Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thinking altezza or scooby wagon

• 13-04-2012 1:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭

Thinkin bout gettin altezza or a scooby wagon during the summer
    I like the altezza the shape and comfort of them and quite quick but I'm lookin online and the ones for sale are lads sayin 220bhp but that's when they fresh from factory they lost loads of them horses Over the years so what brake are they now days
    I like the scooby wagons wrx loads of room for the dog and bringing campin gear huntin gear etc they fast and solid but man the juice disappears in them and can be hot cars for gettin stroked
    What would yas suggest honestly
    I hoping for either around July

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 538 ✭✭✭little big planet 2

i would say scooby wagon the altezza has a skanger image now and if you get a second hand one you can be sure has hell that it has been recked by some young lad going out diffen with the lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭pdiddy

if your thinking altezza check out tezzaworld.com,plenty of lovely tezzas there for sale that have been maintained perfectly and not driven into the ground

ones advertised as 220bhp would be about 170-180 here due to the difference in petrol,there are some that have turbo kits fitted to them and these are running well over 300 bhp with dyno readouts to prove but these are rare as f**k

they are a lovely car to drive,very comfortable,but i wouldnt buy one off donedeal for 2 grand cos there wrecked

like the saying goes you get what you pay for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I know I Havint seen a turbo one in ages rare is right
    What ya think bout the scooby tho
    Not always great lookin most in bad way but sound from that exhaust is something else
    Was thinking an Evo aswell but I remember givin a mate a hand put Evo 5 engine into gsr and had nothin but trouble with it
    And seen Evo 6 on m50 yesterday gettin put on a truck
    Lovely cars but like u said everything had been driven **** out of in Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

You could always look for an Altezza wagon.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The sportcross don't come with the Yamaha engine though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

colm_mcm wrote: »
    The sportcross don't come with the Yamaha engine though.

No, but IMO the straight 6 engine is a much nicer engine in every day use. It has much more low down torque then the beams 3sge and not very much difference in HP on the dyno. 6 cylinders run between 150 and 160 hp, 4 cylinder beams rarely make 185-190.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The 6 cylinder is pretty slow though to be fair. The rs at least has a higher rev limit, it's. 100kg lighter and has different gear ratios.

Not a fan of the rs or anything, but you wouldn't buy an IS200 for performance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭eg6 vtec

having drove both on a day to day bases i'd pick the scooby wagon hands down, dont get me wrong the tezza is a great car but it just felt empty compaired to the scooby, petrol wise its down to your driving style i use my wagon alot and prob use 60 -70 on petrol a week

now the only problem i have with the wagon is insurance, its just about impossible to get coverd with most places, mine is a uk import and i had to prove this to AXA as they said it was a jap import and dont insure them, that was a pain but i got sorted with a not so bad quote

if you want more info on any sort of scooby log into ttp://www.isdc.ie/discussion/ for all you need to know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭barney 20v

Up until last week i was having the very same problem as the op... i decided to go for the impreza as it is so much more car for the money.
    I bought a 01 wrx . Its standard apart from a cat back and i have to say it is very easy to live with day to day.
    Mpg wise its how you drive them.. i'm still in the honeymoon period so to speak but the subaru is not too much worse on petrol than my mk 4 gti 1.8t. subaru ftw!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 318 ✭✭chris139ryan

barney 20v wrote: »
    Up until last week i was having the very same problem as the op... i decided to go for the impreza as it is so much more car for the money.
    I bought a 01 wrx . Its standard apart from a cat back and i have to say it is very easy to live with day to day.
    Mpg wise its how you drive them.. i'm still in the honeymoon period so to speak but the subaru is not too much worse on petrol than my mk 4 gti 1.8t. subaru ftw!
    really my impreza is a complete nightmare for the juice, what you getting for a tank.

to the op i would go for a subaru any day of an altezza, far nicer car to drive and live with