Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limiting Cars.

• 26-03-2012 11:23am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

What would ye think of putting limiters on all cars ?

just in theory.

the speed limit on a motorway is 120KM/H and apart from race tracks etc. that would be the fasted your legally allowed to go.

so why not limit cars regardless of engine size to about 140KM/h ( to allow for inaccuracy)

bad idea ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

For what reason do you want to limit cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,907 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

draffodx wrote: »
    For what reason do you want to limit cars?

He's thinking of the children ;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

robbie_998 wrote: »

just in theory.

the speed limit on a motorway is 120KM/H and apart from race tracks etc. that would be the fasted your legally allowed to go.

so why not limit cars regardless of engine size to about 140KM/h ( to allow for inaccuracy)

bad idea ?

Personally I think its a good idea (same as the thread with cameras) but people would rebel against the nanny state

how about we teach people to drive properly, and especially on motorways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Fiona

I personally would not be happy driving a car where the speed is restricted.

I obey speed limits most of the the time, housing estates / towns and cities etc.

(*most of the time means in day light hours when children can be about, I don't expect to see children on the road playing at say 11.45pm in the night time)

I do not obey speed limits when I am on a motorway. That's done at my own risk.

However, if the motorway is busy, I will drive at the appropriate speeds which allow me to read the road ahead and give me time and space react to any situations that could arise. Which means obeying the speed limits.

(And of course speed is dependent on weather conditions, I am not going to bomb it down the road in the lashings of rain / fog / etc)

*putting on flame suit.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

bluewolf wrote: »
    how about we teach people to drive properly, and especially on motorways

hows about " if you can't fix it dont break it "

everyone must know 1) how the entire car works 2) how to fix/maintain it 3) how to drive the f****** thing.

do that and im sure insurance prices will have to fall 3-40 % for under 25's alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

What's the point? Is it going to stop some nutter doing 140Kph past the school when the kids are all leaving?

Teach people to drive according t0 the prevailing conditions would be a good start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

I believe there is a serious safety issue limiting a cara performance. If, for example, someone was to misjudge an overtaking manoeuvre and require the need to exceed the cars limit and it wasn't possible it may place lives in danger. This is an extreme situation I know but I'm sure it isn't beyond the realms of possibility that this may happen.

It's a silly idea IMO given the blatant disregard for speed limits in this country for which we are all responsible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

robbie_998 wrote: »

just in theory.

bad idea ?

It's a very bad idea, but I'm afraid this is going to happen at some stage of our lives. Trucks and buses are already limited.

Anyway - limiting cars in accordance with 120km/h Irish motorway limit is nonsense, as there are other limits in other countries. What about people who drive abroad in their Irish registered car.
    Besides it only will cause people not to be speeding on motorways, where actually speeding there is the least harmfull. While people will still be able to speed on other roads, where speeding is way more dangerous.
    That's why I think this idea is nonsense.

What I see for the future, is a GPS device which will recognise type of road you are on and will limit you accordingly. Or maybe instead notify adquate authorities that you are speeding. But it not going to happen soon, so we have got another few years of freedom.

I drive on little quite country on daily basis, where speed limit is 80km/h. As I know this road perfectly there are some stretches where if clear you can easily do 160km/h and over. I can't imagine being limited there for any reason, while there is no one else around.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

CiniO wrote: »
    It's a very bad idea, but I'm afraid this is going to happen at some stage of our lives. Trucks and buses are already limited.

Anyway - limiting cars in accordance with 120km/h Irish motorway limit is nonsense, as there are other limits in other countries. What about people who drive abroad in their Irish registered car.
    Besides it only will cause people not to be speeding on motorways, where actually speeding there is the least harmfull. While people will still be able to speed on other roads, where speeding is way more dangerous.

What I see for the future, is a GPS device which will recognise type of road you are on and will limit you accordingly. Or maybe instead notify adquate authorities that you are speeding. But it not going to happen soon, so we have got another few years of freedom.

I drive on little quite country on daily basis, where speed limit is 80km/h. As I know this road perfectly there are some stretches where if clear you can easily do 160km/h and over. I can't imagine being limited there for any reason, while there is no one else around.

Ssshh! Shut Up! You're giving "them" ideas!:cool:
    How about a direct video and data link to a centralised motoring monitoring facility?
    There a gard will first ask you a few questions via video link the second you get into your car, just to make sure you still remember the ROTR.
    Next, provide breath, blood and urine sample to make sure you are sober and not under the influence of any legal/illegal substance.
    He/she will then monitor every aspect of your driving, red lights, solid lines, parking, speeding and apply fines/points for each offence as appropriate.
    Once you have reached your point limit, your car will cut out there and then, police will be dispatched to take you away to a "re-educational" facility where you will be re-educated and then shot.
    That might not go far enough for some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭piston

I suspect it will happen eventually.

The powers that be, both here and in the UK have developed a "sticking plaster" solution to RTAs by accepting that accidents will always happen and they try to minimise the damage done by slowing everything down.

Proper driver training and proper enforcement of road traffic legislation other than speed limits would be more effective but would cost money so look forward to more speed ramps, traffic islands, speed cameras and eventually limiters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭pippip

Like most in this motor forum i'm against this sort of thing but i wonder...

If insurance companies offered big discounts for

-Speed limiters (and when available location tracking limiters)
    -In-car breath testers which immobilise the vehicle
    -Front facing Video recording

Cost of equipment in car would be covered by insurance company with no discount in first year possibly.

There will always be bad drivers as now but the good drivers would be rewarded by cheaper motoring.

Would you take it?

If you really felt you are a good driver who is fully law abiding why would you have a problem with it if you benefit from it?

piston wrote: »
    I suspect it will happen eventually.

The powers that be, both here and in the UK have developed a "sticking plaster" solution to RTAs by accepting that accidents will always happen and they try to minimise the damage done by slowing everything down.

Proper driver training and proper enforcement of road traffic legislation other than speed limits would be more effective but would cost money so look forward to more speed ramps, traffic islands, speed cameras and eventually limiters.

And don't forget, if GPS limiters are used, they can also be used for a "pay as you drive" tax scheme, so they can punish commuters even more for using main roads during peak times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

I don't see how limiting cars would make a huge difference. Yes it will stop the person exceeding 120km/h on a motorway but its not going to stop someone doing 100km/h in a 50km zone. The GPS system mentioned above could work but I don't see that happening anytime soon.

Like what was said above, more emphasis on driving training would be more effective. Go for a drive on the N7 / M7 and you will understand why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,010 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

There are combinations of four actions to get out of a bad situation in a car.

Brake.
    Turn Left.
    Turn Right.
    Accelerate.

By removing the fourth, you are reducing my chances of survival by at least 25%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

Brake.
    Turn Left.
    Turn Right.
    Accelerate.

By removing the fourth, you are reducing my chances of survival by at least 25%.

Don't forget reverse :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,197 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

It's a pity all this forward thinking "teach people how to drive properly" wasn't around when they started restricting bikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

pippip wrote: »
    Like most in this motor forum i'm against this sort of thing but i wonder...

If insurance companies offered big discounts for

-Speed limiters (and when available location tracking limiters)
    -In-car breath testers which immobilise the vehicle
    -Front facing Video recording

Cost of equipment in car would be covered by insurance company with no discount in first year possibly.

There will always be bad drivers as now but the good drivers would be rewarded by cheaper motoring.

Would you take it?

If you really felt you are a good driver who is fully law abiding why would you have a problem with it if you benefit from it?

No, I honestly believe these driver aids make people stupid.

I don't even use the Sat Nav anymore unless i'm using it to find an address in an unfamiliar city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

I would just disconnect it anyway. If it was required for NCT just connect it for that then off it goes again afterwards. Wouldn't be too hard to hide a switch somewhere in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

My car is limited to 180kmph. Its very easy to get around. Bringing in legislation like this would be of no use whatsoever.

How many fatalities in this country are the result of someone doing 85mph+ on a motorway anyway? Its a very small percentage Id imagine; arent motorways statistically the safest roads in the country?

Brake.
    Turn Left.
    Turn Right.
    Accelerate.

What about catapult?

And to be honest, I don't remember many situations in my driving career when I got out of emergency situation by accelerating from 120km/h..

Veloce wrote: »
    Like what was said above, more emphasis on driving training would be more effective. Go for a drive on the N7 / M7 and you will understand why.

I can see significently different approach to keeping road safety between Ireland and f.e. Germany.
    In Ireland it's "surely anyone is OK to drive, no training needed, and after few pints you will be fine, but remember to keep it going slowly and you will be grand"... while in Germany it's more like "you make sure you know exactly rules of the road, you are properly trained, you don't do anything stupid on the road, and therefore you can drive fast."

Both approaches seem to work, as road safety records between Germany and Ireland is very similar.
    However I prefer to drive in Germany.

What about catapult?

And to be honest, I don't remember many situations in my driving career when I got out of emergency situation by accelerating from 120km/h..

I can see how it might be of use, but Im guessing that if youre not one of the tiny percentage of Irish drivers who are highly professionally trained or a stunt driver then there is no way on earth you are going to react quickly enough to accelerate out of an incident, regardless of what most might think.

djimi wrote: »
    I can see how it might be of use, but Im guessing that if youre not one of the tiny percentage of Irish drivers who are highly professionally trained or a stunt driver then there is no way on earth you are going to react quickly enough to accelerate out of an incident, regardless of what most might think.

Could you explain please, by example preferebly

Watch the Fast and the Furious movies, because pretty much any example I can think of is probably illustrated somewhere in there :p

Remember that time you robbed the bank :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,863 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

No need to have a limiter on the speed of your car.

A limiter on fuel price would be nice though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I had to avoid getting knocked off my motorbike years ago on the m50 by accelerating out of it, and I was doing approx 120kmph at the time. I was overtaking a couple of cars, about half way through, the middle car (which was going a good bit below the limit) decided it would pull out to overtake and obviously didn't look/see me. So I either had the option of jamming on and probably hitting the back of the car, or accelerating past it on the very edge of the lane as the car closed in on me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

mrs crilly wrote: »
    I personally would not be happy driving a car where the speed is restricted.

I obey speed limits most of the the time, housing estates / towns and cities etc.

(*most of the time means in day light hours when children can be about, I don't expect to see children on the road playing at say 11.45pm in the night time). It's the things you don't expect that result in accidents. What about an animal on the road, or some debris, or some drunk wearing all black clothing?

I do not obey speed limits when I am on a motorway. That's done at my own risk. It could also put others at risk should their be an accident (firefighters trying to pull you from a burning car etc).

However, if the motorway is busy, I will drive at the appropriate speeds which allow me to read the road ahead and give me time and space react to any situations that could arise. Which means obeying the speed limits.

(And of course speed is dependent on weather conditions, I am not going to bomb it down the road in the lashings of rain / fog / etc)

*putting on flame suit.......

My comments above in bold.
    Controlling speed is more about reducing the severity of the accident, but certainly does have an impact on reducing the chance of an accident also.

Oh and BTW...I'm a motorcyclist. We've had restrictions for a very long time (speed/power restrictions for the 1st 2 years with a full licence). There's a good reason for the restrictions. It gives the driver time to increase their skill level before they can drive at the higher speeds capable from their vehicle.

My comments above in bold.
    Controlling speed is more about reducing the severity of the accident, but certainly does have an impact on reducing the chance of an accident also.

Oh and BTW...I'm a motorcyclist. We've had restrictions for a very long time (speed/power restrictions for the 1st 2 years with a full licence). There's a good reason for the restrictions. It gives the driver time to increase their skill level before they can drive at the higher speeds capable from their vehicle.

Good points. I just made special reference to the child aspect of it as I specifically mentioned housing estates, I didn't want people to think I was ripping through estates.

Yes I do understand that if I have an accident then yes it can become the problem of the emergency services. But then again that is the risk they take for having that job. I do hope though that I never have to avail of their services.

I am not the best driver in the word, I would never claim to be unless I had the driving championship awards to back it up.

However, I have made my business to to aquire the Advanced Driving Test so as to be more proficient in my driving especially in terms of reading the road and observation etc.

I have also done track days so as to feel what it is like to drive my car to the limits that I feel comfortable with and that my ability is able to handle.

I don't speed carelessly. I read the road ahead, if the opportunity is there to drive faster than the limit of the road without causing any disruption or destruction to other road users then I will take it.

If it is not there then I won't plain and simple. I know I am not the only one in the world who thinks like this, whether they will admit to it or not is another thing :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭piston

I don't speed carelessly. I read the road ahead, if the opportunity is there to drive faster than the limit of the road without causing any disruption or destruction to other road users then I will take it.

And there in a nutshell is the basic problem. Far too many people are incapable of reading the road and just rely on their reflexes and ABS.

Yup you are right, loadsa of people were going on at me for doing the advanced driving test, 'oh God sure why would you bothered doing that sure you got your licence'

Why the **** did you go to college after you got your leaving cert :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

And when I told them the driving test was over an hour long they nearly fainted!! It was the best driving test I every did, I enjoyed every minute of it, the tester was actually a biker and he was just brilliant.

Had me speaking out loud for 20 mins while I was driving making me verbally describe the roads I was driving on all the hazards I could see, starting 3 cars ahead and working my way back.

He said should be looking at the brake lights of the cars 3 ahead and then you work you way back from that to see what your hazards are.

Yep, just sit behind the car in front of you and drive by his brakelights and nothing else.
    In fact that is one more reason why "Speed Kills!" is bollocks.
    Not paying attention, not anticipating, driving at people because "sure, I'm in the right, his insurance will pay", "I Am Entitled" and doing everything else in the world except driving the fcuking car is what causes crashes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Yep, just sit behind the car in front of you and drive by his brakelights and nothing else.
    In fact that is one more reason why "Speed Kills!" is bollocks.
    Not paying attention, not anticipating, driving at people because "sure, I'm in the right, his insurance will pay", "I Am Entitled" and doing everything else in the world except driving the fcuking car is what causes crashes.

Or just plain old human error.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

If I bought a car with a limiter on it, the first thing I'd do is remove the limiter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Joe 90

I can see significently different approach to keeping road safety between Ireland and f.e. Germany.
    In Ireland it's "surely anyone is OK to drive, no training needed, and after few pints you will be fine, but remember to keep it going slowly and you will be grand"... while in Germany it's more like "you make sure you know exactly rules of the road, you are properly trained, you don't do anything stupid on the road, and therefore you can drive fast."

Both approaches seem to work, as road safety records between Germany and Ireland is very similar.
    However I prefer to drive in Germany.
    But I would suspect that the Irish, and English way of letting incapeable morons on the road tends to raise more tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Joe 90

Yup you are right, loadsa of people were going on at me for doing the advanced driving test, 'oh God sure why would you bothered doing that sure you got your licence'

Why the **** did you go to college after you got your leaving cert :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

And when I told them the driving test was over an hour long they nearly fainted!! It was the best driving test I every did, I enjoyed every minute of it, the tester was actually a biker and he was just brilliant.

Had me speaking out loud for 20 mins while I was driving making me verbally describe the roads I was driving on all the hazards I could see, starting 3 cars ahead and working my way back.

He said should be looking at the brake lights of the cars 3 ahead and then you work you way back from that to see what your hazards are.
    Many years ago a guard was telling me about the Garda driving test at that time. The person being tested had to announce his intentions 10 seconds before acting on them. It was all about rading the road ahead and planning ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Far too many people get in their car and drive from A to B and when they get out they wouldn't be able to tell you anything about the journey they just took, they have no idea of their actions on the road and drive without consideration for the conditions, the type of road they are on, the amount of traffic, etc.. We've dumbed down our driving public through fear tactics and I wouldn't like to see limiters used to dumb down further.

Why does it have to be a emergency situation? Why can't it just be a situation.

Plenty of times I've found myself coming up to a very slow moving vehicle in lane 1, had a car sitting in my blind spot and had a tailgater on my rear. Not a emergency by any means but I can limit the risk to myself by accelerating and pulling into lane 2.

Overtaking in lane 3 on the M50 with a disgruntled driver in lane 2 who decides to start matching speed. Tailgater on the rear and turn off coming up ahead, not close but coming up. Drop a gear, put the foot down and safely pull into lane 2, then lane 1 and then prepare for your turn off.

I can think of many other situations mainly motorways or overtaking on national roads where I might push 140+ trying to limit my time spent on the side of the road.

Its unlikely that overtaking will get you out of a Emergency situation at speed due to the delay(unless your on a Hayabusa), but it doesn't mean it won't let you avoid a Emergency in the first place.

Joe 90 wrote: »
    Many years ago a guard was telling me about the Garda driving test at that time. The person being tested had to announce his intentions 10 seconds before acting on them. It was all about rading the road ahead and planning ahead.

Its not a bad way to drive. You will also find them questioning what other road users will do in advance with a surprising amount of accuracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Its not a bad way to drive. You will also find them questioning what other road users will do in advance with a surprising amount of accuracy.

This fellow is pretty good imo. Anyone can drive fast, but realising when you should drive slow is the skil.

Joe 90 wrote: »

sounds good to me
    surprising how often you can get right by learning/watching how other people drive
    "he might be doing the speed limit now but i think he's going to stop & turn off soon, better watch out"
    "them lads are pulling into the lane a few cars ahead, better watch out as the ones in front of me will brake"
    "he might be in the turning right lane but he's no idea where he's going and is going to cut in front of me for going straight ahead soon"...
    etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭aido76

Not so much the future.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intelligent_speed_adaptation

However, it says GPS can be inaccurate and a radio beacon system would work better.

aido76 wrote: »
    Not so much the future.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intelligent_speed_adaptation

However, it says GPS can be inaccurate and a radio beacon system would work better.

Oh I know technically it's perfectly possible even today.
    But I just hope it's going to be a good while, before they will actually start using it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭JDPhotography

lol
    move this to the jokes section haha