Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jarmet sprayer

• 13-03-2012 12:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭

I was at my local machine dealer today looking to buy a 400 litre jarmet sprayer.He was quoating me 1500 euro.I mentioned that whites of portadown were alot cheaper than that price.His response was that whites of portadown sprayers had a cheaper pump than the ones he was selling.Hard to believe that but does any one have any experience on what he was saying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

pat73 wrote: »
    I was at my local machine dealer today looking to buy a 400 litre jarmet sprayer.He was quoating me 1500 euro.I mentioned that whites of portadown were alot cheaper than that price.His response was that whites of portadown sprayers had a cheaper pump than the ones he was selling.Hard to believe that but does any one have any experience on what he was saying

Some of the pumps on the jarmet Sprayers don't fill the sprayer. I have an old jarmet sprayer with one of these pumps and they have to be filled with the hose which takes ages. Modern Jarmet sprayers can be bought with a pump which sucks in the water as well as pumping it out to the booms. This could be what he means. You should check with whites and your dealer to see which type of pump they are supplying???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭pat73

Just looking on donedeal and there is a Akpil sprayer for sale.It looks exactly like the jarmet i was looking at today.Just wondering are these sprayers coming into the country and just different company names stuck on them.I might be wrong on them been the same but they are pretty close.

reilig wrote: »
    Some of the pumps on the jarmet Sprayers don't fill the sprayer. I have an old jarmet sprayer with one of these pumps and they have to be filled with the hose which takes ages. Modern Jarmet sprayers can be bought with a pump which sucks in the water as well as pumping it out to the booms. This could be what he means. You should check with whites and your dealer to see which type of pump they are supplying???
    Il get on to both of them tomorrow and see whats the difference.With that price difference u would hope that the pumps are different.

I was on to whites and they wanted 1190 euro for the 400 litre jarmet.170 extra for the self fill pump.My local dealer was quoting me for the ordinary pump but he said it was a better pump than whites.He hadnt a price for the self fill at that time.I would like to buy off my local dealer but there is a big price difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

I was on to whites and they wanted 1190 euro for the 400 litre jarmet.170 extra for the self fill pump.My local dealer was quoting me for the ordinary pump but he said it was a better pump than whites.He hadnt a price for the self fill at that time.I would like to buy off my local dealer but there is a big price difference.

id get him to explain why his pump is better, have a non self fill one that i got from whites, its grand but was missing a seal on a hose when i got it, they are as cheap as chips i suppose but it seems to be fine for the bit of spraying we do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭charityboy

does the 1190 euro include vat pat and delivery as i also rang today and got a price of 1250 euro for the same sprayer and 1100 with a vat no

charityboy wrote: »
    does the 1190 euro include vat pat and delivery as i also rang today and got a price of 1250 euro for the same sprayer and 1100 with a vat no
    Im not sure about the vat on the sprayer.It was 1190 delivered.I was asking also about a chain harrow and he quoted me 580 + vat for that but i never asked was the sprayer price plus vat.He said he would have to charge a bit more for delivery of a chain harrow.Il be ringing in the morning again hopefully to strike a deal so il know more then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭9935452

Just looking on donedeal and there is a Akpil sprayer for sale.It looks exactly like the jarmet i was looking at today.Just wondering are these sprayers coming into the country and just different company names stuck on them.I might be wrong on them been the same but they are pretty close.

I was told basically what you are saying. These sprayers are coming into the country under a few different names but are the same sprayer.
    Im not sure about the vat on the sprayer.It was 1190 delivered.I was asking also about a chain harrow and he quoted me 580 + vat for that but i never asked was the sprayer price plus vat.He said he would have to charge a bit more for delivery of a chain harrow.Il be ringing in the morning again hopefully to strike a deal so il know more then.

Another thing to find out is are they galvanised or painted. If you are buying go the extra and get the galvanised one. The paint on the booms just peels off.

Bought the 400 litre sprayer today off whites.10 meter galvanised booms with hand lance and a few spare nozzles.1190 euro includind vat delivered.Just got the ordinary pump .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭adne

Bought the 400 litre sprayer today off whites.10 meter galvanised booms with hand lance and a few spare nozzles.1190 euro includind vat delivered.Just got the ordinary pump .

Is the only difference between the pumps that the more expensive one can fill from a river/pond

adne wrote: »
    Is the only difference between the pumps that the more expensive one can fill from a river/pond
    Ya thats right.I think the self fill one was 170 euro more.Prob better filling from a clean tank rather than picking up dirt or grit from the river and blocking the nozzels.

seems the sales man at whites is not very good at his sums ,90 euro cheaper with my ie vat no ,something wrong there ,he will be getting an earful of me in the morning ,quoted me 1100 euro with my vat no for the same sprayer,think i will pay a little more and shop local

charityboy wrote: »
    seems the sales man at whites is not very good at his sums ,90 euro cheaper with my ie vat no ,something wrong there ,he will be getting an earful of me in the morning ,quoted me 1100 euro with my vat no for the same sprayer,think i will pay a little more and shop local
    I think it was a different fellow i was talking to today and he gave the same price as yesterday.I would prefer to shop local but i was quoted 1500 from my local dealer for the same sprayer

was quoted 1520 for one this side of the border ,he should deal at 1500 and i can reclaim 280 euro vat so it will work out roughly at 1220 euro so no real difference between down here and the north

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

we have a storage tank that self fills while we are out spraying, we have an old circulation pump off an ice bank milk hooked up and it fills the sprayer very quickly

you possibly do similar with one the cheap lidl or aldi pumps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭raindodger

how far away do they deliver way down south in limerick

raindodger wrote: »
    how far away do they deliver way down south in limerick
    They do.I just gave him my address and he said just give the money to the lorry driver when he brings it .They must be getting them for small money to bring them that far for that price.Still they are not in the hardi sprayer league but it will do me for the small amount of spraying i do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

snowman707 wrote: »
    we have a storage tank that self fills while we are out spraying, we have an old circulation pump off an ice bank milk hooked up and it fills the sprayer very quickly

you possibly do similar with one the cheap lidl or aldi pumps

I have solved the problem with a 1000l IBC tank. It is on a stand and I have a 2" flexible hose on it. It can fill the sprayer in the same time that I would be putting the chemicals into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

I have solved the problem with a 1000l IBC tank. It is on a stand and I have a 2" flexible hose on it. It can fill the sprayer in the same time that I would be putting the chemicals into it.

one thing to be aware about with the white ibc's is they like to grow green stuff. not a massive issue but the green can start to clog up nozzles.

try and get a sunlight proof tank.... there are black ibc's but are harder got.

otherwise try and keep the ibc empty when not in use... a spray with cloris while empty helps too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Tommyj1

Bought 400 ltr Jarmet sprayer on Saturday. Haven't done much spraying before. Just looking for a small bit of advice. I want to put on 30 gallon of water to the acre what bar should the pump be running at? What speed should I be driving at? Thanks for any advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭9935452

Tommyj1 wrote: »
    Bought 400 ltr Jarmet sprayer on Saturday. Haven't done much spraying before. Just looking for a small bit of advice. I want to put on 30 gallon of water to the acre what bar should the pump be running at? What speed should I be driving at? Thanks for any advice.

Not sure if this will be any help

We have a 400ltr jarmet, we use the 400 ltrs for 4 acres, ie 100ltrs per acre.
    We run with the gauge half way up the green on the gauge, it gives a good spray pattern .
    Not sure of the ground speed we go but start the outside round of the field in 2nd (landini legend) and all the inside rounds in 3rd , overlapping the end of the boom to the tyre marks on the previous round.
    What ever you are spraying mix it strong, we normally go 1.5 to 2 times the manufacturers max . Anything less than this and we struggle to get a good kill.
    When you start the sprayer pumping in the field have the tractor moving. if it is stationary you will kill the grass inder the booms .
    Try not catch the booms in briars and hedges as the nozzles will fall off very easily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Would a second hand hardi or Berthoud at small money be as food a buy or would I be fooling myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

I never thought of getting one before but I bought land a couple of years ago that was in a poor state and is inclined to rushes I think the convenience of having a sprayer so you can hip them off when the conditions suit may be worth a small investment. I see hardi sprayers with reconditioned pumps on donedeal for anything from €500 to €1500 depending on size. Hard to know whether these or a new jarmet would be better. Availability of parts second hand may be a deciding factor too. Hard to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Tommyj1

Thanks 9935452 for the advice.
    Done some spraying this evening. Done 3 acres with 400 ltrs. Put 5 ltrs of agritox 50 in each sprayer. Kept the pressure half way up the green on the clock. Seemed to be a good enough mist. Will know in a week or 2 if I have missed out any. There seems to be a bit of a knocking noise out of the pump. Is this normal. There is also a pin whole in the tank. Will have to contact whites in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Would a second hand hardi or Berthoud at small money be as food a buy or would I be fooling myself

I'd prefer the secondhand known make from a resale point of view and also the ease of getting parts.

Unfortunately older Hardis are let down by their booms and older berthouds by their tanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I wonder could the booms of a hardi be galvanised? Or would the metal be too light and warp when hot dipped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭newholland mad

adne wrote: »

Better not filling from rivers and ponds anyway huge NO NO if you have a cross compliance inspection any evidence of filling a sprayer from a watercourse will result in a penalty. Tillage farmers are generally asked to show their water supply for spraying ie overhead water tank or roof water collection, the inspector smells a rat if you haven't a tank and keeps an eye on watercourses when walking the farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

saw a contractor out beside me yesterday. had a jd 6320 and small enough strayer and behind him on the road a jd 6930 and abbey slurry tank. He must have been using the tank as water brouser. He was 40 miles from home yard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭just_did_it

Just wondering is it possible to buy a 'self filler' for a jarmet sprayer and retrofit it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

Just wondering is it possible to buy a 'self filler' for a jarmet sprayer and retrofit it?

whites supplied one with my sprayer. It was a submersible pump :)

Do ye suck from an ibc? I bought one last year and it's a joy now to spray using clean water and having no blocked nozzles!

I don't have a self fill so have ibc up on a stand and let gravity do the job.

TUBBY wrote: »
    whites supplied one with my sprayer. It was a submersible pump :)

Thanks tubby, I suppose it was a separate pump and doesn't attach to the sprayer ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

Thanks tubby, I suppose it was a separate pump and doesn't attach to the sprayer ?

yeah. Asked for self fill and got dirty water submersible pump. In fairness though, have used it for plenty of things since so not all bad.
    don't think you can retro fit self fill on those. Had look at it since i saw your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Charliebull

You can, it comes as an attachment on the , have spare one if you want it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

Got a self fill on mine but have never managed to get it to work.. Ibc on a trailer and a 4 inch sewer pipe is the job for filling it!

Does anyone know to properly calibrate the jermat sprayer?

eg say I wish to apply 70 litres/acre I need to adjust pressure to x amount and drive at x amount speed....anyone know how I go about this ?

My sprayer came with the blue nozzles I find the mixture is just running out of it fairly quickly with even adjusting the pressure to roughly 1 bar.

And finally when I go to spray a field I drive around it once, then when coming around again I keep one boom as far over as my last wheel track so as to not avoid missing as bits, is this overkill or keep out a bit further between tracks ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Does anyone know to properly calibrate the jermat sprayer?

eg say I wish to apply 70 litres/acre I need to adjust pressure to x amount and drive at x amount speed....anyone know how I go about this ?

My sprayer came with the blue nozzles I find the mixture is just running out of it fairly quickly with even adjusting the pressure to roughly 1 bar.

And finally when I go to spray a field I drive around it once, then when coming around again I keep one boom as far over as my last wheel track so as to not avoid missing as bits, is this overkill or keep out a bit further between tracks ?

Firstly id be guessing that its only flowing out as a trickle at 1bar. Have always sprayed at 3 bar as would pretty much anyone else I've ever talked to.

Now on the amount/acre

Fill sprayer with water, set to 3 bar(make sure pressure stays constant when switching off individual sections if you can)

Then get out and get a bucket, hold it under 1 nozzle for a set amount of time, normally 1 minute. Then measure how much has come out(need to be accurate enough at this bit, the marks on bucket wont be anywere near good enough)

That will give you a flow per nozzle per minute. Multiply that by the number of nozzles, will give you the full output per minute. For example if you have a 10meter boom with 20nozzles giving 1litre/minute each you have a total flow rate of 20litres/minute.

For simplicity in going to use an example of 1000litre sprayer putting out 100litres an acre,

20litre/minute flow rate will mean the tank will empty in 50minutes(1000litres/20litres per min)

So that means you need to cover the 10 acres(1000litres/100per acre) in 50 minutes.
    10 acres is 40469square meters, so to cover that with a 10meter boom you need to drive 4047meters or 4.1kilometers in the 50 minutes, which equates to roughly 4.9km/h. (4.1/50 =0.082*60= 4.9)

Sorry its quite long winded but i cant really explain it any easier.

Oh you will also need to try get the tractor speed to match that, generally mark off 100meters on the ground and time driving across it, simple enough to multiply it up to 1km that way

Oh and if they happen to follow the more or less ISO standard for nozzle colours blue nozzles will should be 1.11litres per minute at 3 bar pressure, but i wouldn't be certain that they do follow the standard.....

Thanks Zr105,

Can you advise re: overlapping ?

Also what kind of mask would you recommend for spraying with a tractor that's back window doesn't seal properly?

Thanks Zr105,

Can you advise re: overlapping ?

Also what kind of mask would you recommend for spraying with a tractor that's back window doesn't seal properly?

Realistically you only want a small overlap so that your not leaving missed bits, you could overlap the boom back to the wheel tracks but you'll be all day covering ground and you'd want to allow for it by halving the rate as well.

As to a mask it wouldn't be something id be overly knowledgeable about, but probably as a minimum the likes of the 3m with replaceable filters would be a start, up to a full face mask with forced air, but there rocket money and you'd want to be covering a fair bit to justify it...

It's amazing the amount of lads you'd see knapsack spraying with a cheap DUST mask...... DOHHHHH....the clue is in the name! Not worth a w**k.