Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One Man Protest

• 03-04-2012 12:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭

Just passed a guy having a solo-protest outside Tyres Direct on the Cork Road. Fair play to him having the balls to make a stand, all by himself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭jayboi

Just passed a guy having a solo-protest outside Tyres Direct on the Cork Road. Fair play to him having the balls to make a stand, all by himself!
    What's his beef with tyres?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭wellboytoo

I'd say the pressure got to him......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

jayboi wrote: »
    What's his beef with tyres?
    He was carrying a sign saying 'RIP OFF' so I assume he has an issue with the price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

wellboytoo wrote: »
    I'd say the pressure got to him......

.....he would want to tread carefully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

I'd say there's some load of rubber-necking going on by those passing...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

I hope he does'nt blow a valve !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

If his protest lasts 365 days it could be a Goodyear!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

MidlandsM wrote: »
    I hope he does'nt blow a valve !

....clearly he isn't having a good year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭TheGormog

frag420 wrote: »
    If his protest lasts 365 days it could be a Goodyear!!

Ah he won't be long getting tyre-d of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Maybe he's trying to "remould" his career as a professional protestor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭gobo99

apparently the price of tyres is wheely bad at the moment due to inflation,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

wheel go down and take a look

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭No.125

poor fella he must be driven mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭TheGormog

No.125 wrote: »
    poor fella he must be driven mad.

He might be losing his grip on reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

WtvSZ.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Continental Johnny or Irish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

gobo99 wrote: »
    apparently the price of tyres is wheely bad at the moment due to inflation,

I think this deserved more thanks then it got :)

In any event i'd be careful if i was him they could make him disappear. even if he runs they have a guy who is an expert in tracking..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭brian plank

tyres

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Godsentme

Well I'm steering clear of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭membersonly

Maybe someone deleted his tread about a charity event without reading it...

tread like...tyres...it works, brilliantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭mickob16

I heard he bought a car there and it packed in after 2 days.Obviously he got no satisfaction so protesting is his only way.Poor fella will prob get arrested for disturbing the peace!!

Didn't a similar thing happen outside cost plus sofas not that long ago? I wonder do people who take such drastic action get any joy out of it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭doublejj

rip off............that fella has history of ripping people off....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭ex_infantry man

would'nt buy a can of WD40 from him!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 irishman1

poor fella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

ziedth wrote: »
    I wonder do people who take such drastic action get any joy out of it....

I guess likely not. Many years ago a local guy ripped me off for 5 grand and skipped the country. I made it a mission to follow him via the interweb and hound him for the money whenever he popped up selling his services. It cost me sleep and him several contracts but he likely slept every night. No joy there.

Nobody thanked my pun. :(

mike65 wrote: »
    Nobody thanked my pun. :(

Not gonna lie Mike' I didn't get it :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

He looks wheely wheely wheely mad ,

Continental-AG.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭spcw

He may be unbalanced

he has to tread lightly

A Protest like that could cause a blowout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,622 ✭✭✭lassykk

mike65 wrote: »

Continental-AG.jpg

Don't think that will help either Mike.

I got it though if it makes you feel better :)

Gonna keep what it means a secret though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭RadioClash

Has this protest gained any traction with the wider public yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Is he still there?

I'll check again at lunchtime.

One of the lads in work said that a Garda car was up there yesterday, and a Garda was chatting to the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

He was gone when I was going out to the Holy Cross for food at about 3 yesterday.

AdMMM wrote: »
    He was gone when I was going out to the Holy Cross for food at about 3 yesterday.
    So he either got justice, bored, arrested or killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

I heard the guards said there was nothing they could do.

I wouldn't buy anything off them either tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

What's the protest about?

Dan133269 wrote: »
    What's the protest about?

Think someone said a while back that he bought a car from them and it gave him trouble straight away. And I doubt Eddie has a great aftersale service!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Godsentme

AdMMM wrote: »

Looks like he Skidaddled out of there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭doublejj

more like selling people cars and not paying finance off car....my brother got done by him but is now in middle of ****e trying to prove it.....some cheek that fella lots of red tape take time but has all the evidence....

doublejj wrote: »
    more like selling people cars and not paying finance off car....my brother got done by him but is now in middle of ****e trying to prove it.....some cheek that fella lots of red tape take time but has all the evidence....

I've heard of this and its been happening years. Don't know how he's still in business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

doublejj wrote: »

What you mean? The seller didn't have good title to tell the car in the first place?