Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tanks in the streets of Beijing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

They're probably there to clear out some of the nine million bicycles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Just had a look on Google Earth and saw nothing.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Nothing major will come of it.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

BBC is less sensationalist on the matter

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-china-17476760

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I'd say it's another jonjo "OMG the world is ending", type thread. Get it right this time will ya, I'm feckin knackered running in and out of this bombshelter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

WWB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

A great bunch of tanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Enda Kenny's on his way over there - he'll sort it out, don't worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Is there a tanks button for this type of tread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Stand in front of them, be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Pottler wrote: »
    I'd say it's another jonjo "OMG the world is ending", type thread. Get it right this time will ya, I'm feckin knackered running in and out of this bombshelter.

I'm waiting for him to combine that theme with one of his "they ate our swans" efforts..

Speculation rife after unconfirmed reports of gunfire and swarms of troops in the capital appear online - and are quickly censored
    Social networks report 'abnormalities' in Beijing as user comments herald downfall of Shanghai leadership faction
    Ousting of anti-corruption official Bo Xilai is said to have divided the Party

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2118773/Chinese-leaders-order-internet-whitewash-amid-rumours-attempted-military-coup.html

Well now what do ye guys make of this?

Here is a story you should read Jonjo.

THE BOY WHO CRIED 'WOLF'

There was a boy tending the sheep who would continually go up to the embankment and shout, 'Help, there's a wolf!' The farmers would all come running only to find out that what the boy said was not true. Then one day there really was a wolf but when the boy shouted, they didn't believe him and no one came to his aid. The whole flock was eaten by the wolf.
    The story shows that this is how liars are rewarded: even if they tell the truth, no one believes them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

I hope everything in Beijing is ok...

Just wanted to say thanks to Jonjo..

Without his posts I'd never know whats going on around the world.

I've learned a lot from you Mister Miser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

salonfire wrote: »
    Here is a story you should read Jonjo.

THE BOY WHO CRIED 'WOLF'

There was a boy tending the sheep who would continually go up to the embankment and shout, 'Help, there's a wolf!' The farmers would all come running only to find out that what the boy said was not true. Then one day there really was a wolf but when the boy shouted, they didn't believe him and no one came to his aid. The whole flock was eaten by the wolf.
    The story shows that this is how liars are rewarded: even if they tell the truth, no one believes them.
    Do you know why the sheep were eaten? Because the Chinese government pulled the tanks off wolf patrol to suppress dissidents in the city!!! Jesus open your eyes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

...it would fairly be awful if the Daily Mail had the exclusive on the end of the world though....

foxinsox wrote: »
    I hope everything in Beijing is ok...

Just wanted to say thanks to Jonjo..

Without his posts I'd never know whats going on around the world.

I've learned a lot from you Mister Miser
    just buy the Daily Mail every day, then you will have the "scoops" as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Randy Anders

Ask me tank

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

just buy the Daily Mail every day, then you will have the "scoops" as well.

Ah Jaysus, I couldn't do that.. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

foxinsox wrote: »
    Ah Jaysus, I couldn't do that.. :eek:

Get it free in Elverys instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

There are 9 million tanks on the streets of beijing , thats a fact , oh hang on no , its in the daily mail , there is probably an army jeep in an army compound somewhere in beijing and they just elaborated a small bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

'Panic in the streets of London' has a better ring to it, as an opening line to a song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Enda Kenny's on his way over there - he'll sort it out, don't worry.

So we will have to pay up for any medical bills and associated costs then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

There are two goldfish in a tank.
    One says to the other 'You man the guns, I'll drive'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

A militarily aggressive China would be a god send for the military industrial complex in the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Down with those commie bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

RichieC wrote: »
    A militarily aggressive China would be a god send for the military industrial complex in the US.

wouldn't matter if china went headlong at the us. china has a looong way to go before being a conventional weapons threat. no carrier groups and no idea how to effectively support the tin can they bought from russia. years behind usa's drone fleet and without the space assets to catch up. pathetic tanker fleet and no culture of mid air refuelling. and not a patch on the soft assets that america has used so scarily in afghanistan.

so.. meh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Ecu

mawk wrote: »
    wouldn't matter if china went headlong at the us. china has a looong way to go before being a conventional weapons threat. no carrier groups and no idea how to effectively support the tin can they bought from russia. years behind usa's drone fleet and without the space assets to catch up. pathetic tanker fleet and no culture of mid air refuelling. and not a patch on the soft assets that america has used so scarily in afghanistan.

so.. meh

Who knows what the real threat is, its the threat that can be sold that matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Philm_12

Ecu wrote: »
    Who knows what the real threat is, its the threat that can be sold that matters.

Velly profound Glasshoppa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Philm_12

Wouldn't like Tibet on it.......

(Knocking myself out here :D !!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

They're probably there to clear out some of the nine million bicycles.

That already happened years ago... nine million Bicycles is a myth..
    9 million gas guzzlers you mean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Who else read the thread title to the tune of this song....

I'd genuinely love to know what happened to Tank Man. Nobody seems to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Ah they're nothing but a shower of tanks wh*res

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Works in the takeaway in Clonskeagh, was talking to him a while back. True story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭policarp

Call out the Terra Cotta army. . .

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

mawk wrote: »

so.. meh

How many clicks do you think it would take them to cut off power in several US states, steal all US cash from the banks, and disable US military computer networks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Cardinal Richelieu

Oink wrote: »
    How many clicks do you think it would take them to cut off power in several US states, steal all US cash from the banks, and disable US military computer networks?

Imagine all the state secrets that the Irish spilled as we ordered chicken balls and chips with curry sauce in the Local Chinese(spy network) after a few drinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Nothing is going on, go back to sleep.

中國永遠

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

China doesn't need the greatest military. It's going to be the biggest and strongest economy in the world for some time to come. The US is already more or less owned economically by China. They have their war machine, it doesn't matter.
    Money makes the world go round. Money is why America are running around the middle east sabotaging countries and installing tyrants for decades, to try and maintain a balance of power. The dollar barrell is all they have to keep their own country floating. The fuel situation is all over the place, it's not going good places really.

Wonder if we'll get the real story out of this, if there is one. Maybe it's a parade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

John Doe1 wrote: »
    Nothing is going on, go back to sleep.

中國永遠

That china always never???????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

I'm still wondering about where all those missing Chinese teens on the Gardaí missing list went. :confused:

says on the "Official Chinese velly honest no censor here website"- "the Chinese state gave him a little flat" -presumably to retire to,......... sorry no, it says "he was flattened."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

says on the "Official Chinese velly honest no censor here website"- "the Chinese state gave him a little flat to retire to",......... sorry no, it says "he was flattened by two tyres" - feckin mandarin, it so hard to read.
    So hard to weed?

cloptrop wrote: »
    So hard to weed?
    it's pronounced "so harr tu weed" dontchaknow.