Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycle to College

• 24-03-2012 11:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 707 ✭✭✭

Hey,

So I think I read somewhere that we are getting a brand new bicycle parking bay on campus. With cost of fuel increasing, traffic in the city being mental, climate change, and in the interests of fitness it is great that the college is providing some more bicycle racks.

I was wondering though, seen as cycling to college is so beneficial to everybody and to the environment, is there any scheme to help students buy bikes? Like the cycle2work scheme for companies? If not, is this something the SU could get working on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭empacher

look at adverts.ie you'll get a decent bike for 100€. Bike2work schemes work off the bike being purchased brand new, which isn't what you need for cycling to college.

I'd be more interested in there being an area to repair bikes in college a often it hard to get the small specialty tools. I got another bmx last week. brought it to halfords to get a few things done i was too lazy to do as I don't have tools in galway. they quote me at €130 to fix it. bought the parts myself for €40 and installed them all in 4hrs. Hassle was bringing it to my home house to use the ole lads supplies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 707 ✭✭✭tracker-man

There is a group that have been begging the college to allow them setup a bike repair shop for some time. I remember talking to them at some event in the Bailey Allen Hall when they were giving out free hi vis vests and had crazy bikes and unicycles around for people to play with.

Well I would actually have about 9 and a half miles to cycle to college, so I'd be looking at getting a good road bike, which you definitely won't pick up for 100€ :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭Ficheall

If they had somewhere one could lock one's bike up, preferably inside with working security cameras and swipe card access, then people might be more inclined to bring their bike to college. There's a crazy amount of bikes stolen from the campus.

Dá mbeadh áit éigin ann go bhféadfádh do rothar a chuir faoi ghlas, taobh istigh 'gus le CCTV agus cárta rochtain ag teastáil, seans go mbeadh daoine níos sásta a rothar a thógáil leo chuig an choláiste. Goidtear méid seafóideach rothair ón gcampas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭bildo

I have been told there are plans for an enclosed bike parking area, will probably involve an annual fee to use it though.
    And yes, Ecosoc have been trying to open a bike repair workshop on campus for over a year now and have received untellable opposition.
    I blame the commercialisation of our campus personally.
    If you want to help, come to ecosoc meetings and/or email the buildings dept about it as they are the prime obstacle at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭daithimacgroin

why just set it up and ignore the building dept or whoever?

Yes lets just occupy a building renovate it into a repair shop. buy all the necessary tool. Create the charter governing it use. Hopefully know one on the college management will notice

why just set it up and ignore the building dept or whoever?

Where? Know of a space? If you wanna pry a door open and claim full responsibility then go for it.

all you need is a cheap rain shelter and a repair tool kit
    about 100 euro

all you need is a cheap rain shelter and a repair tool kit
    about 100 euro

Yeah, that's be a class bike workshop. No spare parts, storage, electricity, locks or anything...

Personally I'd rather see it done properly and sustainably than hafl arsedly.

what is halfarsed about it? that is how most bikes around the world get fixed.

it would show you're serious and bring attention to the issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

Why don't they start with a pick up and drop of repair service until they get their own premises on campus ? If for example you txt them to say your bike needs repairing they could arrange to pick it up and say every Wednesday they will drop back all repaired bikes to a specific location.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭mercenary2

there is a place that fix's cycles just around the corner from your campus in fishery field so why would you need another on the college grounds is it to far for ye to walk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

mercenary2 wrote: »
    there is a place that fix's cycles just around the corner from your campus in fishery field so why would you need another on the college grounds is it to far for ye to walk?

No it's not too far to walk but was replying to post where another repair shop was finding it hard to get a premises on campus.

crusher000 wrote: »
    Why don't they start with a pick up and drop of repair service until they get their own premises on campus ? If for example you txt them to say your bike needs repairing they could arrange to pick it up and say every Wednesday they will drop back all repaired bikes to a specific location.

Because that is not the model being suggested. We want a workshop where people can come and use tools and learn how to fix and make their own bike for free. No sales and not paid for repair services. It will be run for students by students and be free of charge. We don;t want to be dial up service-persons we want to encourage and facilitate cycling on campus through a non-commercial entity that focuses on teaching useful skills.
    Being able to fix common problems with bikes is an incredibly useful, money saving and environmentally friendly thing to learn and we wanna set up an infrastrucure where students can exchange these skills.

bildo wrote: »
    Being able to fix common problems with bikes is an incredibly useful, money saving and environmentally friendly thing to learn and we wanna set up an infrastrucure where students can exchange these skills.

You'd be surprised what things people don't know. Replacing brake pads, a slipped chain, tightening brakes. Even adjusting a bike for more comfort. Great way for people to swap skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,527 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Some good news from the NUIG Student Enterprise Awards in relation to the idea of a bicycle workshop which is situated on campus. The people behind the idea were one of two runners-up in the final and received €5,000.
    An Mheitheal Rothar (The Bicycle Gang) team hopes to set up a free, student-run bicycle workshop at NUI Galway to promote and support the benefits of bicycling. An Mheitheal Rothar is Paul O' Donnell an Arts Student from Galway, Mary Green a Geography Student also from Galway, Sarit O'Donovan, Environmental Science Student from Kerry and Senan Mac Aoidh an Arts Student from Monaghan.