Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you hate your colleague?

• 29-03-2012 8:18am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭

Colleague called into my apartment last night, uninvited. Plonks herself on the couch and says "Oh make us a cup of tea there" - no 'please' about it. I go to put some water on to boil and tell her she'll have to have black tea as I don't have milk in the house. She virtually threw a hissy fit and said she wouldn't bother with the tea then and sat there in a sulk.

I didn't invite you in here for tea ffs! Piss off and get your own bloody tea!

Does anyone else have colleagues that give them the urge to stab?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Never ever answer your door unless you are expecting someone. Unwelcome visitors ruin relaxation time.

I share time with my colleagues in work and occasionally in a pub/restaurant. None of them know where I live and I intend to keep it that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Kill her!

It's hip to be square!.... na na na na na na...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

WTF? Why did you give her your address? Never, ever mix work with home. Refuse her entry next time OP, otherwise she'll keep doing it. It's the Stray Dog theory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭spankmaster2000

Colleague = housemate?

I used to live with a chap who seemed quite obsessed with horses.
    Any time I saw him watching t.v. it was some live (or recorded) horse-racing.

Many of the conversations we had about the weather, holidays, etc, etc would nearly always be steered back to the topic of horses.

Needless to say; there was generally a lot of silence around the flat. I was quite relieved when he moved out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Colleague = housemate?

Doubt it. Usually refers to someone you work with. I've never heard of anyone calling a housemate a colleague

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Man up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭benway

Yup. Australian woman, sits near enough to me for me to hear every word she says all day. Without exception, she's complaining about something.

The kind of person that, if someone came in saying they'd been hit by a car at the weekend and broken their leg, would have to say, "yeah, well I got hit by a car and I died."

The kind of person who, when anyone has good news, turns it round in to a tale of how her life is so fckin' hard by comparison.

The kind of person who spends an hour and a half on the phone each evening giving out to her family and her boyfriend, telling them how much she hates everyone in her life. Like, I once heard her on to her mother giving out stink about the boyfriend, then rang the boyfriend and started giving out about her mother.

All in an accent like a cat being strangled.

The kind of person who tries bullying people in work, and then starts crying whenever anyone stands up to her.

She used to just annoy me, but I think I've crossed over into actively despising the woman - she really is a terrible person. If she turned up at my door, she'd be helping hold up the patio in no time.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

She wants your lady bits - badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

I don't know my colleagues outside of the office, but in the office we've great craic.

I'd prefer to keep it that way as a conversation with me outside of the office could result in an awkward working day/week/year/month/employment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I'm the only one who works here.

So, yes :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Since when did making a cup of tea become a monumental task?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Johnny Bitte

Hate the guy that sits 2 rows away and i can still smell him. Also know if he s been in a room before, Lynx shower set for u mate!!

Also the woman that sits right beside me complains none stop!!

Other that them i m happy enough : )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I hate them cause they're all bleedin' foreigners!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Susie_Q wrote: »
    Colleague called into my apartment last night, uninvited. Plonks herself on the couch and says "Oh make us a cup of tea there" - no 'please' about it. I go to put some water on to boil and tell her she'll have to have black tea as I don't have milk in the house. She virtually threw a hissy fit and said she wouldn't bother with the tea then and sat there in a sulk.

maybe the cup of tea was a pre-empt to some "scissoring"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

She knows where I live because we live in the same apartment block. We're the only two foreigners working in an overseas office so allegedly that means we are automatically 'friends'.

She told me last week she thought the internet was running slowly because she had been using Skype and "Skype is very heavy, you know, it makes the internet slow down". I just smiled and nodded!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭psychward

I generally just tell them to fu(k off. One colleague I calmly asked if he wanted his nose broken and he thereafter kept his mouth shut but some people just can't make it believable and still seem to be broadcasting a pick on me signal subconsciously. I've worked with hundreds of people at this point and it's funny how people either click or they don't. Some people are natural bullies too. You have to get right in their faces immediately when they try to take liberties. You should have told her thanks for dropping by but you have something important to do. Don't call me, I'll call you lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭psychward

greenplain wrote: »
    Yes I do...I am based over in Holland at the moment and the Dutch woman that sits besides me is a utter fu*cking bit*h, for many many many reasons..... but to add salt to the wound she is so f*cking ugly its unbearable, her forhead is so big you could build a house on it and have room for a large garden.Her teeth could plough a field. If that was not enough she has photos of her two kids on her desk, they look like something out of the Gremlins..ahh better after that

She actually reproduced :eek: ????

maybe the cup of tea was a pre-empt to some "scissoring"

That's hawt.

Scissor me timbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭starch4ser

What? The losers you work with know your address? The most any of the losers I work with know is the general area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

Luckily for me, I happen to be working with 1 of my very good friends from college so we have a good laugh in work too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The corpses don't talk back so I'm happy enough here with my lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Soak a used tampon in the tea for a few minutes before giving it to her next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

I hate everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Knock knock...

Oh hello, I'm just about to head out. Sorry :)

Problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

I have a boss who is in constant conflict with me, he keeps asking me to do things I don't want to. like turn up and work, the cnut.

Nah, I generally get on with them all I am working with them all so long that its become like a marriage with its tiffs rows and support and acceptance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Why did you let her in? If she forced her way in, why didn't you just 'bate her like a badger'? The courts would have been fine with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

mconigol wrote: »
    Knock knock...

Oh hello, I'm just about to head out. Sorry :)

Problem solved.

Oh that's fine, I'll come with you.

Problem doubled :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

You are all missing the real issue here.
    Why did you not have milk for the tay?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

marketty wrote: »
    You are all missing the real issue here.
    Why did you not have milk for the tay?

And why didn't OP offer biscuits?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

And why didn't OP offer biscuits?

Didn't have milk in as I don't drink it here - options are either UHT or unpasteurised milk (aka DEATH JUICE).

No biscuits either as I don't keep junk food in the house! Thank goodness as I'd scoff a whole load of chocolate hobnobs if they were here now.

UHT or unpasteurised milk

Ah sure there's no demand for that, because it's sh!te.