! ....... ' bet you can't wait for Ras 2013 now? ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭fran83

Just a quick note te deteck riders are actually South Dublin Cycling Club! They are only a part sponsor this year!

fran83 wrote: »
    Just a quick note te deteck riders are actually South Dublin Cycling Club! They are only a part sponsor this year!

Ah, beg pardon Fran. Good riding today - you beat me on Glengesh in the end! :) edit: sorry, was a clubmate of yours.

PS I know the feeling, I got shouts of "go on Dundrum!" on the climb.

buffalo wrote: »
    fran83 wrote: »

Ah, beg pardon Fran. Good riding today - you beat me on Glengesh in the end! :) edit: sorry, was a clubmate of yours.

PS I know the feeling, I got shouts of "go on Dundrum!" on the climb.

He had a good ride today the wkd he finished 9th overall in the end!

The racing was so negative tho. It was a shame coz it's well ran and the weather was excellent.

Final GC results are up - http://fourmasterscycling.com/contents/en-us/d160.html

Damn pleased with that as a first A3 experience (Frank O'Rourke excepted!). I'll be back next year if they can promise the same weather! :p

And aye Fran, very little co-operation, but sure that's racing sometimes. The A3/A2 bunch isn't all that different from A4 after all! :D

edit: beaten to it. But at least now I can sleep.

Damn pleased with that as a first A3 experience (Frank O'Rourke excepted!). I'll be back next year if they can promise the same weather! :p

aaaah now that could be a problem

Final GC results are up - http://fourmasterscycling.com/contents/en-us/d160.html

And aye Fran, very little co-operation, but sure that's racing sometimes. The A3/A2 bunch isn't all that different from A4 after all! :D

edit: beaten to it. But at least now I can sleep.

I think racing with the A1/A2 is a lot easier coz it's not stop start all the time but that's just me.

Well done on the wkd. Sure will c ya on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭honkjelly

That's one helluva tough race. I knew there wasn't a flat road over 4 stages but I just wasn't prepared for the short sharp climbs on top of short sharp climbs on top of..Didn't have many matches to play with by the time I got to glengesh.

The organisation and marshaling was top notch so a big thank you goes to four masters and all the people who supported the event - you just can't beat a load of motorbike outriders to keep a big bunch nice and safe.

Well done buffalo on a great ride. If the conveyor belt keeps on rolling how many Ras teams will Orwell have in 2015!?

Thanks for the best wishes (i think) manwaithaplan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭ryan_sherlock

And the race from a women's perspective: http://melaniespath.blogspot.ie/2012/06/ras-donegal-take-two.html

Mel loved it and was 'raving' about it all week.