Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Michael Dwyer assassin or patsy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It's a sad case for the family but he was in relatively unstable region with some very dodgy characters who were up to no good, he was hardly there on holiday.
    No he was there working as a security guard, it says so right there in the article.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

Burns: Good lord! That canary was supposed to be my pidgeon! I need to find a patsy, quick!
    Homer: Hello!
    Burns: Yes, yes, hello. Now, I need to find a patsy.
    Burns: You're quite the friendly fellow but, right now, I'm looking for a patsy!
    Burns: You bumbling fool! I keep telling you I'm looking for a patsy!
    Burns: This moon-faced simpleton is continuously interrupting my search for a patsy, why do.... Hello!
    Homer: Why are you looking at me like that...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

very dodgy characters who were up to no good

Anyone else find that hard to read without humming a certain tune?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

No good can come of this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

No good can come of this thread.

yeah but ultimately the misguided fool can't come to any further harm.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

Tragic story but let it be a lesson to anyone who plays too many video games and goes over to a third world country, thinking it would be exciting to act as security for people aiming to assassinate a president.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Thought he was just a film critic and now all this is uncovered!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

whiskeyman wrote: »
    very dodgy characters who were up to no good

Anyone else find that hard to read without humming a certain tune?
    No, but what tune, just for idle curiosities sake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

Who you gonna believe, a corrupt drug fuelled government, or some Bolivians?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Nevore wrote: »
    No, but what tune, just for idle curiosities sake?

I'm guessing this:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

The poor lad watched too much TV. it was all Walter Mitty stuff and through his work in security he met the people that fueled his daftness.

I think he worked at Rossport as a security guard too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 367 ✭✭justchecked

Burns: Good lord! That canary was supposed to be my pidgeon! I need to find a patsy, quick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

The poor lad watched too much TV. it was all Walter Mitty stuff and through his work in security he met the people that fueled his daftness.

I think he worked at Rossport as a security guard too.

His mother was on PK yesterday I think.
    Worked in Rossport with some Bolivians,went with them for the craic probably.
    The papers had pictures of him in combats which turned out to be Airsoft gear.Plus the police said he was killed in the raid but there was pictures of him and another guy with hoods after the raid,they were executed.

Guilty of being naive or a bit innocent most probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

He was naive as he didn't seem to have any idea that the guy he was protecting was planning on overthrowing the Bolivian govt. Nobody deserves to be executed but special forces police don't tend to ask questions in these scenarios, he got mixed up with some dodgy characters who planned to assassinate the Bolivian president so its not all that surprising that he ended up assassinated himself. Its just sad it seems he was either conned or tricked into the whole debacle, he didn't ever seem to know what exactly was going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

kneemos wrote: »
    His mother was on PK yesterday I think.
    Worked in Rossport with some Bolivians,went with them for the craic probably.
    The papers had pictures of him in combats which turned out to be Airsoft gear.Plus the police said he was killed in the raid but there was pictures of him and another guy with hoods after the raid,they were executed.

Guilty of being naive or a bit innocent most probably.

Ah the soft narrative of denial that makes hero's of the dead.

I saw the documentary last night and it's full of contradictions that it never attempts to resolve, at the end of the documentary there was a lawyer saying "we have no evidence that they were there as part of a coup", vut earlier in the documentary they showed a video of an interview with the "leader" in the group, who said that it was to be released in the event of his death in Bolivia. In the video, he literally said that they were going back there to retake the state.

That by the way doesn't look like 'airsoft' kit to me....
    http://www.indymedia.ie/cache/imagecache/local/attachments/jul2009/460_0___30_0_0_0_0_0_floresdwyer.jpg
    Note the ironic 'Happy New Year' message, with the arrow pointing from 2009 to a bullet, which gives a context for the Hotel Las Americas executions of 16 April of that year which Michael Dwyer's family and friends must sooner or later comprehend. To spell it out, engaging in this kind of gunplay in Bolivia's troubled province of Santa Cruz in the company of Eduardo Rozsa Flores, a hardened veteran of the Balkan Wars and a self-proclaimed separatist, is just begging for trouble.

I believe that Michael Dwyer was extra-judicially executed, but did so living and dying by the sword. People who demand the truth should be prepared to face it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Muahahaha wrote: »
    he didn't ever seem to know what exactly was going on.

It's still not exactly known what the hell happened.

The two guys who were taken alive were just recently released after 6 years in jail with no trial relating to what they were initially accused of. They were done on some vague terrorism charge along with 40 others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

conorhal wrote: »
    Ah the soft narrative of denial that makes hero's of the dead.

I saw the documentary last night and it's full of contradictions that it never attempts to resolve, at the end of the documentary there was a lawyer saying "we have no evidence that they were there as part of a coup", vut earlier in the documentary they showed a video of an interview with the "leader" in the group, who said that it was to be released in the event of his death in Bolivia. In the video, he literally said that they were going back there to retake the state.

That by the way doesn't look like 'airsoft' kit to me....
    http://www.indymedia.ie/cache/imagecache/local/attachments/jul2009/460_0___30_0_0_0_0_0_floresdwyer.jpg
    Note the ironic 'Happy New Year' message, with the arrow pointing from 2009 to a bullet, which gives a context for the Hotel Las Americas executions of 16 April of that year which Michael Dwyer's family and friends must sooner or later comprehend. To spell it out, engaging in this kind of gunplay in Bolivia's troubled province of Santa Cruz in the company of Eduardo Rozsa Flores, a hardened veteran of the Balkan Wars and a self-proclaimed separatist, is just begging for trouble.

I believe that Michael Dwyer was extra-judicially executed, but did so living and dying by the sword. People who demand the truth should be prepared to face it.

Didn't know about any documentary,but as regards an RTE not resolving contradictions,it would be expected.

Saw the documentary and his poor mother is not helping herself by not accepting that while her son was not a bad person he was a fantasist with an interest in guns probably looking for excitement or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

kneemos wrote: »
    Didn't know about any documentary,but as regards an RTE not resolving contradictions,it would be expected.

Well it was a documentary about a mother seeking the truth. The immediately obvious problem with the documentary of course was the fact that she wasn't interested in the truth, what she wanted was a cosy narrative that she could live with and exhonorated her son. Hence my comment 'people who demand the truth should be prepared to face it'.

I can understand that from a mother, but RTE's rather loose grasp and presentation of the facts combined with the constant emotionally incontinent bending of the narrative to suit/spare the feels of relatives, that were never asked a single hard question, is all too common from the broadcaster. Panorama it wasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 989 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

Well now, it seems that it is the (former) Bolivian governments narrative that seems to be full of holes. Even before the fall of Morales the case was collapsing, maybe now some of the truth will out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

No bueno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,756 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

I knew this lad when he lived in Galway

Naieve wouldn't come close to describing him.
    There's no way he had a clue what was going on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I knew this lad when he lived in Galway

Naieve wouldn't come close to describing him.
    There's no way he had a clue what was going on

iirc he didnt even speak Spanish, he was staying in a hotel with Bolivans who were actively plotting the assassination of Morales but I doubt he even knew it what was going on and why he was really there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,869 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I didn't know him personally, but I knew people who knew him while he lived in Galway and I bumped into him a few times while he was here and even then his level of love for the fantasty life of being the hard military man was well known. A friend of mine described him as "complete fcking ejit."

He was just a lad that got way, way, in over his head.