Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Now THIS is how you get out of paying a bar bill

• 15-03-2012 4:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/4195365/Four-pals-flee-sky-bar-by-base-jumping-from-55th-floor.html
    FOUR bogus businessmen dodged paying a cocktail bar bill by hurling themselves over a balcony — 55 floors up.
    Screams erupted at the swanky penthouse bar as staff and customers saw them plummet 800ft to what seemed like certain death.

But last night cops were hunting the pals who had PARACHUTES hidden under their suits. The daredevil base-jumpers had a getaway car waiting beneath the Rialto Towers in Melbourne, Australia. One got entangled in a tree before pals freed him.

Bar owner Shannon Bennett told how the four each ordered a gin-based Negroni cocktail at £14 a pop before the stunt.

He moaned: "They had cameras on their helmets so I'm sure we'll all see it on YouTube soon. I hope they are caught — they need to pay their bill."

Police chief Keiron Walshe said: "It was not cool — it was stupid."

Sounds like something James Bond would do.

I personally disagree with Polie chief Kieron Walshe and think it was pretty cool. I'm not advocating the crime but I admire the boldness of it. Hiring a getaway driver as well! :cool:

Has anyone done a runner from a bar bill before? Have any of you ever been this daring?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Seems like alot of effort for a £56 bill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Before I would rather just pay for me drinks & get drunk & fall out the door on ground level.But cool story :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Conchir

Why couldn't they just pay the bill and then do the jump? No need to be a d*ck about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭rusty_racer94

The Police fella is just jealous! I hope they don't put a sh*t background music on the video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

"They had cameras on their helmets so I'm sure we'll all see it on YouTube soon. I hope they are caught — they need to pay their bill."

Business men and their cameras and helmets. Always pulling those pub(licity) stunts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Aenaes

Tight cnuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

I did the same thing out of captain americas in grafton street:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

They should've been drinking Kamikazes!

Way more apt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Those crazy kids with their yougle and basebook and facejumping. Whatever next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

It would of been epic if the staff were trained base jumpers and also had parachutes and went down after them. You messed with the wrong cocktail bar buddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Foghladh

I was in a bar in Frankfurt once and my mates did a legger from the bar tab.

We went to a beer garden and ordered our beers and they'd just mark your beer mat to keep track of what you'd had. We were amazed at how trusting they were cos there was no way a barman at home would keep on dishing out the pints and let you sit outside without paying.

After about 5 beers the lads started joking about just walking away when the barman went back inside. Or at least I thought they were joking because 10 seconds later they hopped up, shouted 'Legger!' and off out the fecking gate. Yours truly was left sitting there with a pint glass up to his lips and the whole beer garden looking at me in disgust. I felt like a right cnut!

I nonchalantly finished my beer and ordered another to look cool. The barman brought me my beer and nonchalantly handed me the bill for 21 pints and stood there until I paid up.
    Crime doesn't pay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Foghladh wrote: »

We went to a beer garden and ordered our beers and they'd just mark your beer mat to keep track of what you'd had. We were amazed at how trusting they were cos there was no way a barman at home would keep on dishing out the pints and let you sit outside without paying.

After about 5 beers the lads started joking about just walking away when the barman went back inside. Or at least I thought they were joking because 10 seconds later they hopped up, shouted 'Legger!' and off out the fecking gate. Yours truly was left sitting there with a pint glass up to his lips and the whole beer garden looking at me in disgust. I felt like a right cnut!

I nonchalantly finished my beer and ordered another to look cool. The barman brought me my beer and nonchalantly handed me the bill for 21 pints and stood there until I paid up.
    Crime doesn't pay

No, you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Crime doesn't pay

well that was silly of you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Crime doesn't pay

You have some pretty tight friends. A bit unfair to take advantage of a barman's hospitality like that. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Negroni cocktail
    Racist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,107 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Crime doesn't pay

Good story, could serve as an allegory for some of Ireland's recent history. Sleeveens run up a big bill on German credit, leg it and leave patsy to pay up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Friel

Parachuting outta a pub. That's one for the grand kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

They had parachutes hidden on them. How does that work. im surprised they didnt have a terror squad in there to shoot them or something seeing as they must have looked like they were carrying large bombs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

Ah - they should have robbed the till first, that's how it's really done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

The bold stumps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭deandean

Drink Diving....most irresponsible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

It's a pity those in the Dail won't do the same - I mean jump from a multi story window onto a concreate ground underneath. Nope! They usually put their bills onto the slate in the Dail bar for the taxpayer to pick up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

I personally disagree with Polie chief Kieron Walshe and think it was pretty cool. I'm not advocating the crime but I admire the boldness of it. Hiring a getaway driver as well! :cool:

That's the thing that gets me, they hired a getaway driver. I am no expert but I reckon a getaway driver would be about $50 or so. So they saved $6 well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Conchir

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    That's the thing that gets me, they hired a getaway driver. I am no expert but I reckon a getaway driver would be about $50 or so. So they saved $6 well done.

I would imagine the parachutes were quite expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Crime doesn't pay

We used eat the beer mats. Leave one to pay for if it was a bar we wanted to come back to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

It would of been epic if the staff were trained base jumpers and also had parachutes and went down after them. You messed with the wrong cocktail bar buddy.
    or...they can build some very wide spanning nets about half way up-al around the building,electrify them so any jumpers arent in a mood for an argument when they are gotten down.
    they also need to have speakers on them playing looped vicious bird noises or cat noises so that birds dont think theres easy suicide or base jumper pickings laid out for them and get electricuted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

The Police fella is just jealous! I hope they don't put a sh*t background music on the video.

Worry not, they've found just the right video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

No problem, just leap out of a 55th storey window like these lads.
    Introducing the extreme dine and ditch: four as-yet unidentified men ordered Negronis at the bar of the upscale Melbourne restaurant Vue de Monde, which happens to be on the 55th floor. Then, without paying, they got up and jumped off the balcony. Oh, don't worry, they had parachutes and everything.
    It seems this has been a problem in the past and Vue de Monde has security measures in place, like the big glass barrier in the photo above. Also, the men were not allowed to take a suitcase into the restaurant with them. Instead, they put the parachutes on under their suits and did a quick change in the bathroom, before locking the balcony doors behind them and taking the leap. They apparently had a getaway car waiting for them on the ground. In the local news report below, a police officer calls the jump "just a stupid thing to do."
    To me, the win is the fact that this is an ongoing problem for the restaurant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭anhedonia

and they only ordered a negroni coctail ?

if you're gonna bother bailing like that you might has well sink a couple of bottles of walker blue label, after eating a Kobe steak, get your money's worth like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Went for our "paddys day feed" at a restaurant I eat in a lot in Kildare today - there were about 6 people at a table opposite who did indeed look a bit rough(no crime there, I'm no oil painting but these were skanky)- they were loudly ordering stuff for themselves and their kids and had a good bit to eat and drink. The Lad and the kids headed out the door and two minutes later the two women in the group did a chunky, high heeled clopper for it out the door. The waitress legged it after them but was too slow and came back in still holding the unpaid bill looking pis5ed off. That turned to general hilarity when the manager discovered that one of the women had forgotten her handbag -complete with money, mobile phone and the rest.:D
    Clowns, karma, big hair, it had the lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

Yakult wrote: »
    Seems like alot of effort for a £56 bill.

I don't think that they did it just so that they could get free drinks... :rolleyes: