Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bull for Belgian Blue Heifer

• 08-04-2012 9:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭

Bought a BB Heifer calf off a Dairy man 2 years ago for a cow that had to much Milk, She is down as EPI on herdplus, Would any1 have an idea on what bull to use for her as she is on Heat at Moment, She is about 530Kgs all white bar 2 Blue Ears, Easy Calfing obviusly and Dovea preferably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

essgee268 wrote: »
    Bought a BB Heifer calf off a Dairy man 2 years ago for a cow that had to much Milk, She is down as EPI on herdplus, Would any1 have an idea on what bull to use for her as she is on Heat at Moment, She is about 530Kgs all white bar 2 Blue Ears, Easy Calfing obviusly and Dovea preferably.

BB x British fresian
    . I honestly dont think you can beat it , for shape in their calves and a lovely bag of milk to do a good job on them ;) . Have a few of them myself and their producing the best calves for me .
    Iv a couple of maidens carrying Castleview Casino Limousin , off Dovea , but having said that these are not belgian blues .
    OZS Limousin from P.G , and if she has a heifer calf she will be replacement material ????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

essgee268 wrote: »

Any easy calving lim { >4/5% calving difficulty }

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭porter shark

rhf dovea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I just had a look through the catalogue;
    S593
    He's easy calving at 2.9% & 91% reliability. He's also 123 for muscle, so he should bring a fine calf from a 1/2 bred BB.

http://www.icbf.com/taurus/bull_search/index.php?search_type=num&search=s593

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

pakalasa wrote: »
    I just had a look through the catalogue;
    S593
    He's easy calving at 2.9% & 91% reliability. He's also 123 for muscle, so he should bring a fine calf from a 1/2 bred BB.

http://www.icbf.com/taurus/bull_search/index.php?search_type=num&search=s593

class bull pak only thing that would put me off is his price think hes close to €50 for the straw only:eek:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Oops, didn't know that. Suspected it though. The top Uk bulls are normally very pricey alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭essgee268

AI man come at 7 decided on LSC Angus Had smashing Bull calf last year from a 2yo Heifer abd that swung it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

what ever you get make sure its a very easy calving bull like an AA. BB cows can be a nightmare as they have a large chest which will allow a large calf to grow but they have a small pelvis so less room to get the calf out. BB are also very prone for going over time and this can cause big problems with the double muscle gene. be ready for c-sections and heart ache if it goes wrong. i always perfer a small live calf to a big dead one

have crossed them with AA before and these were great calfs, also crossed with a blonde and this was also a nice calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 follett

pch easy calfing and if its a heifer you have loads of milk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Livestockmad

I had five heifers of similar breeding calve down last spring with rhf calves and had no bother with four,one had to be pulled.. I had one charolais heifers with rhf that needed woeful pulling. Im gone back to angus for heifers now tho. I hear some lads on here saying that salers are just as easily calved as an angus but I haven't tried it yet.. I might give one ago with a few heifers this year

pch are lik rats born, they will fall out of heifers, there a serious replacement if you get heifers

I have bb x fr heifer she is 8 months old and is in heat every 21 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

follett wrote: »
    pch are lik rats born, they will fall out of heifers, there a serious replacement if you get heifers
    I have a heifer in calf to him and hoping for a heifer but knowing my Luck she will have a bull calf!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

EBY from Dovea seems to be the easy calving Lim no.1 choice.....reports so far that he throws nice calves with little or no trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

EBY from Dovea seems to be the easy calving Lim no.1 choice.....reports so far that he throws nice calves with little or no trouble

follett wrote: »

Who is pch with?? Is he a salers?

Dovea. Limousin bull - Pacha 08. Supposed to be very good both on maternal and terminal. Not used much by pedigree breeders though!

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Dovea. Limousin bull - Pacha 08. Supposed to be very good both on maternal and terminal. Not used much by pedigree breeders though!

I wonder why tho?? Any of ye use CWI..do ye find them slightly cracked??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

FL22 and REQ were great bulls for using on blue Heifers. shame they cant be got now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

FL22 and REQ were great bulls for using on blue Heifers. shame they cant be got now

Christ, that FL22 left his mark with us. Mad ****ers of cattle. If I got straws free I wouldn't use them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭on the river

Bizzum wrote: »
    Christ, that FL22 left his mark with us. Mad ****ers of cattle. If I got straws free I wouldn't use them.

FL22 was one of the best. great calves with shape and style will be missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Really? I only got one bad one from him. The rest were grand. I'll take those free straws off your hands if you like ;)

We've none left (Thankfully:P). Honestly there are 2 heifers there that would go for ya, and a few more very lively. Excellent quality calves, handy calved but cracked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

We've none left (Thankfully:P). Honestly there are 2 heifers there that would go for ya, and a few more very lively. Excellent quality calves, handy calved but cracked!

Some of them wild ones bring smashing calves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Farrell wrote: »
    Some of them wild ones bring smashing calves

Isnt that often the trouble ! Makes it hard not to bull her again when you see a nice calf beside her .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

FL22 was the perfect bull for heifers IMO. They were easy calved, had good frame and shape and sold well as weanlings. I see from my icbf profile that calves of him went on to do well, often grading R+ and some U'S. They aren't the quietest but its hard to have everything.

I had a few heifers of Nsq calved last year, now there's a bull with a serious docility problem. He was supposed to be good for milk but these ladies have far less milk than their mothers. Maternal bull my eye.

HCA is being marketed as a bull to use on heifers to produce replacements now. He is easy calved but his calves have narrow back ends, can't see them making good cows.

I don't want to go off topic, but I will veer a little on the subject of AI Lim bulls. I've said this on here before: I've yet to see a Lim bull produce better calves than Ambertine Brigadeer ABI. No temperament issues either. He ain't easy calved though we had him on a heifer or two, but there's nothing like him as far as I've seen.
    So there ya have it!

I don't want to go off topic, but I will veer a little on the subject of AI Lim bulls. I've said this on here before: I've yet to see a Lim bull produce better calves than Ambertine Brigadeer ABI. No temperament issues either. He ain't easy calved though we had him on a heifer or two, but there's nothing like him as far as I've seen.
    So there ya have it!
    I have two heifers off him due to calve in March, powerful animals, very quite, no problem to handle in the field. Have one of them in calf to ramses so hoping for a heifer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

So there ya have it!

That's interesting. His icbf figures for docility is only one star across all breeds which is only a bit better than CWI. Considering you found his calves so quite I wonder why his figures are that bad.

I've used a lot of LM bulls in the last two years trying to breed replacements and the first figure I look at is docility. Anything below 3 star is out for me because I don't need or want wild cattle any more.

towzer2010 wrote: »
    That's interesting. His icbf figures for docility is only one star across all breeds which is only a bit better than CWI. Considering you found his calves so quite I wonder why his figures are that bad.

I've used a lot of LM bulls in the last two years trying to breed replacements and the first figure I look at is docility. Anything below 3 star is out for me because I don't need or want wild cattle any more.

It is interesting. 2* within breed. Docility wasn't something we paid much attention to but the odd bull we would avoid if they left wild stock, there was another some years back but I can't remember his name!
    Honestly no issues with ABI Docility. And super calves!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

It is interesting. 2* within breed. Docility wasn't something we paid much attention to but the odd bull we would avoid if they left wild stock, there was another some years back but I can't remember his name!
    Honestly no issues with ABI Docility. And super calves!
    AI man here vers more towards UBY, Easy calved, good growth, & quiet animals. Had a Heifer (off LLX) calve down to FZM with no Trouble (lovely calf).
    Had a Cow incalf to ABI, but she passed on :mad:

Farrell wrote: »
    AI man here vers more towards UBY, Easy calved, good growth, & quiet animals. Had a Heifer (off LLX) calve down to FZM with no Trouble (lovely calf).
    Had a Cow incalf to ABI, but she passed on :mad:

Wouldn't have much time for Uboy UBY, We used Sterling LLX a bit and he bred well for us, and we have two heifers by Equalizer FZM both giddy enough but smashing quality. I think he is a useful bull alright. Don't hesitate to try Brigadeer though.