Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IRB Rankings

• 20-03-2012 8:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,960 ✭✭✭✭

Just looked at the recent World Rankings and just can't fathom it out.

Wales got to the Semi's of the World Cup, England didn't. Wales won the Grand Slam, beating England at Twickenham, yet we're still behind England in the rankings??

1(1) NEW ZEALAND 91.43
    2(2) AUSTRALIA 87.99
    3(3) SOUTH AFRICA 84.34
    4(4) ENGLAND 83.62
    5(5) WALES 83.32
    6(6) FRANCE 81.91
    7(8) ARGENTINA 80.28
    8(7) IRELAND 79.85
    9(9) TONGA 76.63
    10(10) SAMOA 75.81
    11(12) ITALY 74.17
    12(11) SCOTLAND 73.86
    13(13) CANADA 72.92
    14(14) JAPAN 70.45
    15(15) GEORGIA 70.26
    16(16) FIJI 68.78
    17(17) USA 65.63
    18(18) ROMANIA 63.81
    19(19) SPAIN 62.57
    20(20) NAMIBIA 61.24

How do they work this out? A lod of old men wit an abacus??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

See here for an explanation if you don't understand: http://www.irb.com/rankings/explain/index.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

Rankings also take into account the relative ranking of the teams you play as well as home advantage. Beating France at home would not have added as many ranking points as beating England away.

You can check back the ranking archives to see what gains or losses Wales made in the RWC and 6N, but England beating France away would have greatly added to their tally, being both below them in ranking and playing them away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Tonga play Fiji in Fiji in August.

If we lose all 3 tests in New Zealand and they beat Fiji could we go 9th? Or is the gap too large?

Tonga play Fiji in Fiji in August.

If we lose all 3 tests in New Zealand and they beat Fiji could we go 9th? Or is the gap too large?
    I think if the points gap exceeds ten, winning or losing won't change your ranking. Seeing as NZ are over ten ahead of us and will have another three for home advantage, we could play there for a year and not lose ranking points.

Which is why it's the ideal time to have a new coach take a good look at players and positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Well Wales went further in the World Cup and so lost more games, 3, compared to England's 1. England beat France away and Wales beat France at home.

The only way Wales could try make up the gap was beating England which they did, but the 2 extra games lost at the World Cup presumably made the gap too big to close.

That's my simplistic view on it anyway, there's probably a more accurate explanation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

If Tonga win the PNC grand slam, we are in serious trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

scudzilla wrote: »
    Just looked at the recent World Rankings and just can't fathom it out.

Wales got to the Semi's of the World Cup, England didn't. Wales won the Grand Slam, beating England at Twickenham, yet we're still behind England in the rankings??
    For one thing Wales lost to SA, France, and Australia in the RWC. That cost them a chunk of rankings.
    rrpc wrote: »
    I think if the points gap exceeds ten, winning or losing won't change your ranking. Seeing as NZ are over ten ahead of us and will have another three for home advantage, we could play there for a year and not lose ranking points.

Which is why it's the ideal time to have a new coach take a good look at players and positions.
    losing won't anyway but winning will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Yes but if Tonga were to win away from home would that not put then quite close to moving past us?

We really could do with a win in New Zealand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Yes but if Tonga were to win away from home would that not put then quite close to moving past us?

If Tonga win by 15 points or more they will get .8 of a rankings point, if we lose 3 tests we will lose 0 rankings points, leaving us with a cushion of around 2.4 points.

For Tonga to overtake us they would surely need to come into the NH and win a few games in November

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Assuming we lose 3 times against NZ, a good showing by Tonga in the PNC could close the gap to under 1 ranking point. I don't know how Tonga are set up for games in September. If they've been smart and are due to play Canada and Italy or the likes, we are ****ed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

IRB World Rankings
    (Previous position in brackets)

1(1) New Zealand 90.08
    2(2) South Africa 86.94
    3(3) Australia 86.87
    4(4) England 83.72
    5(5) Wales 83.36
    6(6) France 81.59
    7(8) Samoa 78.71
    8(9) Argentina 78.71
    9(7) Ireland 78.05
    10(10) Scotland 76.86
    11(11) Tonga 76.10
    12(12) Italy 76.06
    13(13) Fiji 71.52
    14(14) Canada 71.41
    15(15) Japan 70.09

IRB World Rankings
    (Previous position in brackets)

1(1) New Zealand 90.08
    2(2) South Africa 86.94
    3(3) Australia 86.87
    4(4) England 83.72
    5(5) Wales 83.36
    6(6) France 81.59
    7(8) Samoa 78.71
    8(9) Argentina 78.71
    9(7) Ireland 78.05
    10(10) Scotland 76.86
    11(11) Tonga 76.10
    12(12) Italy 76.06
    13(13) Fiji 71.52
    14(14) Canada 71.41
    15(15) Japan 70.09
    Woohoo! we're still ahead of Scotland :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭peterako

9th is probably a bit flattering.... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Thank feck the world cup seedings weren't calculated right now is all I have to say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Swiwi

P_1 wrote: »
    Thank feck the world cup seedings weren't calculated right now is all I have to say

Yes, NZ & Wales would have been a lovely pool ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭B0X

This is our worst ranking ever, the only way is up now lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

B0X wrote: »
    This is our worst ranking ever, the only way is up now lads!
    You would think so, wouldn't you........ But the fat ugly pessimist in me says different.