Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Third generation footballer

• 12-04-2012 12:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭

16 year old Ben McLaughlin, who has played in Dundalk's last three leagues matches is a third generation Dundalk footballer. Both his father and grandfather have played for Dundalk with his grandfather also having managed the club.

I've heard of plenty of fathers and sons (Lampard, Schmeichel) playing for the same club but never three generations. Is this a unique situation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

doncarlos wrote: »
    16 year old Ben McLaughlin, who has played in Dundalk's last three leagues matches is a third generation Dundalk footballer. Both his father and grandfather have played for Dundalk with his grandfather also having managed the club.

I've heard of plenty of fathers and sons (Lampard, Schmeichel) playing for the same club but never three generations. Is this a unique situation?

I doubt it's all that unique at that level, whatever level that is. Not really comparable to Lampard or Schmeichel to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭doncarlos

Bodhisopha wrote: »
    I doubt it's all that unique at that level, whatever level that is.

If you don't know what level it is how can you doubt it's unique?? Contradict yourself much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Maldini's lad Daniel is still with AC isn't he?

If you don't know what level it is how can you doubt it's unique?? Contradict yourself much?

Because i'm guessing it's not a very high level, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Lahinchians

zidanes son is in the real youth set-up afaik

Because i'm guessing it's not a very high level, right?

What's a high level? All three played top flight football in Ireland and Jim (grandfather) has 12 international caps for northern Ireland.

Does the world end with the English premier league?

Maldini's lad Daniel is still with AC isn't he?
    sugarman wrote: »
    Think both his sons are yeh.

Its not strange tho, if anything its becoming the norm now as the last gen of players who took after their aul lads are retiring & their kids are growing up.

It's not strange for father and sons but have never heard of three generations playing for the same club.

What's a high level? All three played top flight football in Ireland and Jim (grandfather) has 12 international caps for northern Ireland.

Does the world end with the English premier league?

Look, i'm just saying it's statistically more likely to occur at a lower level of football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

It's not strange for father and sons but have never heard of three generations playing for the same club.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cesare_Maldini

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paolo_Maldini

Both played with AC and Paolo's sons are on AC's books, small bit of a step up from LoI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Doesn't the ex-Shamrock Rovers Keeper, Dave Henderson, have about 4/5 close family members who were also pro keepers... including his father and son I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Vladimir Weiss's dad and grandpa, both called Vladimir too, played internationally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

Look, i'm just saying it's statistically more likely to occur at a lower level of football.

Lower than what?

Doesn't get any higher in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

gavredking wrote: »

Both played with AC and Paolo's sons are on AC's books, small bit of a step up from LoI.

Good shout, yes the famous "AC" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

**** sake lads, the OP was just highlighting a bit of a story which at the end of the day is very much the kind of thing that makes football the so called "People's Game".

The "Whatever level that is" jibe reeks of nothing but ignorance, wether you follow an Irish team or not - the fact is that Dundalk play in the top flight of Irish football, so therefore should be respected as such.

The faux EPL snobbery on this forum never ceases to amaze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Javier Hernandez's oul lad and grandfather both played for Mexico.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,188 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Not quite 3rd generation related, but always found this stat re: Iceland international team interesting:

Perhaps the most notable match was a friendly against Estonia on 24 April 1996 in Tallinn. During the second half of this match, Eiður Guðjohnsen entered as a substitute for his father Arnór. This marked the first time that a father and son played in the same international match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,966 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

NIMAN wrote: »
    Not quite 3rd generation related, but always found this stat re: Iceland international team interesting:

Perhaps the most notable match was a friendly against Estonia on 24 April 1996 in Tallinn. During the second half of this match, Eiður Guðjohnsen entered as a substitute for his father Arnór. This marked the first time that a father and son played in the same international match

You beat me too it :(

I was even going to add the bit that it was not related to 3rd generations

Great story though.

You beat me too it :(

I was even going to add the bit that it was not related to 3rd generations

Great story though.

The thread can evolve. A post imparting knowledge is a good post.

Did Alan Kelly, the former Ireland keeper have two prior generations play for Ireland? I know his dad did.

gavredking wrote: »

This is a great example and I think it will more likely happen with the middle generation being a one man club. It is very unlikely that a journeyman footballer would settle in a town/city long enough to raise a son to play for the same club.

Whether his sons are good enough to make it is another factor to consider.

Did Alan Kelly, the former Ireland keeper have two prior generations play for Ireland? I know his dad did.

Ronnie Whelan's dad also played for Ireland.

Eirebear wrote: »
    **** sake lads, the OP was just highlighting a bit of a story which at the end of the day is very much the kind of thing that makes football the so called "People's Game".

The "Whatever level that is" jibe reeks of nothing but ignorance, wether you follow an Irish team or not - the fact is that Dundalk play in the top flight of Irish football, so therefore should be respected as such.

The faux EPL snobbery on this forum never ceases to amaze.

My point was that i doubt it's all that unique in other Mickey Mouse leagues. It's a nice achievement but i'm sure it's been repeated many times across Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,167 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I doubt it's all that unique at that level, whatever level that is. Not really comparable to Lampard or Schmeichel to be fair.
    Wtf is this:confused:

Its very rare at the highest level in a country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Cardinal Richelieu

Con Martin

Wiki
    Martin was the founding member of a notable Irish footballing family. During the 1970s his son Mick Martin played for, among others, Manchester United, Newcastle United, West Bromwich Albion and the Republic of Ireland. Another son, Con Martin Jr. played for several clubs in the League of Ireland. His daughter Mary married Gerry Garvan who also played in the League of Ireland. Martin Sr. later worked as an insurance broker and formed a company, Martin & Garvan Insurances Ltd., with his son-in-law.[8] The Garvan’s son and Martin's grandson, Owen Garvan, currently plays for Ipswich Town and the Republic of Ireland U21s

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Con_Martin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

NIMAN wrote: »

I always thought this story would have been much better if he had actually played on the pitch with his Da. What an amazing story that would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

This is a great example and I think it will more likely happen with the middle generation being a one man club. It is very unlikely that a journeyman footballer would settle in a town/city long enough to raise a son to play for the same club.

Whether his sons are good enough to make it is another factor to consider.

His son is definitly good enough, I have seen professional players not be able to do this to a 4 time Champions League winner :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Maurizo Ganz's young lad Simone has come off the bench for Milan a few times this season. His grand father was a pro too but dont think he ever played for Milan.

Paolo Maldini has two sons st Milan. The elder lad should be a Primavera player in the next few seasons. Theres a video of him dispossessing Seedorf when he was a little fella on you tube
    1001-2.jpg

Christian's squad photo from last summer. 16 this year :-)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

No pressure there, kid.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Michael and Brian Laudrup's dad played and both have sons playing. Mark Hateley's son is at Motherwell and his dad was a footballer too. There were the Allens that probably covered every club in London.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

Michael and Brian Laudrup's dad played and both have sons playing. Mark Hateley's son is at Motherwell and his dad was a footballer too. There were the Allens that probably covered every club in London.

I think Ibraham Ba had a young fleh who was quite promising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

I think its fair to say 3 generations is indeed pretty unique.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Michael and Brian Laudrup's dad played and both have sons playing. Mark Hateley's son iis at Motherwell and his dad was a footballer too. There were the Allens that probably covered every club in London.

Mads Laudrup is actually a very good player. if he wasnt so slight I think he would be at a top club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

eagle eye wrote: »
    Wtf is this:confused:

Its very rare at the highest level in a country.

On the face of it theres a much better chance in a country like Ireland. Nepotism aside, its not a full time professional league all the time. The standard is not at elite european on world level and is not going to draw in large amounts of good foreign players to dilute chances of hime grown players. Relatively small population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

At monaghan Roddy Collins is the manager, Roddy's nephew, also Roddy, plays for them. Roddy junior's cousin Aidan Collins plays for them and I think there may be another Collins on the books too.

Also, 3 Brennan brothers play for Drogheda (Sean, Gavin and Ryan)

Not generation of footballers but just saying...

My point was that i doubt it's all that unique in other Mickey Mouse leagues. It's a nice achievement but i'm sure it's been repeated many times across Europe.

[Willy Wonka] Wow, you must be quite the footballer.

Please tell me about all the top flight leagues you've played in. [/Willy Wonka]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭eugeneious

Bobby and Jack Charlton had several uncles that played football as well as their mother being the cousin of Newcastle legend Jackie Milburn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Football is just like politics:

Who you know trumps what you know every time.

Just my 2c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,047 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Where To wrote: »

Just my 2c

Ali Dia comes to mind when I read that!

Where To wrote: »

Just my 2c

Cristiano Ronaldo is a case in point. If his oul fella wasn't an alcoholic barfly who drank himself to an early grave he'd never have played for Man United or Real Madrid..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

BOHtox wrote: »
    At monaghan Roddy Collins is the manager, Roddy's nephew, also Roddy, plays for them.
    Think thats his son.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Mickey Mouse leagues?

Fuck right off with that shit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

Three Bulgarian international goalkeepers who also played for Levski Sofia:
    Biser Mihaylov - played in the 1960's
    Borislav Mihaylov - star of 1994 WC
    Nikolay Mihaylov - presently at Twente and formerly of Liverpool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

What do you mean "whatever level that is"? Its incredible how clueless people are about football on this forum.

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Mickey Mouse leagues?

Fuck right off with that shit.

And I bet he's probably one of the boys crying out for James Mc Clean to go the Euro Championships..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭smackbunnybaby

Diego Forlan:

Forlán was born into a family of footballers; his father Pablo having played for São Paulo (1970–1975) and Uruguay in the 1966 and 1974 World Cups and his maternal grandfather, Juan Carlos Corazo, for Independiente in Argentina.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diego_Forlan#Personal_life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Kaizer Sosa

Diego Forlan:

Forlán was born into a family of footballers; his father Pablo having played for São Paulo (1970–1975) and Uruguay in the 1966 and 1974 World Cups and his maternal grandfather, Juan Carlos Corazo, for Independiente in Argentina.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diego_Forlan#Personal_life

Gah, you beat me to it. Hard to beat this family in the three generation game. All three won the Copa America with Uruguay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Seriously, why would you bother? I have no real love for the LOI - used to watch Kildare County sometimes before they went tits up, but saying that sh it in a thread so obviously started by a LOI club supporter is akin to standing in the middle of Kilkenny swinging a dead cat, saying hurling is crap....

Just shhhhh...