Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Season Ticket

• 13-04-2012 12:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭

Im weighting up my options as to whether buy a season ticket for Leinster for next season. Just wondering does anyone have any ideas/suggestions as to where would be the best place to get one for i.e if you go for the "cheaper" tickets for the North or South stands your liable to get soaked when it rains or would the atmosphere there make up for it?

Also what benefits exactly do you get for becoming a member of the official supporters club?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

wawaman wrote: »
    Im weighting up my options as to whether buy a season ticket for Leinster for next season. Just wondering does anyone have any ideas/suggestions as to where would be the best place to get one for i.e if you go for the "cheaper" tickets for the North or South stands your liable to get soaked when it rains or would the atmosphere there make up for it?

Also what benefits exactly do you get for becoming a member of the official supporters club?

Best atmosphere is the terrace, cheapest option too.

Drawback of the North/South stands is getting drenched but also the fact that it's unreserved seating. I'm not sure about the atmosphere, tbh, I sit in the grandstand.

The 'supporters club' send you a leinster scarf and a few discount vouchers, but really there's not much to it, the real benefit is getting access to tickets for the away games and such. The supporters club also have a bar at the RDS and they run occasional events like Q&A sessions with some of the players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I'd agree the best atmosphere is in the Terrace, but I'm not sure if there's still tickets available there. It tends to sell out quick enough due to the fact it's so cheap. Give it a shot though. Not too sure about the other areas as I've only ever been on the Terrace really.

The OLSC benefits are pretty much as totallegend outlined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭armchaircoach

I've sat at a few places in the RDS. If your not tall then the terrace is just looking at the back of peoples heads, and even if you are, gives a great view of a small bit of the pitch, and at best an ok view of the rest.

The Angelsea stand will keep you dry (apart from the holes), but the pillars can get pretty annoying.

I've a south stand ticket, (i'm going to assume the same things apply to the north stand). You get a pretty good view of what's going on, so long as you sit at least halfway up. but its still hard at times to see exactly whats going on at the other end. However I like watching rugby end on, you get to see a different perspective than you get from tv. The south/north stands however are wet, so if you sit there then a good fleece and set of waterproofs is essential (and often a wee hipflask of something to pass around)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,448 ✭✭✭ongarite

Season ticket holder myself in the North Stand Terrace.
    Its cheap, has good atmosphere but you are likely to get soaked if its lashes which it didn't this year so far. If you prepare for the weather you can't go wrong.

Got to sit in the Angelsea Stand for the B&I cup game last Friday and the view was great. It was top tier but its costs over twice as much and has those massive pillars which can be in your way sometimes. You are sheltered from the wind and rain though.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,951 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Benefit of south/north stand is that if friends accompany you to odd game you can sit with them as it is unreserved seating.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

First time as a Season ticket holder myself and been in the terraces for it. Wind / Rain isn't too much of a problem if you've got a good coat and sure they give you a decent enough scarf as a gift. :)

Usually try to stand near enough to the 22, and a decent enough view from there. Now if only Madigan will stop scoring all those tries in the corner by the grandstand. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

I have had four seasons in the North stand. If play is at the far end, it can be hard to see, and it can also be hard to see on the big screen. But the atmosphere is great, and most of the time the view is good. Unreserved seating is useful too; as pointed out by another poster, if you have friends along, they can sit with you. Also, if you have someone making obnoxious comments near you (which has only happened once or twice to us, but has happened), you can simply move. As for getting wet, I can only remember one really bad soaking and one fairly bad wetting, in four seasons. It can be cold, but you just wrap up. I think it is great value, and have bought my season ticket for next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

ongarite wrote: »
    Season ticket holder myself in the North Stand Terrace.
    Its cheap, has good atmosphere but you are likely to get soaked if its lashes which it didn't this year so far. If you prepare for the weather you can't go wrong.

Got to sit in the Angelsea Stand for the B&I cup game last Friday and the view was great. It was top tier but its costs over twice as much and has those massive pillars which can be in your way sometimes. You are sheltered from the wind and rain though.

The only time it rained heavily last year was the Ospreys game. Mostly the weather is actually pleasant. It's a toss up between a trip to Bordeaux and a season ticket for me at the minute...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Timothy Bryce

Terrace all day long - great craic, plus you bring in a bag of cans for yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Grandstand. Best combination of shelter/view/price imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭wawaman

Cheers everyone, the terrace seems to be the general consensus alright. Although had never even considered bringing your own cans in !! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Although had never even considered bringing your own cans in !! ;)

I hadn't either, until I saw some lad at it in the Aviva for a game a year or two ago. Wouldn't have it any other way now! Beats paying €5.50 a pint, plus you're not annoying people getting up for drinks (though I tend to pick end row seats if I'm drinking at a game so I'm not pissing people off going to the toilet if I have to).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

Plus in the terrace you can follow the play to the other end at half time, as your ticket gets you into the north and south terrace..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭armchaircoach

hadn't thought of cans, will think about it tonight:D

We've only had one or two proper "soakings" in the south/north stands over the past 2 years. But its always a good idea to steal a bunch of bog roll to dry off seats.

The only other thing is that for 2 chunks of the year you're looking directly into the setting sun from the south terrace, but I suppose this really falls under the category of "first world problems"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 ca25

Have always bought my beer in there...should've copped on quicker! Has anyone had any hassle bringing in their own drink?

Not at all, the security guard even takes our empties..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

The Terrace is by far the best atmosphere and is covered by the roofing also, it is also the cheapest option, but it's standing (obviously) and there is some obstructed viewing (but not as bad as some people would make out).

The North / South stand is a good option as it's unreserved seating and very reasonably priced, so if your mates come along to the odd game and aren't season ticket holders, but by per game they go to, you can still all sit together, the view is very good too, especially the more towards the back you go. As you say though, uncovered seating, so if it rains you get soaked, but having spent a couple of season there, you'd be amazed how little it rains at the games, I've been drenced a couple of times, but for 90% of the time there's no problem.

If you were going for the posh seats, I'd definitely recommend the Grand Stand ahead of the Anglesea stand. Anglsea is full of the prawn sandwich brigade and atmosphere isn't great, but also there is some restricted viewing from up there, and the Grandstand is far better imo.

For the money you pay though, I think a Leinster season ticket is the best value for money for what you get for any form of entertainment in the province.

You get 11 regular season home games in the Pro12, 3 home Heineken Cup games, and you get first preference tickets for away games and for the knock out games in both competitions, and you can buy up to 4 or 6 tickets for the games, so for a Heineken Cup quarter / semi / final, you can get tickets for you and your mates no problem through Leinster, same for Pro12 semi and final.

You also get a nice gift package of a Leinster scarf, calendar, badge, car sticker etc.

And the two matches in the aviva are always great craic, cause you get to know the folks around you..

Though if i ever meet that fecker in the lower south stand who continually shouts "llllllleeeeeeeiiiinnnnnnnsssstttteeeerrrr" regardless if noone else is singing....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 ca25

Squ wrote: »
    Not at all, the security guard even takes our empties..

Good to know! Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,448 ✭✭✭ongarite

Squ wrote: »
    Plus in the terrace you can follow the play to the other end at half time, as your ticket gets you into the north and south terrace..
    Really!! Are you sure you can do that? 3 years as season ticket holder and never moved ends to follow attacking end.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,353 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Hoping to get a terrace ticket myself, but i've to wait a week or so before buying it. Hopefully they'll still be available.

ongarite wrote: »
    Really!! Are you sure you can do that? 3 years as season ticket holder and never moved ends to follow attacking end.

We were going to the north terrace only for ages, till one of the lads was looking at his ticket and the only reason we were going there is, it says enter via Anglsea Road Gate E. North Terrace is the first one you come to.

Ticket is for Anglsea Terrace, doesn't say north or south.

Kiith wrote: »
    Hoping to get a terrace ticket myself, but i've to wait a week or so before buying it. Hopefully they'll still be available.

They're available since 2nd April, one of the lads got one during the week.

http://www.leinsterrugby.ie/seasontickets/about_season_tickets.php

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,353 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I've to wait for my bank balance to slightly increase before getting it though :P

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,096 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

Have been in the middle of the grandstand for the past 3 years. Good atmosphere there and the view is great. I've never been in the terrace before but it looks like good craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

vienne86 wrote: »
    I have had four seasons in the North stand. If play is at the far end, it can be hard to see, and it can also be hard to see on the big screen. But the atmosphere is great, and most of the time the view is good. Unreserved seating is useful too; as pointed out by another poster, if you have friends along, they can sit with you. Also, if you have someone making obnoxious comments near you (which has only happened once or twice to us, but has happened), you can simply move. As for getting wet, I can only remember one really bad soaking and one fairly bad wetting, in four seasons. It can be cold, but you just wrap up. I think it is great value, and have bought my season ticket for next season.

Yeah I've had the season ticket for about 4 years in the North Stand and bought individual tickets for the north stand for years before that and I can only remember one game where we got wet.... Surprisingly lucky. As long as you have a good waterproof coat you'll be grand...