Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Broadband weird problem?

• 24-03-2012 8:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭

I just moved from Vodafone to Magnet with Vodafone I was getting 35 ping/5 download/42-upload now im getting 28-ping/10-download/56-upload, yet on Vodafone when I watched Youtube videos in 1080p the bar went across fast so I didn't have to pause to load it.
    With Magnet it goes across really slow, is this because of the standard ZyXEL router that came with the Broadband? I use(d) Ethernet with both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,835 ✭✭✭Torqay

Is it the infamous P 660, also used by Eircom?

If you still have the Vodaf0ne modem, you can reconfigure (username/password) and use it with Magnet.

See if it makes a difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Topbike77

Torqay wrote: »
    Is it the infamous P 660, also used by Eircom?

Yes it is.

If you still have the Vodaf0ne modem, you can reconfigure (username/password) and use it with Magnet.

See if it makes a difference.

I actually don't have it anymore, I sold it.

Ronan14 wrote: »
    I actually don't have it anymore, I sold it.

That was a bad idea, because the Zyxel P-660 is a heap of sh*t, excuse my french. I really don't know why some ISPs still using them.

I would like to buy a new router anyway, im looking for a Gigabit Ethernet, Dual Band, Wireless N one, if you know of any good ones?

You'll be looking for a Gigabit router with Wireless N and a built-in DSL modem, but I don't have any recommendation for you, sorry.

If I were you, I'd grab a 2nd hand modem (the old Netopias from eircom are cheap enough, nothing fancy but they'll do the job) and then get a gigabit router that supports DD-WRT, but that's my own preference.

Thanks mate ill keep an eye out for one on Aderts

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Look out for Linksys, Buffalo, TP Link, Netgear ones. Avoid Belkin like the plague :O . Fwiw the Netopias Eircom used were only Wireless G, so don't bother with em

Nick

yoyo wrote: »
    Look out for Linksys, Buffalo, TP Link, Netgear ones. Avoid Belkin like the plague :O . Fwiw the Netopias Eircom used were only Wireless G, so don't bother with em

Nick

Didn't say to use those for WLAN... just for the internet connection and then hook up a decent gigabit router behind it for the local network. The Netopias are solid DSL modems, not much else.

Mind you, these are not DSL modems in will not solve the original problem with your connection.

Before you buy, I suggest that you check this list if the router supports DD-WRT.

It says in the description of the d-link dir 655 "Connect the Xtreme N Gigabit Router to a cable or DSL modem and provide high-speed Internet access to multiple computers, game consoles, and media players"
    Im not 100% sure but is a DSL modem the white eircom box on the wall?

No, the DSL modem is your Zyxel P-660 which you want to replace. ;)

hrrm that's kinda weird that they sell routers that you plug into modems, they look the same to me.

DSL Modems are usually routers as well, but if you want Gigabit LAN and Wireless N, you'll have to buy such a router yourself. Then plug it into the DSL modem/router. and connect your computers to the Gigabit Router instead of the modem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭Socialist_Pig

That was a bad idea, because the Zyxel P-660 is a heap of sh*t, excuse my french. I really don't know why some ISPs still using them.
    its only the wireless signal thats sh1t.The OP is using ethernet connection to it

I've seen so many of them lagging or even drop the internet connection under load and the interwebs are full with horror stories about the P-660, they are rubbish.

And as the OP said, all was well on the same line with the Vodafone modem before.

With problems as described, the first thing you do is trying a different modem.

only problem I ever had with the eircom ones(the G and N ones)was the wireless was sh1te(and most of what I've read online about them has been about the wireless constantly dropping/poor cooverage).No problem streaming HD video/playing online over ethernet.Also I think Im lucky enough never to have a line fault since I got the BB in 2005!(has to be a record for eircom from what I can gather from reading online forums).

only thing I think the modems are missing is a DMZ so that 2 consoles can play in the same lobby's.

as for connection's dropping under load,never noticed it and I'd think watching 1080 HD movies streamed to 2 pc's some nights would count as a heavy load.

TBH if youtube was lagging over an ethernet connection I'd ring ring the ISP first to make sure there's nothing on the line causing it.

Having said that I had an old netopia and the line attenuation/noise was a bit better on that.

And finaly (my get out clause is they ARE free modems:pac:).

Only a few weeks ago I had a case where some eircom worker installed a VoIp box in an office. He told them he also had a brand new router and will replace the old Netopia (the old blue one, 3347). He was just out of the door and all hell broke loose, connection dropped every few minutes. They rang me and told me what happened. I told them to ring they guy and demand the old modem back, of course he had already "dumped it" (Ha Ha Ha) but promised to bring a replacement the next day. Same sh!t, different day... next replacement ordered and arrived, still no joy. eircom tech support said, line is perfectly fine and so is the modem, musta been something wrong with their network (sure, blame the customer). So I called up myself and put in a spare Netopia of my own and all problems solved.

It could be the amount of active connections it couldn't handle or line attenuation, I don't know and I don't really care, the Zyxel P-660 is just not worth bothering. If you look around you'll find countless complaints about this modem, a great many of them actually on this board.

If you look around you'll find countless complaints about this modem, a great many of them actually on this board.
    and 99% of them are for wireless.As for the tech support they can see if the dsl connection is dropping or stable i.e to the modem at the main wall socket.If it isnt dropping and its stable its on the customers end,and thats were their support ends(i worked for BT giving tech support and i'd presume eircom or which ever provider it was would have pretty much the same tools)

connection dropped every few minutes
    I presume that was the wireless connection?If so thats not what Im talking about and apologies If I got my wire's crossed.The wireless IS **** on them but there's f all wrong if you are using ethernet with them.

Anytime I've done repair work on peoples pcs and they say the wireless keeps dropping I tell them just to spend 50 euro on a netgear and they can thank me in 2yrs time when the wireless is still working:pac:

No, all wired connections, eircom have tested the line, all was well and the problem miraculously disappeared when I binned the Zyxel modem (in fact 3 of them).

And there are many more complaints over loss of connectivity.

Fwj0b.jpg

refine your search to losing connection on an ethernet connection.Im not disputing the wireless side of things.

and then pick some random modem and do the same search for that....the point being that a)they can be sh1t modems or b)the majority of people havent a ****ing clue what they are at and expect a modem provided by the isp to work straight out of the box.

I normaly charge 20€ per hr for my labour but feel guilty charging that when little tommy's mammy rings me and says he cant get online on his xbox.Turning firewall to low 99% of the time will give online access and open NAT whether its eircoms/vodafone or

out of curiosity what was connected on ethernet in that office?Any firewall or spam blockers before the modem?or by office is it just home pc's etc/

Dont even know why im defending the fecking modem's only reason I went ethernet is cause of the wireless:pac::pac:

EDIT:just seen they had 3 zxgel modems and they all had the same issue with ethernet connections??

out of curiosity what was connected on ethernet in that office?Any firewall or spam blockers before the modem?

Nothing of the kind, 5 office PCs, a file/print/backup server (connected through a 3COM 8-port hub) and a handheld device, needed occasionally to process bar codes.
    EDIT:just seen they had 3 zxgel modems and they all had the same issue with ethernet connections??

Yep, the original one and two replacements.

Internet connection was lost 3-4 times per hour, I kid you not, the old Netopia 3347 did solve the problem. And they had no problems either with the newer Netopia 2247 they had before and which the eircom techie had replaced with a Zyxel P-660 (for no good reason, mind you, unless he was looking for one) when he installed the VoIP phone.

hope you charged them for your netopia:pac:
    tbh find it strange about the ethernet issue..never had a problem in my own set up.Have a home server running a linux debian OS that streams the movies and music with 3 pc's and 2 consoles running on a 12 meg eircom connection.

The only thing I changed was firewall settings on the modem.

Having said that I have binned eircom modems for ethernet issues but it was blatantly obvious the ethernet was ****ed-no lights showing at all on a known working cable.

From all my issues with eircom over wireless(even getting on to there complaints dept) I have 2 working netopis and 3 zxgel's-all gotten due to wireless issues.I think the 2 netopia's have fukked wireless and the 3 zxgels just have cr@p wireless:pac:but working fine now over ethernet

hope you charged them for your netopia:pac:

I certainly did. :D

I told them to forward my invoice to eircom but I doubt it would have done them any good. And it wasn't the only trouble I had with this modem. Maybe they're just not cut out for our lines in the Wild Wild West. ;)

Bottom line, when I hear connection problems and Zyxel, I'll put my money on the modem for being the culprit. Apparently, the OP had no troubles with his Vodafone (Huawei?) modem on the same line before.

Yes, they are "free" (of sorts) but you'd still expect them to work.

definitly and like I said I only went down the ethernet route due to the wireless acting the maggot.

But from my experience people want voip,have vpn's into work ,have pc's streaming torrents all day,expect 3 console to play in the same lobby and then turn around and say its a sh1te connection or the modem is crap.

Its like getting a free nissan micra,ringing nissan support and saying its not doing 60 miles per hour in 3 seconds,getting told by nissan support that getting a micra to 60 miles is outside of their remit and to ring ferrari to order a new model,that costs money(sorry just a rant at the majority of the population who dont have a clue at what they are using or the limitations of their equipment.I had to set up a wireless connection on windows 9 the other day!!!:pac::pac:)

True all that.

But I'm still quite annoyed with eircom (never dealt with Magnet). They are fully aware of those issues and yet they give away something that isn't up to the challenge (these modems might be working perfectly fine in towns and cities with all yer posh fibre-optical cables but out here they clearly do not) when they had previous modems known to be working fine (I still believe this techie wanted the Netopia modem as I know of at least one other case where the same thing happened with the same guy, there is a demand for robust modems here). And then tech support is treating customers like shlt, must be something wrong with their computer.

Now don't get me wrong, I'm not married to Netopia nor are they making exceptionally great routers, but they do tend to work out here and that's what counts for me. I know of a few 3347s that did survive lightning strikes where other modems have been fried all around.

Hi guys I really appreciate all the advice/feedback, but im still confused as to why you need a modem and a router, is there any with them both built in?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Ronan14 wrote: »
    Hi guys I really appreciate all the advice/feedback, but im still confused as to why you need a modem and a router, is there any with them both built in?

A modem is what handles the connection, ie error checking and ensuring a solid one. The router takes this connection and shares it via wifi, internal switch or whatever. A router must connecto to a modem (or any other internet source) to send the modems data. A Modem/router contains both a modem and wireless routing functionality

Nick

Alright lads I got a new modem router and ran some tests, the youtube is still buffering, I have used multiple routers, Ethernet cables ect. but it still buffers, this just to recap im getting 10mb download. But when I use wireless the bar goes across really fast, why is this?
    I rang magnet a few hours ago and told them the details of the problem and they said there was nothing they could do.
    Help :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Euripides_

I've magnet bb, with the zyxel router. Nas drive and ps3 hard wired to zyxel, then laptop, two smartphones and android tablet over wi-fi. The laptop is fine, the hard wired equipment is fine, but the phones and tablet constantly losing connection to router. Have to keep activating airplane mode then off again and reconnects. this doesn't SOUND like a big problem, buts it's driving me CRAZY!

Lads straight out, a solution, or am I going to pc-world TODAY for a new router, if so, which?