Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smokers cough

• 11-03-2012 12:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭

I HATE hearing that disgusting, intrusive, rasping, rotten, deafeningly loud smokers cough. Place i work, theres a noisey SC club who often perform delightful lung-loosening cough song.

Rasping, wheezing flem-scattering laughs.

Horrible croking voices.

ITS FCUKING DISGUSTING.

Yeah yeah, i know its an addiction, i understand that. I just don't want to be reminded of your addiction every single day.

Smart arse, thanks whoring remarks welcome. Oh well it is AH after all!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Whats the question?

More suited to R&R.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

I blame the banks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

Interesting. I smoke but don't have a cough, picked one up for a month or two recently but I think that was the effect of a sore throat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Smokers., *cough*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Ok. Anyway, as an ex smoker, was it weird that I loved the smoke from my fags, but I absolutely hates the smoke that wasnt filtered, and hated everyone elses second hand smoke? I still do hate the smell of unfiltered smoke and other peoples smoke

Im drunk, leave me alone to ask random question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,908 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

sorry, fag break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Smelly b*stards should have to use seperate buses too.

cocoshovel wrote: »
    Ok. Anyway, as an ex smoker, was it weird that I loved the smoke from my fags, but I absolutely hates the smoke that wasnt filtered, and hated everyone elses second hand smoke? I still do hate the smell of unfiltered smoke and other peoples smoke

Im drunk, leave me alone to ask random question

:rolleyes:you're one of them?

Nothing worse than a reformed smoker giving out about people smoking:p Rant Rant

micropig wrote: »
    :rolleyes:you're one of them?

Nothing worse than a reformed smoker giving out about people smoking:p Rant Rant

huh? Hell, even as a smoker I gave out about other smokers. Get that second hand unflitered shIte away from me!! I even hated when the unflitered smoke form the tip of my fag blew into my face

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Tis fair disgusting alright.

huh? Hell, even as a smoker I gave out about other smokers. Get that second hand unflitered shIte away from me!! I even hated when the unflitered smoke form the tip of my fag blew into my face

So breath through a fag butt and the problem is solved. No more nasty unfiltered smoke for you !

MungBean wrote: »
    So breath through a fag butt and the problem is solved. No more nasty unfiltered smoke for you !

Yeah I did enjoy that alright, but in the long run it made me feel like crap. Especially seeing as I have minor breathing difficulties and like to jog every now and then. Ive been off them since late July and my chest feels nice and clear, air is lovely. However I do smoke every now and then and often crave fags a bit. Good thing im a tight cheap fook!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Yeah I did enjoy that alright, but in the long run it made me feel like crap. Especially seeing as I have minor breathing difficulties and like to jog every now and then. Ive been off them since late July and my chest feels nice and clear, air is lovely. However I do smoke every now and then and often crave fags a bit. Good thing im a tight cheap fook!

I hear ya, been off them over a year now and I'm a new man.

I'm not really though, just the same as before but with less coughing and more money. Never have any cravings though and I have to admit I do find it all rather disgusting now.

Do you sit in the smoking area and complain about the smoke aswell?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

"people who smoke 10 years or more
    will almost always develop lung or throat cancer"

Taken from...http://www.healthboards.com/boards/smoking-cessation/136255-more-than-10-years-too-late.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

It sounds like the slow death it is. :)

micropig wrote: »
    Do you sit in the smoking area and complain about the smoke aswell?:p

Nah I just thought to myself quitely. These days I hardly ever leave the house or go out with smokers anyway so meh. I do try to avoid breathing in second hand smoke at my schools smoking area though when I walk past it. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,908 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Taken from...http://www.healthboards.com/boards/smoking-cessation/136255-more-than-10-years-too-late.html
    Did you read the full thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

whats your point caller?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

I don't think so!

Off them now over 3 years and still love the smell of them. I look forward to the time I hate rather than envy other people I see smoking. And no, I will never go back on the filthy, disgusting, lovely things!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

I smoke unfiltered rollies so I'm pretty ****ed.

I'm so coooooooooool! :D:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,386 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

As a smoker I get a cough occasionally. Like a Fu Cough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

"People who aren't arsed investigating the validity of extraordinary claims will almost always end up with an arseways view of reality."

Approx. 17% of male and 11% of female smokers end up up lung cancer:

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/7895211

I haven't checked the figures for throat cancer but something tells me I'm not going to find an 82% stat to fill the gap.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I hate the smell of grease after fat people eat takeaway.
    I hate the smell of alcohol from alcoholics on a night out.
    I hate the smell of sweat from dirty bastards.
    I hate the smell of fumes from motor vehicles and the inconsiderate assholes that drive them. Etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Marianne Finucane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Ah, my Major cigarette suddenly tastes far better! Thanks OP.

Smokes circles at screen.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Build a fcukin bridge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Build a fcukin bridge.

Smokers supplying the tar for the surface I suppose?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭ROFLcopter

I really want to have a shìte after reading this thread :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The death rattle eh? Its usually long term heavy smokers who develop one.
    I don't have it, smoking is cool and glamorous and a great stress reliever that prevents dementia and alzheimers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭LilyCullen

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Smelly b*stards should have to use seperate buses too.

There is actually nothing worse than a bus at 7.30am beside the guy who just finished his morning smoke.

I also get travel sick so if he sits beside me that's just it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Hey if we didn't smoke and cough you wouldn't be able to take the moral high ground. We make other people feel better about themselves so stop complaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

LilyCullen wrote: »
    There is actually nothing worse than a bus at 7.30am beside the guy who just finished his morning smoke.

It's a public service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭LilyCullen

staker wrote: »
    It's a public service.

Indeed it is. Great observation. It's still uncomfortable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

I'm a smoker and have no cough and no raspy voice. Actually, my voice is perfectly fine despite the smoking, I am a singer and have never had a raspy voice while singing. I have a husky voice when I talk, but always have.

As for coughing - I don't. I cough recently because I have a lung problem (unrelated to smoking) but once that's sorted out, the cough will go away as it did the last time this lung ailment popped up.

I agree that I hate hearing smokers' coughs, but don't tar us all with the one brush. Otherwise I'll have no choice but to cough in your face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

What are you expecting them to do? If they need to cough, they need to cough. Quit yer complaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Volovo

That video puts things in perspective

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

If it's the smell, then I agree. If it's the coughing, the guy who doesn't have his morning smoke is worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

If it's the smell, then I agree. If it's the coughing, the guy who doesn't have his morning smoke is worse.

I love it when a username/post/thread all come together.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

LyndaMcL wrote: »
    I'm a smoker and have no cough and no raspy voice. Actually, my voice is perfectly fine despite the smoking, I am a singer and have never had a raspy voice while singing. I have a husky voice when I talk, but always have.

As for coughing - I don't. I cough recently because I have a lung problem (unrelated to smoking) but once that's sorted out, the cough will go away as it did the last time this lung ailment popped up.

I agree that I hate hearing smokers' coughs, but don't tar us all with the one brush. Otherwise I'll have no choice but to cough in your face.

Now in all fairness, im not referring to smokers in general. The clue is in the thread title.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,602 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

https://imgur.com/gallery/kkTh4

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,602 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Link to that online calculator

The tool can assess the lung cancer risk of people who meet all of these conditions:

Smoking history: 10 to 60 cigarettes a day for 25 to 55 years.
    Current status: Current smokers, and former smokers who quit 20 years ago or less.

Obviously it won't apply to all here, but

http://nomograms.mskcc.org/Lung/RiskAssessment.aspx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Indeed it is. Great observation. It's still uncomfortable

Would you move if a smelly person sat down next to you? If something like someone else's BO can inconvenience you be it cigarette smoke or sickly curry remnants surely it's not their prerogative to humor you by sitting elsewhere?

Or consider an alternative mode of transport maybe?