Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Making sure the Mary I forum ≠ Mary Dry forum

• 25-03-2012 10:36pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭

The Mary I forum has only just got off the ground, after a very shaky start. Most of the current posters will know that we were a thread stuck in the UL forum for a long time, before a campaign took off to establish our own forum. While that gained quite a bit of momentum, it took a while for an admin decision to be made, which unfortunately stymied the creation of a dedicated forum a bit more. The Primary Teacher Training forum which originally got the go ahead had more tumbleweed than posts, meaning much of the Mary I momentum was lost before this forum finally emerged.

To make sure that the Mary I forum gets the attention and time it deserves, it would be great if current posters could let us know any changes they would like to see happen to make the forum run as well as possible. This could include stickies/thread suggestions etc. Basically ideas you've seen and liked in other forums (fora?) that you think would work here.

If you are somebody who 'lurks' in the forum without ever posting - please sign up and get chatting! We won't bite :)

TL;DR - What would you like to see happen here now we finally have a Mary I forum?

• Moderators Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭D4RK ONION

A few ideas:

- Know your Mary I-er [interview style thread, see here for an example of the setup, and here for the format

- Beers threads. Not straight away, but once there's a few regulars, meet-ups are always good craic

- Surviving Mary I. Tricks and kinks to surviving college life in such a shite "unique" place :P

- SU thread Q&A. Get onto the new SU peeps and see if they're going to continue posting on that account. Then give them a thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

D4RK ONION wrote: »
    - SU thread Q&A. Get onto the new SU peeps and see if they're going to continue posting on that account. Then give them a thread.

They are currently waiting for HQ to get back to them about setting up an Official Rep account as far as I'm aware.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭dambarude

Thanks for your suggestions DO.
    A few ideas:

- Know your Mary I-er.

- Beers threads. Not straight away, but once there's a few regulars, meet-ups are always good craic

Both good ideas, but as you said won't be runners in the short term.

- Surviving Mary I. Tricks and kinks to surviving college life in such a shite "unique" place :P
    Good idea. I'll get the ball rolling when I get a chance to post something. Or if anybody else would like to start a thread that would be great.
    As BHP said that's in process.

If the SU is reading, could they please change the link at the top of the MISU homepage to direct here rather than the UL forum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Freiheit

Im of the alumni,have we any role here? It was quite a different college in my day,late 90's.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Late 80s here...gawd I feel old!!

Freiheit wrote: »
    Im of the alumni,have we any role here? It was quite a different college in my day,late 90's.
    Of course! It's great to see you've found the forum and posted.

First of all your insight would be really useful, whether you're a BA/B.Ed or a postgrad (I don't think the BA ECCE was around then?).

Second of all, it'd great to hear about what the college used to be like. However conservative people think it is or isn't now, I know it used to be very much so.

Third of all, would you value a discussion thread for alumni? I can see how it could potentially be a bit quiet, but I know there are posters from the Primary & Pre-School and Teaching & Lecturing forum who are graduates, but that haven't posted here yet.

EDIT: Just as I posted that, I see that byhookorbycrook has finally come along! Welcome!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Freiheit

Thanks,yeah an alumni thread sounds like a good idea.

The extension has literaly transformed Mary I,Peadar gave us a guided tour on our 10 year reununion in 2010. Now I think it resemebles a University,until then it felt like a school. There wasn't much of a transition for me going from secondary school to Mary I because at the time it wasn't much bigger,numericaly or physicaly than my old school. I know a lot of contemporaries felt lost at U.L. but I never did at Mary I.

Ireland as a whole was a much more conservative country then,Mary I was but so was Ireland

I was a B.A. but always wanted to be a B.Ed,however I continuously fell foul of the Leaving Cert. Irish criteria. I later became a H.Dip. in Ed. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭alwayswright

An accommodation thread might be useful for people looking into Ashdown, City Campus etc. Details can be provided on estates such as Fitzhaven, Alandale and Castlewell also, positives and negatives really :)

I'm going to pull some posts from the legacy thread into an accommodation thread at some point in the next few days. Keep the suggestions coming!

I've added an accomm sticky now. Any comments/changes/advice on it is most welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Just noticed Mary I got its own forum - congrats! Very badly needed. Let the TP threads begin ...

Are you a former student smcgiff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

dambarude wrote: »
    Are you a former student smcgiff?

My wife was - and fell like I've been :)

I've lectured part time in the past and would like to again in the future, hence coming across the "justice for Mary i" campaign.

I'm sure it'll take off