Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Big Buck's Plans

• 17-03-2012 8:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭

Does anyone know where BB will run next this season, if at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

They normally follow a schedule, I haven;t heard anything but I'd be surprised if they didn't go to Aintree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Juwwi

It would be great if they brought him over to Punchestown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Would be even better if they gave him another shot over fences. Maybe with age he will be a better jumper. They could give it a shot no? Nothing to lose

Liverpool Hurdle without a doubt I think, unless he seemed very tired at home or something after Thursday's race. The race at Punchestown is worth about £25/30k more I think but seems as they've never been tempted to come over before I can't see it happening this year or any other I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Apparently Andy Stewart wants to to bring him to France to run in the French Champion Hurdle if everything is ok after Aintree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Apparently Andy Stewart wants to to bring him to France to run in the French Champion Hurdle if everything is ok after Aintree

That would be very interesting to see.

mdwexford wrote: »
    That would be very interesting to see.

The French CH is a 3m 1f race. I originally thought it was shorter so not as interesting

Stupid Frenchies

Still be nice to see if he wins the same vs different opposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

mdwexford wrote: »
    Stupid Frenchies

Still be nice to see if he wins the same vs different opposition.
    That's the one thousand stars won last year. If Cheltenham is anything to go by it should be a walk in the park for him. One upsetting thing..I couldn't find the race to watch anywhere or online last year..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

He should walk all over them and a nice prize too, will be interesting to see what they do with him as that race is so late in the year.

Wonder if they are thinking about trying him in a flat race :D

Would love to take the 7/4 for next year but they could be thinking anything with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

I'd say the only thing they're thinking about next year is a 5th world hurdle

Not worth the risk for me at this stage, might not even foray into the Ante Post market after the burning I took this year.

Its mental to think two horses have been winning the same race for the past four years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

ste2010 wrote: »
    That's the one thousand stars won last year. If Cheltenham is anything to go by it should be a walk in the park for him. One upsetting thing..I couldn't find the race to watch anywhere or online last year..

ATR definitely had the race live last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Can't see Big Bucks seeing out 3m1&1/2f on bottomless ground, they should make sure he's safe and sound for next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Can't see Big Bucks seeing out 3m1&1/2f on bottomless ground, they should make sure he's safe and sound for next season.

I don't see why he wouldn't.

Are you crazy, seriously, at what stage of his life did he give you the impression he wouldnt stay. But Thousand Stars can see it out.

If your going to make a stupid statement then at least humour us with your reasons.

The further they go the more he would win by. Stuff like this makes my blood boil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Huntley

Big Bucks is the ultimate stayer and would probably gallop through a pool of wet cement.
    Are you crazy, seriously, at what stage of his life did he give you the impression he wouldnt stay. But Thousand Stars can see it out.

If your going to make a stupid statement then at least humour us with your reasons.

The further they go the more he would win by. Stuff like this makes my blood boil

Are you forgetting that you stated Grands Crus would win the Arkle this year? It was only last week that you suggested Kauto would go off favourite in the Gold Cup.

No need to take the hierarchical stance when you are, evidently, prone to making ludicrous comments yourself.

hucklebuck wrote: »

Not worth the risk for me at this stage, might not even foray into the Ante Post market after the burning I took this year.

I'd give everyone odds of 20-1 that you won't :-)
    Had the same thoughts myself, once NRNB is on I'll be sucked in.

Huntley wrote: »
    Big Bucks is the ultimate stayer and would probably gallop through a pool of wet cement.

Are you forgetting that you stated Grands Crus would win the Arkle this year? It was only last week that you suggested Kauto would go off favourite in the Gold Cup.

No need to take the hierarchical stance when you are, evidently, prone to making ludicrous comments yourself.

Grands Crus would have had a far better chance in the Arkle, i said he was a non stayer and had backed him at ludicrous prices for the Arkle.

And Kauto going off favourite? how was that a ludicrous statement, he wasnt that far off Long Run and sentimental money would see his price contract. Without the scare he could well have done.

So learn to read and comprehend and take your head out of your hole

Grands Crus would have had a far better chance in the Arkle, i said he was a non stayer and had backed him at ludicrous prices for the Arkle.

It was blatantly obvious Grands Crus would never be going for the Arkle.
    You stated it was going to happen. You didn't give an angle of possibility, you stated Grands Crus will win the Arkle.
    And Kauto going off favourite? how was that a ludicrous statement, he wasnt that far off Long Run and sentimental money would see his price contract. Without the scare he could well have done.

It was after his fall that you stated he would go off favourite. Again, it wasn't put forward as a possibility, but a statement.
    So learn to read and comprehend and take your head out of your hole

I can read and comprehend perfectly, hence why I highlighted two idiotic viewpoints you held which seemingly make your "blood boil" when someone else works off a similar spectrum of intelligence. Maybe the irony of you hopping up on your hierarchical horse is clearer now.

Your a cabbage. Maybe you should go cry into your tea and close your account again because you dont like what people are saying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Richie with due respect and not wanting to get into an arguement with you and exchange insults, it is blatantly obvious there was only going to be 1 winner of the Arkle this year. You saw the race it's a no-brainer.

Regarding Kauto going off favourite, it was never going to happen. I do see your point about sentimental money, I had 5pounds on myself for the sake of it. But any serious money was not directed at Kauto and never was going to be as the track played to Long Runs strengths so much.

Lets have the discussion without insults lads?

Seriously lads...if I opened an account here and read this post as the first post I'd probably just close my account. No matter way ye put it, there's ways to communicate to people and both of you could be a bit more courteous. Picking Horse racing winners is all speculation, we're all here because we love it but we are not always right about everything no matter how knowledgable anyone is or who knows who. For the good of the forum I suggest a more mannerly approach by everyone would make sense. If both of you seen these kind of posts on your first visit you'd turn around and walk out the door.

Yes, your correct. Apologies forum members, guy just grinds my gears

For the record, it was Dickie who so crudely dissected the groutch's opinion, stating it as "stupid".

I merely highlighted how ironic and ignorant that was considering he had previously worked off the same spectrum of intelligence, i.e. made ludicrous claims aswell which I supplied.

As I have previously said, when one cannot substantiate their claims sufficiently they tend to resort to childlike symptoms to express themselves. The personal abuse directed at me is a perfect example of such.

While I would agree the conversation may be more cordial, it wasn't me who resorted to petty insults.

Lets move forward! Back onto big bucks 9YO, anyone see any other horse that might contend with the machine next season or can see age becoming a factor soon? It wouldn't surprise me if big bucks was chuck Norris dressed up as a horse

ste2010 wrote: »
    It wouldn't surprise me if big bucks was chuck Norris dressed up as a horse
    :D:D:D:D:D:D

Class.

Not til he is at least 11

I wonder how good fingal bay will turn out to be :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Stewart has ruled out Punchestown saying he doesn't travel well so i'd imagine that would rule out the French Champion hurdle too then. Looks like Aintree then put away for next season again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

I'd say Fingal Bay's connections will definitely be eying 3m races for him if he does stay over hurdles

Never know with these types though, could well end up novIce chasing

Fingal Bay will be a chaser next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

A serious chaser too hopefully, himself vs. Simonsig over fences at next years festival is a mouthwatering prospect.

Never know with these types though, could well end up novIce chasing
    Fingal Bay will be a chaser next year.

:o

I actually never thought of that.