Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

decisions decisions!!

• 20-03-2012 4:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭

Hi all
    new on here and was just looking for a bit of advice, im thinking of goin for the bike to work scheme and have been eyeing two road bikes in particular. new too cycling so any hints be good! bikes in question are ridley triton c or a boardman road race. thanks for any advice!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

beantins wrote: »
    Hi all
    new on here and was just looking for a bit of advice, im thinking of goin for the bike to work scheme and have been eyeing two road bikes in particular. new too cycling so any hints be good! bikes in question are ridley triton c or a boardman road race. thanks for any advice!!
    both good but which has the better gear/wheels;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭beantins

sora for both, got word on a felt f95 also, are these good? thanks

sora is the bottom of the shimano gear.
    so what you should be looking at is 105 or better ultregra .
    what exactly are you going to be using the bike for, if your going to be doing weekend rides maybe the odd sportive then think lightweight..wheels are very important most new bikes come with cheap wheels low spoke count if one spoke breakes your walking home:mad:
    your going to have to pay for quality gear like say ultegra sti leavers and front and rear derailers and quality crankset compact is the way to go unless your a horse and like big gears.
    quality bike will last you years if you look after it basically you pay for what you get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

Well, while what feck sake lads says makes sense, he may be going too far in suggesting Ultegra. Sora is heavy, but works perfectly well, from the hoods. The wheel issue is true enough; entry level wheels tend to have a higher spoke count and lower quality parts used, so are heavier and more likely to break. The bikes you've mentioned would all be solid machines, but by no means lightweights, tourers or race machines.

The B2W scheme gives you the chance to spend more than you usually would and get a really good machine. For a grand, decent wheels and tiagra should be a minimum, good wheels and 105 desirable, but possibly not quite within budget. Tiagra is functionally perfect, and now that it's 10 speed, upgrade friendly too.

Second handers often offer as good value as the B2W, if you know your size and what you're looking at.

What do you plan on using the bike for? What is your current level of bike fitness? How often will you use this bike, for example, will it be your daily commuter? Depending on your answers to these, different bikes may be preferable.

My current level of bike fitness would be no exsistant!! basically weekend use and after work the odd evening, havent been on a bike since i was about 15 but after giving up the smokes at christmas im piling on the pounds! need something to get excersiseing a bit.

don't worry about that by the end of the summer you'll be as fit as a fiddle.have you got a price in mind good place to start.
    just for the sake of it check out thorn bikes (sjs cycles .co.uk) and look at there touring bikes audex bikes and the club tour basically an all round bike you could do day rides /touring /audex.
    email them give them your height there very good to deal with and total experts at what they do...
    not sure if you will get tax relief on a bike from them but at least you will know exactly what to buy after you had a chat.;)

Deal done on the felt and all the gear, should be well set up now! Can't wait for the cycle to work things sorted nw so I can take her home!! Thanks for the advice guys great to get it when ur starting out