Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worlds highest mileage car, 2.9 million miles!

• 25-03-2012 8:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭

http://www.grautoblog.com/2011/06/08/worlds-highest-mileage-car-volvo-p1800/

My polo with 93k pales in comparison by a long shot! My dad had a 94 corolla that had almost 300k on it when it sold it two years ago, it never gave him an ounce of trouble he only replaced the clutch once in the time he had it which was from 1999. It had about 60k on the clock when he got it. He replaced it with the 02 model which had consistently given him nothing but trouble.

What's the highest mileage car you have owned or know of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    http://www.grautoblog.com/2011/06/08/worlds-highest-mileage-car-volvo-p1800/

My polo with 93k pales in comparison by a long shot! My dad had a 94 corolla that had almost 300k on it when it sold it two years ago, it never gave him an ounce of trouble he only replaced the clutch once in the time he had it which was from 1999. It had about 60k on the clock when he got it. He replaced it with the 02 model which had consistently given him nothing but trouble.

What's the highest mileage car you have owned or know of?

My brother has a 00 406 hdi whichbhas over 600,000 MILES on it, think it's 630 something actually... Next time I see him ill take a picture and throw it up here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

wouldnt fancy drive over 2 million miles in that youke.

actually in my fathers work (he is working for property measurment and documatiation- government thingy), renault lagunas ( 00 ish) with petrol engines(1.6 if im not mistaken) has clocks went twice to 000000 ... but my father said, they sets to 0's on when pass 499999 km. mark.

had some electrical problems... as you expecting from renault, but engine/gearbox wise grand. ... still goin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭JP 1800

Mar4ix wrote: »
    wouldnt fancy drive over 2 million miles in that youke.

actually in my fathers work (he is working for property measurment and documatiation- government thingy), renault lagunas ( 00 ish) with petrol engines(1.6 if im not mistaken) has clocks went twice to 000000 ... but my father said, they sets to 0's on when pass 499999 km. mark.

had some electrical problems... as you expecting from renault, but engine/gearbox wise grand. ... still goin.

Don't knock it til you try it, I own a 1965 p1800 and they are quite comfortable to drive with more than enough power to compete with modern traffic. I can assure you that the engines are bomb proof so much that they still use that engine in boats and some military hardware today. The p1800 and Amazons were Volvos golden era for build quality and reliability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Serviced every 3500 miles, I think there is a bit of a hint there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Plug wrote: »

Indeed, Irish people take note!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

Plug wrote: »

id say that the one of main reasons why it go well so long, ... me wonder, would any engine go so long, if good oil and fuel used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

That's an oil change twice a month for him, he's doing 100000 miles a year recently

I'd imagine it's a lot of straight line long distance cruising

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭thewintermute

Haters gonna hate,
    I believe that particular Volvo has had a few engine rebuilds. Just saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

bazz26 wrote: »
    Servicing is what the next owner does right?
    ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭245

Haters gonna hate,

It has had indeed - twice. First rebuild at 680,000 miles, just as a precaution, second rebuild at 2,010,000 miles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

bazz26 wrote: »

Conversation in the Motorfactors

Female 1 "hi, i need oil for my car"
    Motorfactors "No bother, what car is it?"
    Female 1 "Why?"
    M "Well, i need to know what car to know what oil?"
    F1 "Jaysus, i thought there was only one oil. it's a Corolla"
    Female 2 "Heh, i've had me car four years and never touched the oil in it"

inspires confidence in the term "Lady owner"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭heate

So this chap claims he does 100k a year now - that 273 miles a day.
    How?
    A.) Does he fund this
    B.) Has not been in a serious accident
    C.) Doesn't he drive a Jetta TDI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭alexlyons

That is a gorgeous car...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

A few rebuilds, yes. But technically it is still the first engine.

This car has been reported to be the worlds highest mileage car for many years. It wasn't until recently though. A Mercedes taxi from Greece was the record holder for many years until it went into the Mercedes museum and the owner got a free brand new Mercedes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Conversation in the Motorfactors

Female 1 "hi, i need oil for my car"
    Motorfactors "No bother, what car is it?"
    Female 1 "Why?"
    M "Well, i need to know what car to know what oil?"
    F1 "Jaysus, i thought there was only one oil. it's a Corolla"
    Female 2 "Heh, i've had me car four years and never touched the oil in it"

inspires confidence in the term "Lady owner"
    Very few people of either gender have both the knowledge and the inclination to work on their own car. I honestly don't think that women are any less likely than men to have their cars serviced. Looking after your possessions is an attitude thing rather than a gender thing, IMO at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

heate wrote: »
    So this chap claims he does 100k a year now - that 273 miles a day.

You'd have to wonder how he can afford it and where he finds the time to drive an average of ~300 miles every single day.

Clocked? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 paddysaab

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    You'd have to wonder how he can afford it and where he finds the time to drive an average of ~300 miles every single day.
    Why wouldn't he afford it. The mpg on that yoke is amazing, only 8,600 fills of petrol. That's over 337 mpg. Puts the low emissions BMW 520 to shame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

PrettyBoy wrote: »

He's a retired teacher. Petrol is still cheap in the US, and he's really clocked up the serious pace of mileage since he retired. The last million came around a lot quicker than the earlier ones. It's the guy's hobby - probably costs him no more than membership to a fancy golf course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭Pique

unkel wrote: »
    A Mercedes taxi from Greece was the record holder for many years until it went into the Mercedes museum and the owner got a free brand new Mercedes :)
    Mercedes probably wanted at least one reliable car in their factory :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

He must have had to replace the drivers seat, pedals, gear knob and steering wheel in that time too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

When I was out in Manilla most of the taxis I was in had been around the clock at least once. The Volvo just happens to be well documented. Lower mileage ones had 600k kms, 850k kms etc... Mostly 1.3 and 1.5 petrol Corollas!

1276532339_63570114_5-4-sale-97-mdl-toyota-taxi200k-SOLD-OUT-SOLD-OUT-Metro-Manila-1276532339.jpg

One of my Bravos had 580k miles, I'll see if I can find the pics of the clock.That was a nice surprise to get!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

paddysaab wrote: »
    That's over 337 mpg

Ya put a what in your what!?!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

unkel wrote: »
    A few rebuilds, yes. But technically it is still the first engine.

This car has been reported to be the worlds highest mileage car for many years. It wasn't until recently though. A Mercedes taxi from Greece was the record holder for many years until it went into the Mercedes museum and the owner got a free brand new Mercedes :)

Me wonders if he will manage a similar record with his new acquisition.:rolleyes: