Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car Accident

• 31-03-2012 10:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭

Firstly, apologies if this is in the wrong place.

Was in a car accident last night, a bus I was in was hit by a car whose driver was uninsured, 16 and failed a breathalyser test. i know him to see and after i returned home after being checked out at hospital, I logged on facebook to see that he had been on basically making light of the thing and that he is not too worried because a guard told him he should just get a caution!

He toyed with the lives of 9 people and is just gonna get a caution? does this sound right?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Ladjacket wrote: »
    Firstly, apologies if this is in the wrong place.

Was in a car accident last night, a bus I was in was hit by a car whose driver was uninsured, 16 and failed a breathalyser test. i know him to see and after i returned home after being checked out at hospital, I logged on facebook to see that he had been on basically making light of the thing and that he is not too worried because a guard told him he should just get a caution!

He toyed with the lives of 9 people and is just gonna get a caution? does this sound right?!

Depends if its true. A young fella boasting on FB that he's getting off with a warning doesn't actually mean he will get off so lightly he could be in for a shock.
    Pride comes before a fall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Ladjacket

yeah i know he could just be saying this but if it is true, I honestly don't know what i will think. Shameful really. Myself and a few colleagues were on a work night out for one lad in our workplace emigrating, on taxi home and this fool almost kills us.

And to make it worse is that he is almost laughing about it on FB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Strawberry Fields

First you were in a bus then you were in a taxi. Need to get your story straight.

It is desperate alright. But imo OP the guard didn't tell him he'd only be cautioned. Its not even up to him, its the sergeants call. And from personal experience I once got a serious bollocking and two penalty points plus fine for not wearing a seatbelt. Imagine if id crashed while over the limit!

godeas16 wrote: »
    First you were in a bus then you were in a taxi. Need to get your story straight.
    Minibus taxi possibly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Strawberry Fields

Minibus taxi possibly?

Right well there's an arresting guard who will be present in the district court on hearing, so if you feel that strongly pass that information on to him, so it can be brought to the judges attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

The decision will be made by the juvenile officer. The Garda has to refer all juveniles to him. You should bring that Facebook page to the attention of the investigating Garda.

it was a minibus taxi yes.

I find it hard to believe that a guard would say that and it may be grandstanding from the lad but still, a bit of cop on would be required you would think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭ResearchWill

The OP mentioned that the young fella was also drunk as well as 16 so I assume no insurance. As far as I know caution can not be given in these situations.

All crimes are covered by the juvenile diversion program. For serious crimes the DPP must also consent to the caution though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,704 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Under 17 he was technically disqualified from holding a driving licence to drive a car so couldn't have been insured.

spoke to the guards who have said that there is nothing they can do really about what he does or says on the internet unless he makes reference to a person involved in it. they have noted it however and said they will look in to it.

the car he was driving belonged to his parents and their insurance company are paying out to the taxi company and to anyone who has incurred expense from what I am aware.

The assessor has said that if he hit the bus two to six inches further to the right, there would have been certain deaths involved as the bus would have rolled. Frightening when you think about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭Milk & Honey

The insurance company can seek to recover the money paid out from the parents. Might teach them to keep the car to themselves.

Ladjacket wrote: »
    spoke to the guards who have said that there is nothing they can do really about what he does or says on the internet unless he makes reference to a person involved in it. they have noted it however and said they will look in to it.

the car he was driving belonged to his parents and their insurance company are paying out to the taxi company and to anyone who has incurred expense from what I am aware.

The assessor has said that if he hit the bus two to six inches further to the right, there would have been certain deaths involved as the bus would have rolled. Frightening when you think about it.

The most they can do is a firm recommendation that he not be accepted to the JLO scheme.