Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clontarf v St. Marys College RTE2

• 14-04-2012 10:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭

Not sure if its been mentioned but the match is live on RTE 2 at 1.00pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

Players to look out for anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

For Tarf, Collie O'Shea at centre is in the academy and has a couple of senior starts. Decent player, not sure he's going to go all the way but is stand out at this level. Barry O'Mahoney at openside played for Munster A last weekend. Ship has sailed for him probably but he's a very good player. Be interesting to see if the likes of Des Merry or Tadhg Furlong get some game time in the front row. Noel Reid will probably be on the bench too after his 20 minutes last night. Simon Crawford and Killiant Lett have both played for the AIB international side in the past. Strong back row for Clontarf with Frank Cogan, former Con player, at 8 too.

Don't know much about the Mary's side outside of their contracted players. Plenty of talent on show though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Bah.. Thought I could stream this from RTE.ie... Any updates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

.ak wrote: »
    Live tracker here is pretty decent
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/ail/2012/0414/317067-live-rugby-clontarf-v-st-marys/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

Clontarf 0 - 3 marys. Been all tarf so far hammering on marys, but their ddfence has been solid. Marys lookin dangerous when they have possession. Tarf in for a converted try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

You can, I'm doing it right now. http://www.rte.ie/live/

D'oh! Thanks.

Interesting that Reid isn't taking the kicks. Is he usually GK for Tarf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

It's torture to listen to the commentry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

What a try.

Fantastic try.

Reid got burned...

Great try.

Interesting that Reid isn't taking the kicks. Is he usually GK for Tarf?

No. Richie Lane has been knocking them over from all angles and distances for years. Having a very bad day at the office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭TomLamp

Great try from Hudson

Christ lovely step by hudson. Where was the defence?

Atrocious effort from Lane. You'd need a heart of stone not to feel for Clontarf if they don't win it this year.

Bah turned away for a minute and missed it. Good try?

Took it well but weak try. Kick allowed to bounce in Clontarf defence, Hudson gathered and ran it in from about 35m.

Hudson in again, cmon tarf!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Lane is having a nightmare out there. Come on 'tarf get the finger out!

Great control and discipline. Game on. Vindication for going down the line. I knew as soon as Ward criticised the decision it was the right call.

Tarf need a change of kicker...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

GerM wrote: »
    Atrocious effort from Lane. You'd need a heart of stone not to feel for Clontarf if they don't win it this year.

Not really, half their team was brought in from various Cork clubs, St. Mary's seem to be a fairly homegrown side but I stand to be corrected on that.

Somebody explain how that is a turnover ball, clontarf clearly going forward...

Not really, half their team was brought in from various Cork clubs, St. Mary's seem to be a fairly homegrown side but I stand to be corrected on that.

Tarf have five players from cork in their senior squad, not exactly "half their team".

Really what players?
    I count 3 players but I don't know Clontarf so much.

Lane, Cogan, Ryan, O'Mahony and Cronin are all from Cork if i'm not mistaken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

shoutman wrote: »
    Lane, Cogan, Ryan, O'Mahony and Cronin are all from Cork if i'm not mistaken.

O'Mahoney is from Limerick but played for Dolphin in Cork for a good few seasons.

Marys down to 14, mark sexton off, 5 mins,to go. 5m scrum to tarf.

They're the unluckiest club in AIL history and have been on the receiving end of other sides putting out very strong sides with plenty of imported players in the past in the end of season games on more than a couple of occasions.

shocking from Noel Reid. He looks like a skeleton how is this lad in the physical shape to play pro rugby?

Balls!

Complete lack of cohesion in from Tarf. Why on earth they didn't keep it in the forwards in the last 10 minutes when they were on the Mary's line I don't know. They were clearly stronger up front but didn't play to their strengths. I don't like to say it but Richie Lane was a major culprit on the day. Excusing the missed kicks which are part of the game, he was shocking for Hudson's two tries. He's a big bloke for a full back. He must be about 6'3" and 15 stone but was walked through for both tries. Can't believe that Tarf are going to go another year without a title. Ridiculous when you actually think how close they have been on about 5 occasions since the turn of the century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Gracelessly Tom

Just back from the match. Well done Marys!! :D:D Unbelievable game, the lads defence at the end (and throughout) was immense. After so many years of effort this squad deserve today. Hopefully they'll finish the job next week and secure the title.

G'wan Maro's!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

i was saying before the game that if the marys pack got parity up front their backs would win the game, they didnt get parity but their defence sucked up everything we threw at them and 2 fluffed clearance kicks resulted in trys.

Fair play to Marys though, devestated to lose (again at final hurdle) but Marys are a great side and always produce classy back lines who score trys out of nothing.

Barry O'Mahony gets a lot of deserved attention but once again Clontarfs main players were Lett and Crawford. in 3 seasons with tarf i dont think lett has ever been tackled by one man and his try was typical of his power carrying 3 lads over the line. he's as good as a lot of centres playing rabo12.

as an aside, the Marys coach didnt exactly endear himself to the home crowd by petulantly pointing to the score board at the end of the game after getting in a huff for being asked to move off the pitch during the game as he was blocking the view for the crowd behind him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

GerM wrote: »
    They're the unluckiest club in AIL history and have been on the receiving end of other sides putting out very strong sides with plenty of imported players in the past in the end of season games on more than a couple of occasions.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but this is league is far from over ? 1 game left each. Anythig can happen.

liammur wrote: »
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but this is league is far from over ? 1 game left each. Anythig can happen.

It can but the odds have gone from being stacked firmly in favour of Tarf to firmly in favour of Mary's. Would be a serious surprise if both Mary's losing at home and Clontarf winning away happened next weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,979 ✭✭✭✭phog

Marys have to beat Young Munsters, at home I know but it's not a gimme. I've no idea how Lansdowne are playing but the top of the table may not be finalised just yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

phog wrote: »
    Marys have to beat Young Munsters, at home I know but it's not a gimme. I've no idea how Lansdowne are playing but the top of the table may not be finalised just yet.

I saw Lansdowne againt Young Munster a couple of weeks ago and they were cracking.....played some very good rugby, and scored 6 (?) superb tries. My dad has been to their last few matches, and all the matches before the Young Munster were the same.
    I went down to the Belvo V Lansdowne match after the Tarf V Mary's match, got to Angelsea just before the second half kicked off, and Lansdowne were very poor. So who knows what team will turn up next weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

phog wrote: »

Cant see YM's beating Mary's, YM's play 10 man winter rugby, not suited to hard ground and definately not suited to playing a mary's back line than can score from anywhere.

Hudson left Castle avenue in an ambulance, hope he's ok. Great player there, might need to do a fionn carr and head to Connacht to get game time.

Egh, hope Hudson is okay. One for the future allright. I'd even think we'd see alot more of him in the Leinster setup next year.

Lansdowne are missing key players due to the injury mind you, can't see them beating Mary's either...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Gracelessly Tom

bamboozle wrote: »
    as an aside, the Marys coach didnt exactly endear himself to the home crowd by petulantly pointing to the score board at the end of the game after getting in a huff for being asked to move off the pitch during the game as he was blocking the view for the crowd behind him.

I doubt he'll lose sleep to be honest. ;)

Think it's crazy they ask a coach to move from the sideline so that a few in the crowd can see. They are there to watch the match and support the teams. The teams, and by extension the coaching panel, are not there to satisfy the supporters and their viewing position.

Having been on the end of some awful abuse on the sideline in Castle Avenue myself I can understand his annoyance and emotion getting the better of him at the end of the match.

As for the league, far from over. Still need to put in the performance this Saturday, the Cookies would love nothing more than to spoil the party and they'll be going all guns balzing into the match on Sat.