Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Logging Websites - Trainingpeaks, MapMyRun, Garmin Connect etc.

• 20-03-2012 11:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭

I did a search for similar questions but couldn't find anything.

I've been using MapMyRun for a while now as I track all my runs on my android phone. I've just ordered a Garmin 310XT and am looking at alternative logging options.

What are other people using?

I want to be able to view my route, pace, time and speed for each workout. I want to be able to view a calendar of previous workouts with weekly, monthly, annual total mileage etc. I also want to be able to add workouts that I've manually tracked, e.g treadmill sessions not logged on the watch.

Since looking around for alternatives I've just discovered that it's possible to export historic data from MapMyRun but this is being switched off TODAY! To export you need paid membership and have to log in through their Classic site which is now being shut down, export hasn't been added to the new site yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

I just started using Strava recently, it seems to work very well and is a free app on smartphones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭JohnnyCrash

Garmin Connect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I use Garmin Connect, but keep all my files backed-up in Garmin Training Centre. When uploading my runs, I have the workouts sent to both GC and Training Centre at the same time.
    I want to be able to view my route, pace, time and speed for each workout. I want to be able to view a calendar of previous workouts with weekly, monthly, annual total mileage etc. I also want to be able to add workouts that I've manually tracked, e.g treadmill sessions not logged on the watch.
    Garmin Connect does all that. It doesn't do much more than that though. If you want to deep dive into your workouts, you may be better off exploring something else. If for example, I save an entire workout in one lap, but want to see individual splits, I'll import them into Sportstracks for further analysis.

Garmin Training Centre is old and clunky, but works great for easy backup of activities (off-line and in open formats (GPX/TCX)), but it does allow you to zoom in to specific points in time on your workout/race for more fine-tuned analysis. Commercial solutions offer a lot more though, if you have those kind of specific needs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Ascent is very good for charts, interfaces, graphics, maps, etc. for anyone using a Mac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

Me and a few other people on here are using google docs. Though not perfect it works very well.

The lastest version looks like this with more bells and whistles.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Alh6ofJoLlpTdGRrWmZudlQ0S0FpdFFQMFFVU3htWEE#gid=40

You can graph whatever you want, add a field for anything. The initial doc started as just the log but has grown.

I then embed links to garmin connect on each workout so that I can get splits etc. I am going to redo this over the summer and really make is class. The problem with using Training Peaks, maymyrun etc is that you don't have as much control over the data also if you have someone coaching you then you have to pay a sub to share data in a easy way. Google docs is free and should you break something you can go back to the latest revision. If you corrupt your Ascent file then you are screwed. Its a local copy and if you HD dies so does your data.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Clearlier

I use Fetch. It does everything you asked for. You can also load historical data.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

rom wrote: »
    Me and a few other people on here are using google docs. Though not perfect it works very well.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Alh6ofJoLlpTdGRrWmZudlQ0S0FpdFFQMFFVU3htWEE#gid=40

You can graph whatever you want, add a field for anything. The initial doc started as just the log but has grown.

I then embed links to garmin connect on each workout so that I can get splits etc. I am going to redo this over the summer and really make is class. The problem with using Training Peaks, maymyrun etc is that you don't have as much control over the data also if you have someone coaching you then you have to pay a sub to share data in a easy way. Google docs is free and should you break something you can go back to the latest revision. If you corrupt your Ascent file then you are screwed. Its a local copy and if you HD dies so does your data.

That's a pretty cool doc, I found your link before (in the 1000 mile challenge?) and might be the best option. I already use google docs for planning my training as I like being able to check it from whatever pc or phone I have access to.

I'll probably end up trying out a few different sites in parallel with MapMyRun until I make a decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

I use the full version of training peaks and find it very good and provides you with all the stats and graphs you need. Very useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

I've never seen a spreadsheet like that before, it's insane!!

You could also go with a regular Microsoft Excel spreadsheet and save it on Dropbox so you can view it on any PC or phone.

I have the full version of TrainingPeaks, but your spreadsheet looks like a viable alternative if I was willing to invest in the time to customise it. Fair play!

I've never seen a spreadsheet like that before, it's insane!!

You could also go with a regular Microsoft Excel spreadsheet and save it on Dropbox so you can view it on any PC or phone.

I have the full version of TrainingPeaks, but your spreadsheet looks like a viable alternative if I was willing to invest in the time to customise it. Fair play!

That one is a few months old now. my current one is insane with twice as much stuff.

The only problem with dropbox or similar will mean that you still have a single file that if you corrupt it your f'd.

Would love to hear if you have idea's for improvement for version 4 :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I use www.runningahead.com as my main store of runs, but also log everything on Garmin Connect and locally on SportsTracks as well. I've a couple of runs on RunKeeper from when the Garmin refused to turn on recently and have also put a couple of local runs up on Strava to compare some hill climb stats with club mates locally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Fazz

I use the full version of training peaks and find it very good and provides you with all the stats and graphs you need. Very useful.

Also has an app for ease of updating if needed and Garmin data can be uploaded via iPhone if needed.

Or, buy now for only $49/month for the coach edition.

thats 600 a year for the coach and another 120 a year at least per athlete.
    Its a lot to justify for 95% or people

i would pay 120 a year but how can I share everything with someone coaching me cheaply and easily without having to send loads of emails ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Or, buy now for only $49/month for the coach edition.

thats 600 a year for the coach and another 120 a year at least per athlete.
    Its a lot to justify for 95% or people

i would pay 120 a year but how can I share everything with someone coaching me cheaply and easily without having to send loads of emails ?

Just give him your log in details!! No need for him to invest in it, he can set your weekly sessions and review them in the same place once you have uploaded your data.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭b.harte

I've been using garmin connect for about 3 years, never had much interest in it until late last year. It was always just a place to upload my runs to and revisit old routes.
    Then in a recent upgrade to the site the course plotting feature with elevation data was a big improvement.
    I also started to take more notice of my historical metrics, cadence HR and pace.
    I started to use more of the reporting features.
    I suppose what I am saying is that as I evolved and developed a clear idea of where I was aiming garmin connect had everything I needed.
    The only annoyance is that you can't track equipment. it's not too bad for me as I have a foot-pod that I share between 2 shoes depending on mileage or terrain so I can filter out the results to get total mileage per pair of shoes.
    I have a basic training peaks account which has only this years runs uploaded, I like it but it is a bit cluttered and the ads are annoying, can't see myself paying for the full version.
    I also have an account on Endomondo, it's not bad, sort of a fake-book for runners. My running buddy is on it so it's good to share our data, but only when I'm faster :).
    I tried the garmin training centre software but it caused problems with my forerunner 305 when I uploaded a course to the watch, it reset all my data fields and pace zones, so I don't even use it any more. it is handy for having an unplugged record.
    To recap: Garmin connect is good, for a free service, there are a few bit lacking polish but is is getting better. what I like most about it is that it is a private as you want it to be, no one gets to comment on your stuff.
    Training peaks is a bit better but the ads are annoying.
    Endomondo is like fake-book, tolerable if you can handle the chatter and the ads, but no farmville...yet.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 kilbrook

Endomondo has a great map, breaking down by miles and has some good statistics, 1 mile, 3 mile, 5K, 1 hour, 1/2 Marathon etc.
    A number of us at work use it and have a bit of craic beating each others PBs.
    For a free app and way of storing the garmin runs, it's great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Thanks for all the tips, my Garmin arrived today (ordered on Sunday from Italy). Once I get an internet connection at home I'll give these sites a go. For now I'll just let the watch sync to Garmin Connect from my work PC.

I set up an account on TrainingPeaks and it looks impressive, if a little complicated.