Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

more feckin mink!

• 31-03-2012 9:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭

Anyone noticing more mink than usual in their areas? There seems to be more than ever around my way. My sister in law lost ALL her hens the last night and they never had mink around their place! And yes, they were very well contained. Trapping time methinks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Invincible

Longranger wrote: »
    Anyone noticing more mink than usual in their areas? There seems to be more than ever around my way. My sister in law lost ALL her hens the last night and they never had mink around their place! And yes, they were very well contained. Trapping time methinks...

Are you sure it was mink ??? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Longranger wrote: »

Sounds like your going to get a good cut of the bounty:D;)

PS: Got 4 in the last month on the place in North Mayo - all males.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Sounds like your going to get a good cut of the bounty:D;)

PS: Got 4 in the last month on the place in North Mayo - all males.
    Good going mate. The bounty is a pisstake if ever I saw one! Still though, it's nice to check the traps and find one or two of the little ****es.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

any mink near Dublin i seen one on the canal near lucan few years ago early one morning just wondering would there be more around or is it a lone ranger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

the rye , and the liffey are alive with them

good stuff man and particular part of the liffey and rye

anthonyos wrote: »
    good stuff man and particular part of the liffey and rye

A growing population in the Blessington Lakes too unfortunatly:(

is there many ppl trapping down there i ordered 3 moe double entry traps tonight fron limerick poultry suppies 20 euro each not bad i think

I don't think so - I'm sure the Blessington Game Conservancy would be only too delighted to have you down with as many traps as you can muster:D;)

would i have to contact them first to get permission

Probably best to contact and get the all clear first - their a nice bunch of lads that do great work on vermin in and around the lake.

will do that.are they regularly seen down there or it a case of they are there but not seen

Mink are always tricky to spot, even in high density areas cos of their skulking habits, small dark body and mainly nocturnal activities.

Having said that my landlord told me he saw a whole family(5 animals) swimming about near the town bridge last summer. One of my dogs killed one near the Liffey inlet back in 2010. My impression is that their is plenty about and you should have good success if get to go trapping. I trap on my smallholding in Erris North Mayo where the density appears to be alot lower - but I've still manged to trap on averge one a week since the start of last month:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Probaly something to do with these scumbags who seem to believe releasing thousands of these vicous little killers is somehow doing indiginous wildlife a favour :rolleyes:...

GARDAÍ in Portlaoise are investigating an attack by animal rights activists at a mink farm in Vicarstown after a large number of mink were released from their pens over the weekend.
    A garda source told the Laois Nationalist sometime over the weekend the mink farm was accessed when someone broke a lock from a gate, released over 500 mink and sprayed graffiti around the farmyard.
    Una Heffernan of Vasa Limited which owns the farm, said while the mink had been released from their cages they were contained in the holding compound of the yard and none had escaped into the countryside.
    Ms Hefferan said graffiti sprayed around the buildings was quite specific and gave the name of the Animal Liberation Front (ALF).

LINK

THOUSANDS OF MINK LIBERATED
    Rolf Anderssons mink farm in Ardara, Killybegs, was raided by the ALF.
    Huge hole cut through the fencing, making it an easy escape route for the 4000 mink liberated from their cages.
    The message to fur scum: close down now or more raids will come. ALF

LINK

what tactic you using bait trap and are you concealing the trap well or just the usual bit of grass etc and are you near a river down there

A standard stainless steel mink trap with tinned Mackeral bait - I conceal it among vegitation in the drains on the farm that run down to the high tide mark.