Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Storing Pheasant Eggs

• 09-04-2012 3:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭

Lads have my first clutch put under a bantam there this weekend and have another bantam coming broody. Probably be sitting tight enough by Wednesday to put in the clutch. Just wondering how ye lads like to store your eggs in between. I am keeping them in a cool place on an egg tray with the pointed end facing down. I give them a quick turn each day. Is there any other tips lads have to help keep the eggs at there prime? Also how long do ye reckon eggs could last and stay fertile I have heard some various different ranges from 21 days down to a week. Just curious what lads with first hand experience have found out over the years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

Dont leave for more then a week or fertility goes down apart from that your doing all right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

does the bantam not turn the eggs:confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

She does I think hes talking about the stored eggs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

Yep she does, but when storing eggs they have to be turned prevents the yoke sticking to the side of the shell. So I'm told anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 groundskeeper willie

i keep mine on their side, i put a pencil mark on both sides (an x on one side and an o on the other) so i know iv turned them all each time. i dont keep them for more than 14 days but i turn them twice a day. i use an incubator and get an average of 75% hatch. everyone has their own way but that works for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭patdahat

I used keep mine in the utility and turn them once a day. Id keep them for a week to 10 day's and the reason was, a hen in the wild has on average 9 egg's and from what i have heard she wont sit on the nest until she has all the egg's layed. it worked for me. I stand to be corrected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭idunnoshur

When I was 14 I had quite a big hatching enterprise so I'll give ye a few pointers. From my experience hatching eggs under a hen is a waste of time, the hen often gets sick of sitting on the eggs and then ****s off leaving the eggs to get cold. I used an octagon 10 incubator and used to get a hatch rate of 90%. Id highly recommend that model but is stay away from the semi automatic turning one, the automatic turning isn't that much extra.

I used to store the eggs in a cupboard in the spare bedroom, the eggs themselves were in the polystyrene that the incubator came in. I used to turn the eggs twice daily. The heating was turned off in the room too. Whatever you do don't store the eggs in a room that's used often opening the door will change the temperature and **** up your hatch rate. For my first couple of hatches I stored the eggs just inside the back door and the hatch rate was around 50%!

I used to keep the chicks in 2 old cow boxes with the roofs cut off them, they mad the perfect enclosure. Im not sure of the power of the bulb that I had below them but I'll have a look for it. If the chicks are all huddled together lower the bulb, its better to have them too hot than too cold cause they can move away from under the bulb. Scatter, chick crumb all over the floor for the first few days to make sure they eat it, again I ****ed up doing that and I had a lash of them starve. Also put loads of drinkers in their living area. Also give them vegetables once they're a few days old to get them used to them. Don't give them too much either or you'll give them scour (the runs), again I did this.

When the chicks are off heat and if they're being mixed with older birds out a wire up down the. Middle of their house to get then used to one another. Again I ****ed up doing this and had a couple killed by older birds. It normally takes about 5 days for them not to kill one another.

That's about it really, if ye have any questions don't hesitate to pm me.

ids