Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unsettled ...Travellers, 40 years on

• 02-04-2012 8:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭

Looks good.

Reminds me of the National Geographic photographer revisiting Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Good Evening Am, I think this will be a nice programme :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

amdub, Mrs D .. *tips hat*..

Interested to see what these yanks cover or uncover in the modern day Travellers..

Good Evening Mr. Anon,

It is all very positive so far :) I suspect there will be no controversy here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Goddamnit I'd love to be an anthropologist :o

The Traveller lad from Glenroe is narrating.

That poor woman looks a lot older than 50 :(

MrsD007 wrote: »
    The Traveller lad from Glenroe is narrating.

Really?

Wonder what age the Americans are/were? They seem ageless...

16 kids!!!!!!!

amdublin wrote: »
    Really?

Wonder what age the Americans are/were? They seem ageless...

16 kids!!!!!!!
    The Americans are in their 60s. I'd say the wife was a good looking woman in her day.

They should introduce him to Davy Joyce while they are over.. Nice chap..

I love the old photographs and they have a nice bit of trad playing in the background.

Bloody hell Jonathan what was that.

Great photos :)

Amdublin, if you like old photographs, you would like Dorothea Lange's Ireland. You should have no difficult picking up a copy in your local library.

http://www.amazon.com/Dorothea-Langes-Ireland-Lange/dp/1570981825

amdublin wrote: »
    Bloody hell Jonathan what was that.

There was meant to be a big Traveller fight between him and another guy, who he was thrash talking.. on March 11th.. But the guards and court system called them in and told them to call it off.

Amdublin, if you like old photographs, you would like Dorothea Lange's Ireland. You should have no difficult picking up a copy in your local library.

Will check it out!

There is an awful lot of death and suffering :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭Thefirestarter

This program is excellent, a really great insight into the traveller culture from the perspective of two complete outsiders, (No pre-conceptions like many Irish people would have).

An excellent archive of images that document Traveller life and culture.

Well done RTE, more of this please:)

I agree, I think the photographs are really beautiful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

They should introduce him to Davy Joyce while they are over.. Nice chap..

Looks like he is on TV3 at the minute!

Wow some difference in these two programs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

This program is excellent, a really great insight into the traveller culture from the perspective of two complete outsiders, (No pre-conceptions like many Irish people would have).

Well done RTE, more of this please:)

It's like telling the Fianna Fail story and everyone afraid to mention Bertie. Is the antropologist gonna challenge them on why so many of them die young? Bollixology getting an airing before being sold to the US.

Will check it out!

It's kind of funny really.. Two very contrasting documentaries on TV tonight, one directed by Walk Disney on RTE ONE, and one directed by Quentin Tarantino on TV3..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Happyman42 wrote: »
    It's like telling the Fianna Fail story and everyone afraid to mention Bertie. Is the antropologist gonna challenge them on why so many of them die young? Bollixology getting an airing before being sold to the US.

It does seem more notable for what it omits than what it includes, but thats not to say that what it does include is without merit in its own right.

Its good to see a portrayal of traveller life without being exposed to the usual aspects of their 'culture' we're all familiar with.

Decent programme here.

It's kind of funny really.. Two very contrasting documentaries on TV tonight, one directed by Walk Disney on RTE ONE, and one directed by Quentin Tarantino on TV3..
    I agree this documentary is very soft focus but the photographs are really fabulous! It is nice to see how things used to be.

Do you hear that lads? "the women are the bosses" ;) Proper order :D

Jaysus that's Paddy Doherty reffing the fight on TV3..