Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FRS fencing

• 11-04-2012 11:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭

I see the local FRS office are having an open day with "special offers" on during the day.
    http://www.frsfencing.ie/

I've a god bit of electric fencing to put up, has anyone any experience of FRS with fencing or are the other private companies alot cheaper.

What are the quality of they're fence posts like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭PatQfarmer

If you specify the PDM stakes, they are the real thing.
    FRS are top-notch in Tipperary, but a bit dear.
    Get them to quote for the job, rather than hourly rate, that'd break you!
    No problems with them yet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Thanks Pat, I've one 10 acre place in two fields that I want to start with so was thinking of getting someone to do it.
    Don't have time or a post driver so think it would be worth my while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

I get posts off FRS, and I find them good.

I got them to quote a job for me once, for sheep fencing and I thought them dear.
    I ended up doing it myself - got a lad to put in the posts with a post driver (€35 / hour for the post driver) then put up the wire myself. To be honest - once the posts were in, the wire is easy enough to do.

Just something else to think about ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Labou is the most expensive part of fencing also if you get someone in and they supplly the materials make sure they do not over charge for materials.I do the same as PP get a lad on a postdriver again 35 euro/hour have the post laid out throw up a few extra on his tractor in case one breaks and he will have a lot of post driven in 2-3 hours also you will put a lot of wire in a day yourself buy the good strainers use the spring gates and some handles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭foxylock

I paid FRS over two grand for material in January intending to fence the field myself, they delivered all the stuff the following week minus the strainers. Lads I'm still waiting on the feckin strainers, ringing every week to be told they will have them the following week. Badly stuck for the field now and starting to lose the plot. I find this totally unacceptable and certainly will not deal with them again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

deal with them regularly for fencing supplies. the quality of materials is good but their price is their price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

As with the other posters, we buy all our fencing materials from them. They have good quality and are cheaper than any of the other local suppliers. On top of that, it is easy to negotiate with them for a sizeable discount if you are buying a good bit of stuff from them.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

foxylock wrote: »
    I paid FRS over two grand for material in January intending to fence the field myself, they delivered all the stuff the following week minus the strainers. Lads I'm still waiting on the feckin strainers, ringing every week to be told they will have them the following week. Badly stuck for the field now and starting to lose the plot. I find this totally unacceptable and certainly will not deal with them again.

I think at this stage they should be driving the strainers for free as well as delivering them, can you collect them yourself?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

What FRS office did you buy from Foxylock? I collected strainers from the Boyle Shop yesterday evening and they had pallet loads of them in stock.

Sorry for the late reply lads, am up to my conkers in lambs at the moment. They were paid for in Cahir and I have called several times only to be told the same old story " deliveries are behind schedule they coming next week" and I can see they really dont give a s**t. Will give them till friday and then I go back for my money. And yes I would be collecting these myself anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

was in a furniture store last week and noticed a pallet of barb wire in the corner. looked completly out of place so asked how much he wanted for it. got the pallet (30 rolls) for e300

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Versatile Fashionista

I couldn't recommend FRS enough - Excellent, top quality service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Versatile Fashionista

I couldn't recommend FRS enough; excellent, top quality service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

1chippy wrote: »
    was in a furniture store last week and noticed a pallet of barb wire in the corner. looked completly out of place so asked how much he wanted for it. got the pallet (30 rolls) for e300
    Deal of the century is it that cheap and nasty light wire tho?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Sorry for the late reply lads, am up to my conkers in lambs at the moment. They were paid for in Cahir and I have called several times only to be told the same old story " deliveries are behind schedule they coming next week" and I can see they really dont give a s**t. Will give them till friday and then I go back for my money. And yes I would be collecting these myself anyway.

why did you pay for them in the first place, when you didnt recieve the goods

I got a lot of stuff there at the time they had everything and said strainers were in stock. How was I to know there would be such a hold up. Anyway no matter now, still unimpressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭ceannfort

what are people paying for sheep and barb wire at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

ceannfort wrote: »
    what are people paying for sheep and barb wire at the moment.
    Got a quote for rylock 32' fox wire for 160 euro for 100m roll. Seems a bit dear but i am in no hurry to buy yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

5live wrote: »
    Got a quote for rylock 32' fox wire for 160 euro for 100m roll. Seems a bit dear but i am in no hurry to buy yet

Feck, €160 roll :eek:

I must get a good few rolls of it... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭ceannfort

that seems very expensive. what are others being quoted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Stanley71

I rang and he took my details and said he would call when he was in the area within the next three weeks...nothing. Called again and he said same thing....nothing again. Waited around wasting my time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭White Clover

Stanley71 wrote: »
    I rang and he took my details and said he would call when he was in the area within the next three weeks...nothing. Called again and he said same thing....nothing again. Waited around wasting my time.

Is this Boyle or cahir....both are mentioned in the thread, or some other location. They're in most counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Stanley71

Galway branch. Athlone I think.