Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tail-gating - Except it's PEOPLE-gating. Want women's opinions especially

• 25-03-2012 4:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭

Nearly 6am and I can't sleep. I'm fuming :mad:

Today I had several incidents of people getting waaaaaaay too close for comfort and I'm like a devil cos I just let it all go. It happens me almost every single day and if you people think that men can be creepy...you aint experienced the jeebies that women can inflict on other women. It's so weird that I'm starting to wonder are these lesbian women I am attracting??? No probs if they was young and hot ;)
    but these be 55+ and HAGS and I mean real, smelly, stinky things with fag, tea and biscuit breath :eek: bad personal hygiene, beyond average wrinkled faces from 'the hard life', grey roots, chip pan hair, gold rings and all (fu****g shivers).

Thing is I always stand up for myself but to this lot I freeze in fear. They're an angry bunch, out for the day for validation that if someone is nice to them (like a sales assistant) they then feel good about their sh!tty selves but if not (like say they have equally a freak of a husband at home who gives 'um an aaawfil liiife') then I believe they go out with the sole intention of starting a row with a random stranger just to 'get it out da system'.
    Then there's the buggy-bitches - trample you over with the aid of four wheels, deliberately block your path even when you're weighed down with groceries in a basket (power trip). I nearly DIED other day when a buggy-woman ALLOWED me to pass "go ahead" she said, in a FRIENDLY manner!!!

Like I say, it's daily. I'll always get one. Other days I'll get up to six or seven.
    Anyway, today I was there browsing a shelf and got in close as I could to it to let this 'wan' pass, but no, she insisted of bumping me.
    Some movie I've seen (something to do with 6 degrees of separation I think) "Crash" maybe, there was a quote saying that people do that just to feel a human touch, as they feel disconnected/cut off or something.
    Can kind of understand but hey - I'm not a f*****g touch lamp!!! :mad:

Same one jumped ahead of me in the queue. The sales girl called me for next, seeing what she'd done and yer one goes "I was only fixing my stuff like!"
    then proceeds to stand behind me, so close her f*****g nose was in my hair!!!
    I couldn't move to get my purse out, I had to get it with my right arm (bag was on left shoulder) and all the while she was ON TOP OF ME :mad: BREATHING :mad: I wanted to confront her but really didn't want her eye contact (or the wrath of her miserable life).
    But I'm fuming, having to walk away like this every shop I go to.
    Worst thing is I'm fast, really really fast at paying, packing etc, not like I'm delaying a queue or anything.
    Day in day out I have it, even when there's nobody behind the freak behind me.

Just needed to vent. I'm a magnet for weirdos AND pushy sales people.
    I do look very friendly (even when I'm trying to look all 'f**k off away from me', which in my case is a very bad thing).
    I have a whole list of one-liners to say 'next time' but always bottle out 'cos these people are NOT the friendly sort, they're most definitely out for a reaction. It's deliberate too, I know it is.
    Women can be so nasty to one another, in silent, passive-aggressive ways that men would never understand but just curious as to how common this is with other women especially...and maybe men get the 'creeps' from these same oul' wans I'm talking about.

Funny and not so funny stories please :) (and don't anybody please mention 'Don't stand so close to me' by Sting - I've rehearsed it in my head to put it as speech, but it just doesn't work - it ALWAYS sounds like a song...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Are you single?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭csi vegas

Are you single?

No, but why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Really?

go to bed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

tl;dr because thats fúking impossible to follow.

FearDark wrote: »
    tl;dr

What's that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

tl,dr, Dont Stand So Close To Me

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Have angry sex, I'll help!

tl,dr, Dont Stand So Close To Me

No come on you two - what IS it??? Don't be playing some 'inside' abbreviation joke on me - I WILL find out sooner or later...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

She'll investigate the scene and figure it all out.

"Too long; didn't read"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Women drivers, Who's minding the Berlin wall, keep your ears tuned for the communist call, they say it will come from telephone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Yakult wrote: »
    Have angry sex, I'll help!

I'd crack sly one out except I don't know what time it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,833 ✭✭✭phill106

Nothing to add, so I will just put this here

Dear God. And so it begins...

phill106 wrote: »

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

c_man wrote: »
    I'd crack sly one out except I don't know what time it is.

It's party time!

Damn ye all to a daily spooking from freaky oul' wans. I'm off for a jog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Buggy Bitches- I like it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

My experience people who feel they go against the random laws of nature and attract all the weirdos are the weirdos.

If your mind keeps looking for abnormals you will find them and if not you will construct them in normal situations.

I grew up with a total loon who was perpetually in fights (settled now since he had kids) he always maintained "I never started a fight", he fuking did all of them. For example if someone bumped into you in a pub etc and most just say "sorry" he would judge that as an affront.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

None of this is true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

You should have farted OP, that would have moved her back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭tempura

csi vegas wrote: »
    Nearly 6am and I can't sleep. I'm fuming :mad:

Today I had several incidents of people getting waaaaaaay too close for comfort and I'm like a devil cos I just let it all go. It happens me almost every single day and if you people think that men can be creepy...you aint experienced the jeebies that women can inflict on other women. It's so weird that I'm starting to wonder are these lesbian women I am attracting??? No probs if they was young and hot ;)
    but these be 55+ and HAGS and I mean real, smelly, stinky things with fag, tea and biscuit breath :eek: bad personal hygiene, beyond average wrinkled faces from 'the hard life', grey roots, chip pan hair, gold rings and all (fu****g shivers).

Thing is I always stand up for myself but to this lot I freeze in fear. They're an angry bunch, out for the day for validation that if someone is nice to them (like a sales assistant) they then feel good about their sh!tty selves but if not (like say they have equally a freak of a husband at home who gives 'um an aaawfil liiife') then I believe they go out with the sole intention of starting a row with a random stranger just to 'get it out da system'.
    Then there's the buggy-bitches - trample you over with the aid of four wheels, deliberately block your path even when you're weighed down with groceries in a basket (power trip). I nearly DIED other day when a buggy-woman ALLOWED me to pass "go ahead" she said, in a FRIENDLY manner!!!

Like I say, it's daily. I'll always get one. Other days I'll get up to six or seven.
    Anyway, today I was there browsing a shelf and got in close as I could to it to let this 'wan' pass, but no, she insisted of bumping me.
    Some movie I've seen (something to do with 6 degrees of separation I think) "Crash" maybe, there was a quote saying that people do that just to feel a human touch, as they feel disconnected/cut off or something.
    Can kind of understand but hey - I'm not a f*****g touch lamp!!! :mad:

Same one jumped ahead of me in the queue. The sales girl called me for next, seeing what she'd done and yer one goes "I was only fixing my stuff like!"
    then proceeds to stand behind me, so close her f*****g nose was in my hair!!!
    I couldn't move to get my purse out, I had to get it with my right arm (bag was on left shoulder) and all the while she was ON TOP OF ME :mad: BREATHING :mad: I wanted to confront her but really didn't want her eye contact (or the wrath of her miserable life).
    But I'm fuming, having to walk away like this every shop I go to.
    Worst thing is I'm fast, really really fast at paying, packing etc, not like I'm delaying a queue or anything.
    Day in day out I have it, even when there's nobody behind the freak behind me.

I do look very friendly (even when I'm trying to look all 'f**k off away from me', which in my case is a very bad thing).
    I have a whole list of one-liners to say 'next time' but always bottle out 'cos these people are NOT the friendly sort, they're most definitely out for a reaction. It's deliberate too, I know it is.
    Women can be so nasty to one another, in silent, passive-aggressive ways that men would never understand but just curious as to how common this is with other women especially...and maybe men get the 'creeps' from these same oul' wans I'm talking about.

Funny and not so funny stories please :) (and don't anybody please mention 'Don't stand so close to me' by Sting - I've rehearsed it in my head to put it as speech, but it just doesn't work - it ALWAYS sounds like a song...

Your not the judgemental type are you ? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

Damn ye all to a daily spooking from freaky oul' wans. I'm off for a jog.

try not to bump into anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Dear God. And so it begins...

I see you are familiar with AH. Welcome, and enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's either all of those people, or it's you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

ask them for a fag its a win / win situation

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

44leto wrote: »
    I grew up with a total loon who was perpetually in fights (settled now since he had kids) he always maintained "I never started a fight", he fuking did all of them. For example if someone bumped into you in a pub etc and most just say "sorry" he would judge that as an affront.
    Francis Begbie? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭bfocusd

I've been in situations similar to what you have described, not as often, but I usually play them at their own game, usually when they are begging for a smoke, I don't smoke but reply with my best skanger accent, nooo eye wuz jus gona akssk youuu.. They usually fook off after that.

Before anyone asks I don't look/dress anything like a skanger, I don't speak anyway similar, I don't own any lacost or aididas classics, or a bobbin! I do own shampoo and a hair brush, Its just that I can imitate voices very well..

Op no point getting all hyped up about an insignificant situation, if they are really getting to you and right up against your back in a que, act like you don't know then when it's time to leave, trample their feet or bump into them well and good, then when u turn around, be all apologetic like you didn't think they would be standing so close.. They are all mouth, nothing more, they don't have the capacity to understand personal space and have no manners, the world revolves around their pathetic quest for a moment of human interaction.

They are most likely looking at everyone and thinking your up your own arse to them, maybe thats why the have a immediate reaction towards inferior people, they feel below others so are defensive without obvious reason?

bfocusd wrote: »
    Op no point getting all hyped up about an insignificant situation, if they are really getting to you and right up against your back in a que, act like you don't know then when it's time to leave, trample their feet or bump into them well and good, then when u turn around, be all apologetic like you didn't think they would be standing so close.. They are all mouth, nothing more, they don't have the capacity to understand personal space and have no manners, the world revolves around their pathetic quest for a moment of human interaction.

They are most likely looking at everyone and thinking your up your own arse to them, maybe thats why the have a immediate reaction towards inferior people, they feel below others so are defensive without obvious reason?

The most logical response so far. And I feel it will be the only one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Honestly, I've no idea what you're talking about. I am however aware of the kinds of people who just because you happen to be walking at the same pace of them or might be a bit close to them, they get hugely suspicious and start turning around staring at you as if you're about to rape them. Relax op it's in your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭veronymus

You may look friendly....

To be honest, whenever I find myself in a similar situation (never), I just stand my ground and shout at the top of my lungs 'Just back the hell off would you". Works every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I hate standing in queues because people have this thing in their head that the closer they are physically to the top, the quicker they'll be out of the shop or whatever.

Recently, i've start a little experiment. Every time i'm in a large queue i shuffle my feet for a sec, like i'm moving but i'm not actually moving, 90% of the time i do this, the person behind me moves closer to me thinking the queue has moved, i do this repeatedly to the same people and they keep falling for it. It actually amazes me :o

ps women fall for this waaaay more than men

Recently, i've start a little experiment. Every time i'm in a large queue i shuffle my feet for a sec, like i'm moving but i'm not actually moving, 90% of the time i do this, the person behind me moves closer to me thinking the queue has moved, i do this repeatedly to the same people and they keep falling for it. It actually amazes me :o

ps women fall for this waaaay more than men

Yeah well if you're doing it just for fun then you obviously have a personality not like the creeps who just want to be hugging you from behind for some kind of perversion...just watch you don't attract the wrong sort though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Yeah well if you're doing it just for fun then you obviously have a personality not like the creeps who just want to be hugging you from behind for some kind of perversion...just watch you don't attract the wrong sort though...

Are you pissed off that people bump into you in normal daily life or are you pissed off that the wrong sort of people bump into/brush off you ?

I have to say you sound like the most judgmental, condescending, derogatory & dismissive person I have bumped into in a long time (I am aware of the irony of saying that about someone you don't know - but still). No offence but that is how your post reads to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

Shops open at 07:30 or 08:00. Go then.

Just found this interesting article.
    There is a name for this phenomena - proxemics

http://www.nytimes.com/2006/11/16/fashion/16space.html?pagewanted=all

Here's an exerpt from it:

"it is rare for people to have confrontations about personal space.
    “No one will ever turn to the nice person from Italy or Greece and say ‘
    I like you but you’re standing too close to me,’ ” said Dr. Archer, who has videotaped strangers’ responses to personal-space violations.

Rather, they will likely angle and inch their bodies away from anyone they feel breached their buffer zone. Blood pressure may rise, the heart rate may go up and the palms may sweat, said David B. Givens, the director of the Center for Nonverbal Studies in Spokane, Wash.
    “All animals tend to have an aversion to being touched by a strange critter,” he said.

Proxemics, however, is not merely about interactions between individuals. On a larger scale, it helps developers, urban planners and executives in various industries understand how people move through public spaces, how they shop, even what type of restaurants they find most comfortable.

Paco Underhill, the author of “Why We Buy: The Science of Shopping” and the chief executive of Envirosell, a research and consulting company whose client list includes Bloomingdale’s, Saks Fifth Avenue, Starbucks and McDonald’s, discovered that most consumers will walk away from whatever they are looking at in a store if a customer inadvertently brushes against their backside, disturbing his or her personal space. "

"Why We Buy" - I HAVE this book a good 11 years now! Maybe that's why I'm so aware of 'proxemics', although I didn't have a notion of this God awful thing ever having a label before. Will be reading this again soon.

Morlar wrote: »
    Are you pissed off that people bump into you in normal daily life or are you pissed off that the wrong sort of people bump into/brush off you ?

I have to say you sound like the most judgmental, condescending, derogatory & dismissive person I have bumped into in a long time (I am aware of the irony of saying that about someone you don't know - but still). No offence but that is how your post reads to me.

I'm pissed off that it's w-e-i-r-d-o-s who do it, anyone normal would have the sense to know if they were making another person uncomfortable and quickly reverse. Look, I know these people are trying to gain my attention, to chat or often to confront, I'm very aware of my surroundings and other people's body language. It's like with anything in life - if you don't like the look of another person or of a place you've wandered into, you don't engage, you retreat, simple as.

Judgemental I may be in this case yeah - it's a matter of self preservation if you like - have you ever been muggged/pickpocketed??? Then you'll know how uneasy the feeling is when someone invades your personal comfort zone. Do you drive? Tailgating is extremely unnerving.
    As for the rest of it...blah

kincsem wrote: »
    Shops open at 07:30 or 08:00. Go then.

I know, I know, just not usually possible...though the incident I described happened at 9.30am-ish, the shop was deserted, yer one just 'chose' me as her intended...morning breath and all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

To start with it was just an experiment to see how sheepish people really are...Now it's just fun to do it and let the person get close enough that it's weird and then slightly turn and throw them an odd look :D In my head if i di this to enough people then i will stop the whole population from being fooking lemmings :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 cooranig23

you should have turned around and said 'do you mind'

when i was in a queue last week there was a couple in front of me

and the fellow turned around and took a picture of me with his phone

i couldn't believe it.. really wanted to grab the phone off him and throw it away

i should have said 'better delete that picture now before i do your head in'

i actually wouldn't mind if he was a teenager but this was a mature man in his late 20's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

cooranig23 wrote: »

i couldn't believe it.. really wanted to grab the phone off him and throw it away

i actually wouldn't mind if he was a teenager but this was a mature man in his late 20's

are you 16? lol @ mature men in their 20s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

OP its pennys law , cheap prices and the chance to sniff a posh girls hair in the Q . Do they not have these ads in D4 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭AeoNGriM

Bugs me too, OP. I used to worry about it, but 1 cnut too many and I've long since past the point of giving a single iota of fcuk.

I'm tall, and heavy so I'm not going to get hurt if someone refuses to get out of my way and I end up walking through them. Up to them to see sense and GTFO the way. Oh you dropped your expensive iphone? Watch where the fcuk your going next time then and stop expecting everyone else to get out of your way if you can't accept the consequences.

As for people standing behind you, turn and walk into them, then act surprised and say 'Do you mind please? A little personal space would be nice'. Any cheek is met with the addition of forehead to nose. Cos I'm hard like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Fart gas. Available in joke shops nationwide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

First world problems, eh OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Too Long Didn't Read

but yeah when people stand too close to me i fart out a stinker...it usually gets them to back off :P

or you could accuse them of shoplifting

tell security that you saw this person putting a product in their pocket

cloptrop wrote: »
    OP its pennys law , cheap prices and the chance to sniff a posh girls hair in the Q . Do they not have these ads in D4 ?

Haha! Except I'm not exactly D4 :eek: (Cork born - double :eek:) nor particularly posh either!
    F-ing hate it when them freaks be sniffin' my mane though!

Unbelievable. What a creep - but must have thought it was an 'edgy kinda' thing to do, for his stupid project/blog or something. Probably some 'cool ass' social experiment thing.

I once lived across from a 40+ scumbag, rough as hell, who intimidated every passer-by with threats, loud shouts, insane clapping etc and one day he decided to record everyone walking up and down the street and focused special attention on me, my family and our other neighbour, who had her little daughter in the garden with us.
    We all went and got our cameras, four of them, and snapped away at each other ("say cheese Mary!") with him in the background for a good five minutes before he finally gave in and put his camera down.
    So I'd definitely be ready for something like that again
    and would have done the exact same back to that ass in the queue.
    It's unfortunate but these are the times we're living in.
    AeoNGriM wrote: »
    Bugs me too, OP. I used to worry about it, but 1 cnut too many and I've long since past the point of giving a single iota of fcuk.

I'm tall, and heavy so I'm not going to get hurt
    EDIT BY CSI VEGAS: CLEVER TIP#1: if someone refuses to get out of my way and I end up walking through them. Up to them to see sense and GTFO the way. Oh you dropped your expensive iphone? Watch where the fcuk your going next time then and stop expecting everyone else to get out of your way if you can't accept the consequences.

EDIT BY CSI VEGAS: CLEVER TIP#2: As for people standing behind you, turn and walk into them, then act surprised and say 'Do you mind please? A little personal space would be nice'. Any cheek is met with the addition of forehead to nose. Cos I'm hard like that. :pac:

Funny! LOVE your post! I am in admiration of your 'shoulder barging' technique.
    And thanks for your clever tips! I mean not literally - I wouldn't mess with you! You are my friend.
    Confab wrote: »
    First world problems, eh OP?

Oh yawww, rawwwther!
    or you could accuse them of shoplifting

tell security that you saw this person putting a product in their pocket

Good but then they'd potentially get a €10,000 lawsuit for false accusation, public humiliation etc...I mean like if you think that way, that is (not you obviously) into compo!

would anyone really have the bottle to turn around and yell at them