Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worn ring/valve...do these symptoms make sense?

• 02-04-2012 11:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭

howye,

2.0 16v (9A) engine out of a 1994 Corrado, I've been running it in my Mk1 Golf for about 4 years on carbs fairly successfully. Can't be 100% sure but it most likely has about 120k miles on it but properly cared for.
    Things gone downhill a bit in the last 6 months - first it started to occasionally misbehave, was feeling like it was runinng on 3cyls in and out like....coincidentally the pump failed, thought aha! replaced the pump and serviced the carbs but not much of a change....problem then progressed to a little blue smoke and more than usual muck going into the catchcan and an oil weep developed too (the engine was defo dry until then so maybe too much pressure because of whatever going on).....compression is defo off on one cyl (225, 180, 225, 225) I did the oil in sparkplug hole cylinder test but I can't be 100% sure if its a valve/rings.
    Was gonna take the head off and go further investigate but with the fact I have a leak and it could also be a ring or worse a score on the cyl wall I'm thinking to remove it alltogether and rebuild completely -

currently living in a flat (mrs would do her nut) so I might be looking for reccomendations for an engine builder (as in someone who knows how to polish heads, rebore etc. maybe has some racing prep experience) and puts an engine together properly suggestions gratefully recieved...would go anywhere in country for right man

thanks,
    Martin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

I'd deffo take off the head first before embarking on a complete rebuild.
    That way you will see the sidewalls of the cylinders and if they're fine, you can just rebuild the head and bolt it back on, happy days!
    And even if it's worn rings but no damage to the cylinder wall, you can put it up on a lift and extract the pistons without having to remove the entire engine. You can even inspect/replace most of the shims that way.
    Remove and rebuild would only make sense if cylinders and pistons where well fcuked and you had to re-bore the block and fit oversized pistons, at that stage you'll be looking at mad money and might even be better off fitting a good second hand engine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

A leakdown test will pinpoint the issue vastly better the a basic compression test without having to remove anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

i think i'd be looking at picking up a complete engine out of a TT A3 A4 etc and stick your carbs and distributor on as a cheaper option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

Leakdown test as ND mentioned will give you an idea as to whether it's leaking past a valve or past a ring. Sometimes the oil burned from leaky valve stem seal can burn a valve seat and cause symptoms like you are experiencing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

Bigus wrote: »
    i think i'd be looking at picking up a complete engine out of a TT A3 A4 etc and stick your carbs and distributor on as a cheaper option.

It's not that easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

It's not that easy.

it might easier than rings, valves, rebore ,regrind ,gaskets and diagnostics ,oil filters belts and clutch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

I can assure you it isn't.

Is!
    Isn't!
    Is!
    Isn't!
    Is!
    Isn't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭martco

thanks for the replies so far lads
    I'll go for the leakdown test first maybe and see where it brings me. is it something your average garage/workshoppe could do for me do ye think or a specialist job? have seen kits on ebay but thinking major hassle to go buying one the compressor and then to interpret the results properly etc....

as for engine replacement although I'd have def considered an 8v build originally (heard the 8v unit out of a Mk3 gti is supposed to be a very decent basis for carbs) the setup I have does normally run very well (believe or not isnt even that hard on juice) and I'd like to leave in situ and get it back to 100% health rather than rip it out and maybe even inherit another set of problems...I guess because the current engine was well cared for I'm hopeful its solveable. plus I can't really be doing lump swaps in the apartment unfortunately :)

martco wrote: »
    thanks for the replies so far lads
    I'll go for the leakdown test first maybe and see where it brings me. is it something your average garage/workshoppe could do for me do ye think or a specialist job? have seen kits on ebay but thinking major hassle to go buying one the compressor and then to interpret the results properly etc....

It should be something that any decend garage has.....but most in Ireland don't.

Where abouts are you?

Dalkey, its near Dun Laoghaire, Sallynoggin, Loughlinstown, Bray...
    just off the phone chap in work suggested these fellas Smith Auto Devt in Sallynoggin, he said he'll do the test for me €65 so we'll see what's what hopefully...
    my Mk1:
    http://tinyurl.com/Mk1golfgti

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Stuck pressure relief valve in the oil pump.........? (if the 9A has one)

Dalkey, its near Dun Laoghaire, Sallynoggin, Loughlinstown, Bray...
    just off the phone chap in work suggested these fellas Smith Auto Devt in Sallynoggin, he said he'll do the test for me €65 so we'll see what's what hopefully...
    my Mk1:
    http://tinyurl.com/Mk1golfgti

If you are brave enough to venture over to the North side you can get it done for less then that;)

as for engine replacement although I'd have def considered an 8v build originally (heard the 8v unit out of a Mk3 gti is supposed to be a very decent basis for carbs) the setup I have does normally run very well (believe or not isnt even that hard on juice) and I'd like to leave in situ and get it back to 100% health rather than rip it out and maybe even inherit another set of problems...I guess because the current engine was well cared for I'm hopeful its solveable. plus I can't really be doing lump swaps in the apartment unfortunately :)

I bet this bloke could:

hahaha. very good. tryin to lipread as don't have sound on the computer here but I'd say there was a bit in the middle somewhere there where he explained to Hammond that the Mrs decided it would be better off for her and the kids to move in with her mother....

Very close!:D
    Hammond said the car didn't fit through the door, but the missus did, so she left.

UPDATE :(
    some life things took over there for a few weeks but finally got the leakdown done....
    unfortunately for me looks like engine out - only one cyl out of the 4 is reasonable (6%) and worst is #1 showing 60% and hisses into the can. fck. so it all makes sense now...the treated head the carbs and been driven in a cruisey way most of time its just the nature of the beast i guess
    I've always tried to be glass 1/2 full thinking when it comes to cars so gonna try get the money together for a rebuild (found a way for the mrs not to cop on to that)

SO next question is:
    does anyone know where I could get an engine crane for a couple of days...more preferably borrow/rent one (but would consider secondhand as def wouldn't go to waste)?
    thanks