Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quick Observation

• 17-03-2012 4:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭

Can anyone explain this to me?
    Anytime i go onto youtube to find strategies for improving my gameplay to the next level in any online game, i'm learning from a kid who's voice hasn't broken yet??

Whether it be WoW, CoD, BF etc, all the Elite and outstanding players are literally 16 years old..

I've been playing games online religiously since Q3 arena, UT1 and CS 1.3+, i was a veeery good player at those games, and that should have kept carrying over no? How can a kid of 14 now jump on a CoD game, and turn into the best player in the world with no previous experience?

In any other arena, it's the players with A: natural ability, and B dedication who get good at things. How can these kid's be so good lol?

On WoW, i was one of the top ranked rogues in 2v2 (2730 in S7/8) but the teams who we'd lose too anytime we did lose were always kids.

I don't get it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

well I didn't start off early on playstation, I'm 24 now an started with waw, can't tell ya what my kd is, Mw2 its somethin like .86, in blops it was 1.22 and in Mw3 at the present moment its 1.56, I don't put that much time into it, mostly only play at night.. Some of these ''kids'' come home from school, straight onto the playstation or xbox and stay there till bed time.

I remember watching a show on tv and a kid was addicted to wow. An to be honest I don't blame the kids, I blame the parents. This kid some times sat in front of the computer screen for 48 hours straight, he was in a guild? I think that's what its called, anyways, kids put too much time into games instead of doin what they are supposed to, and on top of it they see the big names on youtube makin so much money and think that they can do that too, so the parents encourage it and buy them a pvr and all that stuff and before ya know it they are spending more time playing video games..

No one to blame but the parents, but that's jus my opinion..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Hotman

by the way, mon the spurs!

but yeah i used to spend like 12 hours a day sometimes on it, but i only really got good after couple of years.. the's kids are like world beaters now and they've only basically played 1 game...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭Socialist_Pig

addiction to video games affects a very few people(kids or adults).

I regularly play online with my son(and yes he is fairly handy at fps's averaging 1.2 and above in his K/D since CoD4 and plays the objectives too while he's at it).

Having said that when he's over with me at the weekends he woukld probably play the ps3 all weekend(or civ5 on the pc) if I let him.I always make the point of getting out of the house twice a day so i dont feel too bad letting him have a few hrs of gameplay in the evening.

also I dont think its wrong a kid wanting to be the next hutch or randy savage...its no better or worse than going out kicking a football week in week out and wanting to play for chelsea.Its more than likely it will never happen but you cant p1ss on their dreams because you know as an adult they aint up to it

addiction to video games affects a very few people(kids or adults).

I regularly play online with my son(and yes he is fairly handy at fps's averaging 1.2 and above in his K/D since CoD4 and plays the objectives too while he's at it).

Having said that when he's over with me at the weekends he woukld probably play the ps3 all weekend(or civ5 on the pc) if I let him.I always make the point of getting out of the house twice a day so i dont feel too bad letting him have a few hrs of gameplay in the evening.

also I dont think its wrong a kid wanting to be the next hutch or randy savage...its no better or worse than going out kicking a football week in week out and wanting to play for chelsea.Its more than likely it will never happen but you cant p1ss on their dreams because you know as an adult they aint up to it

Good analogy, but look at football, Ronaldo, was 17 when people started to see how good he was, and he was good but beatable (meaning he was skillful but people who knew more about the game were better). So why is it not like that in games? people who've been paying games for 10 years should DOMINATE pricks who just started playing the last year, but thats not the case, 14-16 year olds dominating the world.... how?

Example: The Eifel Tower, Big Ben, St Pauls Catherdral, stone Henge, Twin Towers, Empire State Building etc, they were designed by people who were grand masters at designining ****, not 14 year olds... who just happened to be grand masters of architecture when they were born. Do you think people woukd consier them to be landmarks now now if people with a natiral 14 year old ability to design **** wokld think they are landmarks?? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

Hotman wrote: »
    Good analogy, but look at football, Ronaldo, was 17 when people started to see how good he was, and he was good but beatable (meaning he was skillful but people who knew more about the game were better). So why is it not like that in games? people who've been paying games for 10 years should DOMINATE pricks who just started playing the last year, but thats not the case, 14-16 year olds dominating the world.... how?

Nearly all of the best CS/Quake and any other skilled based old school shooter is dominated by older lads(18-25). Mainly because 14-16 year olds were still sucking a bottle when those games were first released ! They'll never catch up to to the "elite" until they stop playing.

Something like CoD which is pretty new in comparsion, so its just whoever can put in the most time... obvious exceptions for those that are just generally good at shooters.

Competitive WoW is very simple and dynamic so in general it doesn't really matter how long you've been playing as long as you can think fast and know the game inside out. Again people in school have far more time on their hands to learn the theorycraft etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭Socialist_Pig

So why is it not like that in games? people who've been paying games for 10 years should DOMINATE pricks who just started playing the last year, but thats not the case, 14-16 year olds dominating the world.... how?
    I just think we aint as good as we think we are:D

ffs sake I spent the first 10 yrears thinking wasd was the only control method....and im not talkibng about fps...I played 2 d platformers for 4/5 years before 3 d graffics became a reality

that game above was revolutionary for people of my age...my son has grown up playing in that envoironment as natural and hence he's good..its just is....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

Competitive gamers are usually young enough no? Not many older than 25 I would imagine.

Because they have more time to play basically

LakesKeane wrote: »
    Competitive gamers are usually young enough no? Not many older than 25 I would imagine.

Depends entirely on the game. But yeah wouldn't imagine too many over 25 !

I know a lot of tournaments used to have 18+ restrictions tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

If you've got sufficient free time to dedicate to anything you're bound to become quiet good at it. Before 17/18, kids have more free time and don't have major exams like the Leaving Cert, after that they can doss for a few years in university before having to do the final year of study.

I remember playing the whole of the MW2 campaign in a mates gaff on hardened after a night out on a mates xbox, another mate played (and finished) zelda ocarina of time on the n64 after a night out, another 2 mates spent a whole Saturday doing gt5's endurance races changing drivers during pit stops. Those are rare occasions which happened over the course of several years spread amongst several people but checking out twitch.tv and gamers doing marathon sessions are common practice.

If you can apply the same hours and dedication to gaming as someone does to studying then they're going to improve rapidly. 16yo's have the free time, and don't have commitments like kids, job, college, exams, family, etc. that other age groups have. If 20/25/35/etc. gamers were as free from constraints I've no doubt that there would be very little difference in performance between 16 year olds. The only difference is the older age groups would know more swear words and would want beers during the marathon sessions. Actually, I think the older gamers would probably do better as they've more experience.

all valid points, kinda missed the point tho, should have nothing to do with how much free time they have, its about none of the elite players come from Q3 etc or CS onto MW3 and start being the best players in the world, a new player 14-16 years old plays for a couple of months and is the best player in the world (xjawz). he's played against all of the older players wh dominated the older games and owned most of them. The older players have played so many different games in the 10+ years they have on him yet still get owned, they should be WAY more savey to what he's gonna be doind as they've played againsrt countless playstyles etc.

xjawz is the best player in the world ? LOL. Besides most of the elite q3/cs players still play on PC. Also why would they play CoD when they can still play quake or cs which are superior games still or CoD4 which was the last properly supported CoD game on PC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

Magill wrote: »
    xjawz is the best player in the world ? LOL. Besides most of the elite q3/cs players still play on PC. Also why would they play CoD when they can still play quake or cs which are superior games still or CoD4 which was the last properly supported CoD game on PC?

XJawz is baws Mag you forgot.

Remember he can back out when he get's killed ;)

• This content has been removed.